We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic muay thai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khao Lak Muay Thai

Khao Lak Muay Thai
Ranked #3 of 15 Spas & Wellness in Khao Lak
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Khao Lak Muay Thai is a small boxing Gym which is located next to the Stadium behind the Bang Niang freshmarket.Here you can train with former Ratchadamnoen and WBU boxing champion Surachai Saengmorakot.Training is for every skill level. You can come to discover Thaiboxing, train to get fit or even train for a real fight. Everyone is welcome!!
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic muay thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great atmosphere, good fights. Dont be supprised that some of the fighters might be really young, it looks like that they now what they are doing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChocoPep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Experience if a little pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at the la flora resort in Kho Lak and mentioned to a taxi (one of the wee converted truck) about the boxing in Kho Lak. He arranged to pick us up from our meal and took us to the venue (which is about a ten minute ride away) and came back to pick us up following the fights (we only paid him once back at the bar) and even advised the best places to sit watching the fights, rules etc. Yeh, he was getting his cut on the door but the price would have been the same had we walked up ourselves or with him.

in terms of the night it was quick and brutal. started off with young guys and then moved on to the more experienced fighters. Plenty of knock outs and excitement.

Something different to experience and would recommend a visit. Word of advice though: as you arrive it looks a bit like you are entering an industrial estate or housing complex... it is fine!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kraildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

It was good I guess, if you have never seen Thao boxing before. £20 entry, was obviously aimed at the tourists. Not a packed arena, more like a gym. 9 fights and 6 knockouts, was brutal at times.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JPStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the fights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a small gym just outside of Khao Lak town. We had a great night watching the fights and experiencing the local Muay Thai boxing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeeMHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OXFORD UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Thailand and so knew what to expect from Thai boxing.
It is expensive but not compared to Bangkok and as tourists I think it is good we can contribute.
The boxing was excellent and as a visitor we felt very welcome. I would have liked to have seen more older fighters too as there were a lot of younger fighters but they all worked hard.
Worth a visit

Helpful?
2 Thank SBRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khao Lak Muay Thai also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Khao Lak Muay Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing