We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Company”

Khao Lak Land Discovery - Day Tours
Ranked #5 of 50 Tours in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Khao Lak Land Discovery is a reliable tour operator in Khao Lak. The office is located in Khao Lak (La Own) in the centre.Tours to:Similan Islands snorkling,Khao Sok Nationalpark (1 day or overnight tours)Phang Nga Bay (James Bond),Surin Islands snorkeling,Temple Tour,Phuket Tour,Airport transfers
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Company”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This company picked us up from the airport and also drove us back. We arranged everything by email and we payed the driver. The organization went pretty well and the drive was at the airport on time and also the way back he was on time. The bus was very new and well equipped. So from the organization point and friendliness it was perfect. The only worry was the drive both time they went much too fast for example you were allowed to go 60 and he was 100. I would have preferred to pay a bit more but somehow arrive a bit more relaxed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marabou676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    90
    29
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three Temple Tour - a really interesting and enjoyable day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a really good day on the Three Temple Tour - Dirk the tour guide was very friendly and his knowledge of the temples, their history and Buddhist background was excellent. He made the tour so interesting and kept feeding us other pieces of information as we travelled along the whole day tour. We were accompanied by a group of 4 Germans from another hotel and Dirk kept the information flowing in both languages and at no time did we feel ''left out' . The Germans were friendly too and we managed a flow of 'banter' despite each group having limited knowledge of the others mother tongue. Cold drinks and cold towels provided during the day were welcome and the lunch included was also very good. would thoroughly recommend the tour to anyone wishing to gain a better understanding regarding the culture and beliefs within this lovely country.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Biggest/oldest is not always the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were looking forward to fantastic day trip but we were very dissapointed with Land Discovery. Our elephant ride was o.k. nothing very eventfull happened - you walk for 20 minutes up a mountain stream and then 20 minutes back along the same route onm the back of the elephant. The canoe trip was fantastic - they arranged it, but our canoest, a local, who could speak some English, made that part very memorable by showing us all sorts of wildlife that we did not see at first as we floated down the river. The waterfall was also pretty at the end.

We sat in the back of their vehicle which felt like it had no suspension; every bump could be felt. We were sitting with a wet towel, after the canoe trips in the back of the car wiping ourselves. We feel that the non-native Thai guide lacked professional traing in customer care. Where we are from, you don't wait for the customer to complain; you watch them closely to see that they are comfortable, etc. At the last attraction the question was asked, "Can you hear me clearly at the back of the car?" Surely that should be the first question when starting out. Also, from going on another tour with another company with a native Thai guide who could speak beautiful English with a surprising British accent, we discovered that the Land Discovery guide was not correctly informed about Thai culture. We also felt that the Land Discovery guide had a lack for respect for the Thai culture as she seemed to belittle aspects of Thai culture/religion. We would prefer not to go with tours arranged by Land Discovery again - other companies can take us to similar places in a much more caring way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Waterfalls and elephants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Booked a half day tour with Khao Lak Land discovery and was not disappointed. Our tour guide turned up early so we were able set off before the peak hour traffic and we were briefed about what we were going to see and do. We experienced a thirty minute elephant trek as well as two trips to awesome waterfalls that we were able to swim in for about twenty-thirty minutes each and was loads of fun. It's completely safe, no leeches, no fish, no bugs, just pure and refreshing water and nothing too deep. Lunch is provided and was well worth it; a restaurant beside a river and excellent food and service and a great opportunity to bond with the family that had come along with us. You're also given a complimentary picture after the elephant trek which we loved.

Great for families, couples, anyone really and definitely well worth it! Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunning, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hong Island Discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Today we got out of bed at 4 am to travel with Khaolak Land Discovery to Phang Nga Bay by car, on a longtail boat and in canoes through the beautiful limestone caves to the inside of wonderful secret islands. It was like visiting the land before time. We had a small mishap with our longtail who's propellor seized and so we had an extra hour to explore on foot a different cave inside another island. This world heritage area is a must see and this tour company is brilliant. We had Jess as a guide. A multilingual Dutchman with a great sense of humour and who really knew an awful lot about the area and Thailand. We had lovely Thai guys paddling for us and operating the longtails, fantastic food at the floating fishermen's village and the best weather we could have wished for. It was also great value for money including food, drinks, tour transport and insurance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barcoo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khao Lak Land Discovery - Day Tours also viewed

 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Khao Lak Land Discovery - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing