We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet beach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We recently stayed at Kantary Beach for our honeymoon- we really enjoyed the quiet setting and beautiful hotel.
Unfortunately it was low season and there was only the main restaurant and bar open.
The hotel is lovely and clean and the staff are very friendly. We originally thought we had booked a beach villa but arrived and realised we had booked a suite- we were happy with the suite- they are near enough identical to the villas inside- and there are not so many mosquitoes!
The hotel is quite far from the main town but there are some lovely little beach restaurants about 5 minutes along the beach- we ate there quite a bit. The food in the hotel is lovely- it's just a bit more expensive than the beach restaurants. The staff in the restaurant and bar are really friendly and always welcome you warmly. I'd recommend ordering the crepe suzette if you'd like something sweet- it's delicious- for 2 to share! The chef makes this infront of your table!

Massages are available at the beach front- I'd highly recommend the oil massage!

The hotel hires out bikes and mopeds at the reception. You can also book excursions in the reception at competitive rates.

I'd definately visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danielle_736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, is pleased to learn that you definitely would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your favourable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

If you want to go to Phuket in the low season, yet not go to Phuket, this is the place. The resort is located about an hour's drive north of Phuket International Airport, smack on a white sandy Khao Lak beach, surrounded by lush green hills. There are dozens of hotels clustered in a 5km radius, but in mid July we enjoyed the combined pleasure of sunny days and very few tourists - heaven. The service at Kantary Beach is outstanding - what lovely welcoming people who couldn't do enough to assist. The individual villa accommodation is fresh, spotless, modern and well-designed. The restaurant food and service are both faultless. On-site bookings with Nok from Eco Khao Lak Adventures made arranging taxis and elephant trekking and bathing with the elephants a snap. Bicycles and motorbikes are both cheap and easy to hire and the roads are quieter this time of year, so not so intimidating for the novice motorcyclist. We bicycled about 10 minutes up the hill to the 7-Eleven and local fruit and veg vendors; there are also two or three local restaurants on the road within easy walking or cycling distance, open for lunch or dinner. The resort is about 15 minutes north of Bang Niang village and there are regular cheap buses to and fro (100 baht pp one way) or request a taxi (300 baht one way flat). The village is in long term recovery mode following the 2004 tsunami, with some major infrastructure works underway - new footpaths and drainage along Phetkasem Road - but hosts great markets Monday, Wednesday and Saturday afternoons, and has a range of restaurants and small businesses catering for locals and tourists alike. At this time of year we could take our pick for drinks and dinner. We enjoyed happy hour Mai Thais at Baan Keanglay Restaurant and Bar down Chai Hat Bang Niang Road with Mr Kat and his nephew Tae. Might have to put this hotel on the calendar for an annual mid year pilgrimage. Don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, appreciates your descriptive and informative commentary, after your recent stay with us, for its provision of details on the atmosphere and local colour of our property as well as Khao Lak, noting the many things to see and do in the area. Your mention of the outstanding service you received from our staff has been shared with them. Your positive feedback on our accommodations, facilities, food, location, and service should be useful to others planning a stay. Thank you, and we look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Have just got back from 10 days at this resort. Being my first time in a resort I was very happy with the time we spent here. As it was the wet season the resort was very quiet apart from the weekends when a bus or two would arrive for a night or so. This meant that our traveling party had the garden pool area to ourselves most days.
Breakfast was great with a wide variety, and variations for each day. My children especially enjoyed the doughnuts! Whilst I enjoyed the noodles, rice and pastries. We had dinner here a few nights and whilst the quality was ok, for the price you could find better elsewhere.
The villas were well laid out and we loved the touch of the outdoor shower.

only a couple of negatives, the cost of the transfer into town if there is a larger group of you means a private taxi works out much cheaper than organising one through the hotel. A miscommunication between the hotel and the driver meant we were dropped off at the wrong spot one night missing out dinner reservations.

Based on our stay here I would do another resort stay, probably out of season again as I enjoyed the quietness of it and would imagine it would be pretty hectic during the peak, especially at breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank himselfher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, appreciates your favourable commentary after your recent 10 day stay with us and hopes to see and serve you again soon. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and i have just returned from Kantary Beach Hotel where we spent two weeks,the staff are brilliant the villa we had was great restaraunt very good, only Andaman resteraunt open due to rainy season, pizzas great,breakfast great.The staff were my highlite,every single one of them were great nothing was to much all so polite and freindly,TU is food and bev manager was very helpfull as was Darren cutomer relations.I will certainly visit again. The only minus is the location out of town,but dont let that put you off

Room Tip: if you have mobility problems get avilla or a suite block with block with a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiverpoolSpuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

The Kantary Bay, Khao Lak, thanks you for your positive feedback and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon. Your thoughtful mention of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff, by name or position, has been shared with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is off the beaten track - inbetween Apsaras Hotel and Sarojin. We arrived to a warm greeting and very smooth, quick check in/ Whisked of by bugy to the villa. This was a big surprose. The villas are not huge but they are very well thought out and there is plenty room. We had baby cot in our room and older son slept on the sofa in the living room - plenty of space for him on it. Living room has a dvd player - very handy! bedroom has TV also - international channels so plenty to watch. Restaurant that was open was basic but plenty food at breakfast - the other 2 were closed for low season - pity as we enjoyed the staff atmosphere - they knew the kids names and paid lots of attention in a very genuine and caring way. Loved the atmosphere of the place all round! There is a minimart within the resort which is very well stocked with beer, wine spirits, snacks and more besides. There are 4 pools, altogether so plenty of space and options there too. Gym is well equiped and the conference facitlity looked good too. So there is something for everybody.
Great break away for a couple of nights and could quite happliy have stayed longer to relax and enjoy the family time. If you are looking for value for money -this a very good option in Khao Lak.

Room Tip: go for the villas and enjoy the space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraserross48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, is pleased to learn that your recent stay with us was pleasant and enjoyable and thanks you for your positive endorsement and descriptive commentary which should be useful to other readers planning a stay in Khao Lak. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this resort in December 2012 and was absolutely delighted by the room, facilities, service and setting. The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for the guests and this was demonstrated on any occasion that a request was made. Special mention needs to be made of the Guest Relation Manager (Darren) who went the extra mile to ensure that I was looked after so a BIG thanks to this young man...the resort is lucky to have him on board.

The beach was beautiful and, unlike other regions, not overcrowded, eg. Patong and Kata Beaches. The guests were mainly mature / elderly when I was there however that wasn't an issue. Families with smaller children are catered to as well so overall, this is a pretty good experience. Meals were good too and the breakfast was s good as it gets, very acceptable.

The only comment I could make which might be considered by some as a negative is the distance from the main shopping areas but that probably contributed to the slower pace of the resort which is what I was looking for anyway. It's also a fair hike from the airport so be prepared for at least an hour's drive.

Overall, a great place to stay and a great experience.

Room Tip: The villas near the beach are quieter and closer to the dining areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saffy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, thanks you for your informative and descriptive review and positive recommendation for a stay with us. Your thoughtful mention of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been shared with them. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We spent 12 beautiful days relaxing at Kantary Beach Resort. Our villa was closer to the beach than the lobby and very quiet. The villas have of two rooms, bathroom, terrace and outdoor shower and everything was very clean. Generally only a few guests were due to the onset of rainy season in the hotel. Therefore, unfortunately, the beach restaurants were all closed.

Breakfast at the hotel was excellent except for the coffee, the espresso we took had to be paid extra.

We ate dinner at the restaurant several times and have been really spoiled by the service team and the chefs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, is pleased to learn that your 12 day stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. Your thoughtful mention of the restaurant Chefs and service team has been shared with them. Thank you for your favourable commentary and we look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
872 reviews
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
6 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
567 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#18 of 70 in Khao Lak
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak

Address: 64, 65 Moo2, Kukkak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Khao Lak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: £39 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the few remaining stretches of pristine beach in Phang Nga, just north of Phuket, the Kantary Beach is simply breathtaking. Comprised of elegant and modern suites and serene and private bungalows, the hotel fronts a stunning beach and is surrounded by lush, tropical foliage, two relaxing lakes and the hills of Phang Nga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing