We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon stay”
Review of Casa de La Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa de La Flora
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in the beach front villa for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon.

Pros:
1. Big room, great rain shower, humongous bathtub (took forever to fill to 1/3, we gave up but it was fun), private pool/spa.
2. Free mini bar, beer, coke, sprite, pod coffee. Refilled daily
3. the view and the sound of the waves at high tide hitting the concrete barrier that often shook our room/bed. some might find this a little disconcerting/irritating but we loved watching the waves and at night while we lie on the king size bed
4. friendly staff and free daily breakfast
5. Fast housekeeping: we had issue with our pool-side lounge chair and it was fixed within 10mins.

Cons: these are small minor issues
1. We ordered 1 main dish to our room and it took about an hour for it to be delivered. They had a dinner event that night so we suspect that's why it took so long. Food quality (breakfast and room service) is not bad but obviously not as good as nearby restaurants
2. Communication could be a little better, we didn't know they have free bicycles for hire (up to 2 hours) until the last day when we saw some other guests using it. If you don't like the hotel restaurant, it is a 15-20mins walk to the main road so the bike definitely would've came handy for us. We weren't told about the free transfer to La Flora either, read about that here.
3. Don't get too excited about the free afternoon tea/sandwich, we were given 1 sandwich to share between us and 2 cups of iced tea.
4. It was our honeymoon and also my birthday during our stay, I know we didn't book any special honeymoon deals and none of the staff really asked or took notice of our registration form, but just reading some of the other posts we feel a little left out given we didn't get anything special. Again, it's not really a con, we weren't expecting anything more than what we paid for.
5. Minibar fridge is not very cold, might not be strong enough for the hot weather condition

Privacy was not an issue for us, it's not a big hotel and there aren't that many guests that might walk pass the front beach

Overall, this is a great hotel, we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet place to have a romantic honeymoon/holiday.

Room Tip: Beach front if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Signature, jjsydney , I would like to extend my personal thanks to you for taking the time to comments on our services during your recent stay with us. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our Beachfront Pool Villa, room facilities and our staff services. In addition, thank you for your kind comments that you had been mentioned. I will share with our team to improve on guest service experience in the immediate future. We constantly strive to improve ourselves and are very grateful for any suggestion. We are thrilled that we will be able to welcome you back before too long and enabling us the chance to take care of you once again. Best regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and Casa de la flora team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at Casa de La Flora for four nights in a beachfront villa.

The hotel was actually pretty good... A good funky design and very modern. Great addition was the free mini bar! Daily refilled and a nice touch.

The room we had was very spacious and had a great view of the beach and sea! I agree with some of the other comments that there is a privacy issue slightly at the front villas, but to be quite honest it's not a big issue as people keep themselves to themselves.

Shared private pool in the middle of resort is a good edition if you want to mix with others but as we had our own pool, we kept to our own bit of privacy.

The staff were really friendly and attentive. Spa treatment was really good too and relaxing. Worth a visit.

Breakfast was based on a la carte with a small selection of extras at the buffet. Eggs on order and table service was good and didn't take too long.

The location of the resort was really good. Walking distance to local bars and restaurants. Obviously were a lot cheaper, so would suggest taking the short walk.

We hired a moped from the lady on the left hand side for a few days - cheap, easy to deal with and reliable. Good washing service too!

This is a right little gem and would be ideal for couples and those on their honeymoon. Worth a visit for sure. Will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLuckyWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Signature, TheluckyWonderer, UK, Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction with our resort design and our services. It is glad to learn that our attention of resort design and room details facilities met your expectation as our core values “Design Technology and Personalize service” I will share your kind compliments to our team. We are thrilled that we will be able to welcome you back before too long and enabling us the chance to take care of you once again.Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana and Casa de la Flora team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I didn't go as a romantic couple rather solo with friends who were staying at ramada - due to it being booked out ramada recommended this hotel - thank you so much!

Relaxing, villa clean and tidy, pool fantastic - chill out was wonderful.

Spa was excellent - brilliant massage and facial.

Cooking class - lots of fun and staff lovely taking pictures and just so helpful.

Room Service - excellent.

Housekeeping lady was lovely.

All staff couldn't have been more welcoming.

Mini Bar - FOC perhaps a look at this - not everyone drinks beer and normal coke perhaps some wine and diet coke - personal opinion only!

IT wonderland however didn't work to satisfaction - must have rung a dozen times in a week - replacement TV still did not solve issue - staff friends but frustrating.

Both restaurants were lovely.

Thank you to all for a great chill out!

Frances

Room Tip: Staying on beach villa not totally necessary grand villa lovely and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances12161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Signature Frances12161, Australia, Thank very much for choosing Casa de La Flora for your holiday and we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your Beach front villa, our facilities and other services. Thanks for your kind suggestion which I will address to my team to enable us to improve on guest service experience in the immediate future! We are thrilled that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future and enabling us the chance to take care of you once again. Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and Casa de La Flora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel was about 1.5hrs drive from Phuket airport, and located about 10mins cab ride from the Khao Lak city centre. However massage places, convenience stalls, and restaurants were a short walk away.

Initial impressions of the hotel was that it didn't feel as warm and cosy as Qunci Villa in Lombok, or as luxurious as Fusion Maia in Danang. The beach was only available during low tides, but you can get a free transfer to La Flora which is the sister resort to chill at the beach there. However these were probably the only things I could think that we're not in this hotel's favor.

The service was always top notch, and staff were happy to accede to our requests. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy and luxurious. It also helped to have a complimentary minibar which was topped up everyday! The complimentary a la carte breakfast was delicious, and my lack of decisiveness meant I had 2 orders every breakfast so I can try as much as possible.

I tried the facial at the spa and it was nice and relaxing. The staff also arranged for a room at the spa for us to shower in before we left for the airport as they could not extend a late checkout for us!

Overall great experience and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We felt the sea view rooms didn't really matter as the sea was just a few steps away from any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Signature Fredpan Singapore, I would like to extend my personal thanks to you for returning and taking the time to comments on our services during your recent stay with us.We are glad you enjoyed the resort, breakfast and spa services. We are indeed looking forward to pampering you in the future! Best regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana resident manager and Casa de La Flora team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect Easter getaway for 3 days 2 nights - best part was the room/villa itself was well equipped ie movies internet - the living and bedroom had a tv each with a build in computer. The fridge had complimentary drinks which consist of juices beers water sprite and coke refilled everyday! Coffee machine was complimentary! Toilet was really cool. Overall good stay didn't need to leave the room and perfect for a laze around trip. Perfect for people who like being near water but not on the beach as there was barely a beach.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gwholovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Signature , Gwholovestravelling, Thank you very much for choosing Casa de Laflora for your holiday destination and thank for taking time to write your review feedback. It was very nice to hear that our hotel design and room facilities were met your expectation and you were able to enjoy staying with us. Please feel free to contact us if you wish to return to Khaolak. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future. Best regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and Casa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

It was the first time that we were travelling to Khao Lak and we stayed at the Casa de la Flora. When we arrived, we were greeted with a warm smile and a friendly greeting. The staff were fluent in English and were willing to accommodate to all of our requests, be it rain or shine.
The room had an excellent bedside view of the ocean coupled with our very own private pool.
I would definitely return to Casa de la Flora the next time I am in Khao Lak and would recommend others to do so too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Signature, Tsebastian, Singapore, Thank you very much for choosing Casa de Laflora for your holidday destination. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services and resort facilities. It is our goal as Casa de La Flora to create as comfortable and accommodating a stay for our guests. We are thrilled that we will be able to welcome you back before too long and enabling us the chance to take care of you once again. Best regard, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and Casa de Laflora team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Booked Casa De La Flora beach front pool villa as was impressed immediate upon entrance into the room. There's a nice living room area with fully stocked complimentary mini bar which includes beer, juice, soda, water.
Apple TV in both bed room and living room which allows you to watch a free selection of movies, international channels and the ability to go online and play music from youtube(which eliminates the need to use the iPod Dock) in the room.
Rooms are spacious and the bathroom is fantastic(complimentary Thann products), the electronic lighting in the room is a nice touch.
Lounging on the patio was relaxing and the attached mini pool was a decent size.
Gym was spacious.
The design of the resort is unique and feels like I'm staying in a contemporary art museum.

I would suggest having dinner elsewhere as the dishes seem to lack some more the more local Thai dishes we are use to enjoying.

But overall, All the little things add up to a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrGQreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Signature, MrGQreader, Hongkong China, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us and sharing with us your pleasant experience during your stay at Casa de La Flora. We are most delighted to learn that you were impressed with our resort design and technology w and overall services and facilities. Please feel free to contact us if you wish to return to Khaolak we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and Casa de La Flora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#12 of 70 in Khao Lak
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
2.4 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
6.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de La Flora

Address: 67 / 213 Moo 5, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#19 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: £170 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de La Flora 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de La Flora, one of the best new hotels by Conde Nast Traveller’s Hot List 2012 is located directly on the beautiful, palm-fringed beach of Khao Lak, just one-hour drive by car from Phuket International Airport. This ultimate design resort with stunningAndaman views as well as its friendly service warmly welcome visitors from across the globe. We are proud of being the first modernist hideaway in Khao Lak, presenting cutting-edge architecture and unique design amid tropical nature. Whether you’re looking for a romantic hideaway or a luxury holiday experience, Casa de La Flora is definitely a perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa de La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Flora Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing