We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeding expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceeding expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Extremely beutiful !! We enjoyed our stay at the resort even if only for 3 days. The resort is modern and looks newly built, all the staff is kind and willing to help in any circumstance. The pool was great also with its hydro-massage. We didn't try the restaurant. It's the ideal place for a couple spending their honeymoon (like us) to rest in a quiet environment. The private beach is quite and never crowded and also long enough for nice long walks. The wi-fi connection is available at an affordable price all around the resort, also on the beach. Only one small negative remark maybe: some ants found inside the room, but I guess it is rather normal in a place surrounded by plants and grass. Other than that the room was extremely clean.

Fantastico !! Il soggiorno è stato estremamente piacevole, anche se solo per 3 giorni. Il resort è moderno e pare appena costruito, lo staff è gentile e disponibile in qualunque circostanza. La piscina con l'idromassaggio è stata grandiosa. Non abbiamo provato il ristorante. E' il posto ideale per una coppia che come noi stava trascorrendo la luna di miele per riposarsi in un ambiente tranquillo. La spiaggia privata è tranquilla e mai affollata, ed anche lunga abbastanza per delle piacevoli e lunghe passeggiate. La connessione wi-fi è presente ad un prezzo abbordabile in tutto il resort, anche in spiaggia. Solo forse una piccola osservazione negativa: abbiamo trovato delle formiche nella stanza, ma immagino che sia piuttosto normale in un posto immerso nel verde. A parte questo, la stanza era estremamente pulita.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxMontz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear MaxMontz,

Many thanks for your report. Trully, being surrounded by so much nature and tropical gardens, we have the comments of ants here and there. But a quick word to our house-keeping next time and we get rid of those unwanted creatures. Mainly they show up when guests leave open bags of chips and snack food in the room. But i am happy that your short stay was enjoyable and we hope that you will stay with us again, for a bit longer than 3 days...

very best regards & Grazie Mille

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    404
    90
    22
    11
See reviews for
99
1,232
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

This place is an absolute gem in Khao Lak area. It takes a bit of getting to, but if you are looking for a secluded resort with endless stretch of sand, quality service and large rooms, this is a great choice.

There is very very little around the resort, and it takes about 20 mins to get to Khao Lak town (which is one street with about 20-30 shops on either side of the busy road). The hotel bus costs 300 baht per person one way, so if you are there for a few days and are ok with riding a scooter, i would strongly recommend hiring one for the time you are there. There is only one main road between khao lak and the resort, so it is a very easy, straight ride with beaches and waterfalls in between.

the pool side by the beach is a great place to relax and watch the sunset. sit in the pool at the water bar and have a few relaxing drinks during happy hour...

breakfast is quite a wide spread and worth getting up for.

if you are looking for a central resort, close to all the restaurants and spas and bars, this is not the place to be. If you are looking for a very relaxing getaway, this is a great choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beanbag81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Beanbag81

Thanks for your kind reply and comments. Hope to be able to welcome you back again soon for some more relaxing days...
Have a great start in the New Year

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

The location of this hotel is amazing, as well as the infinity swimming pool. This resort has no kid which is very appreciable when in couple.
The level of service is poor and the staff needs better training and management.
It is an ok resort but certainly does not worth the price they are asking for.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glpprinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Glpprinz,

Thanks for your review on our resort. I am a bit surprised that you feel that we do not offer value for money as we are still on our opening rates. The level of service will certainly improve to the excellence you seek once our " locomotive " starts running on auto-mode. All new babies need some time to learn to walk.

Again thank you for your creative input

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

The hotel was probably one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in & I work in the travel industry so have seen & stayed in quite a few of the worlds leading hotels.
We chose the hotel after spending time in Bangkok & Phuket which was very busy & we just wanted to chill out, relax & do nothing for the last 5 nights of our holiday so it ticked the box perfectly for just that.
It is very isolated & a good 15mins by taxi or hotel shuttle bus to get to the nearest town with nothing to walk out to outside however you can stroll to a few beach restaurants within a 5 minute walk for some cheap Thai food.
Prices in the hotel were as expected for the quality of the hotel & the staff were excellent.
Rooms were immaculate & there were plenty of sunbathing space including sunbeds in the pool which were a welcome break from the heat!
Perfect pools & the most amazing sunset I have ever seen.
I will defiantly be recommending this hotel to my customers who are looking for quiet quality accommodation.
Overall a fantastic 5 nights

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear NicJayne,

Thanks for your review. Love to see that you had 5 great days here. Hope to be able to welcome many of your customers and hopefully yourself to the resort. for any special requests please simply send me an e-mail to robert@ katagroup.com

again thank you and happy new year

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a relaxing week in early November. We had a standard villa which more than suited our needs, the only thing it would have been nice to have in the villa was a bath-there is only a shower. Breakfast was plentiful and we drank at the beachside bar every evening, particularly good during happy hour! Despite the resort seeming busy, the bar and restaurants were almost deserted in the evening, which was a shame- we ate at the beachside restaurant on a couple of occasions but the other restaurants just looked too empty. Perhaps a wider menu choice in the evenings (similar to the lunchtime menu) would help. Prices were inevitably more expensive than at local restaurants in town, but we felt good value considering it is a high end resort.

The beach is lovely, and we spent much of the week relaxing on the beach. The only downside was the 'towel brigade' - very early in the morning they would be up to reserve their poolside loungers with their towels, and then not return until much later to use them! if you want to head to the pool at a relaxed hour of the morning you won't stand a chance of getting a poolside lounger, but we enjoyed sitting on the beach loungers more anyway.

If you walk out of the resort on to the beach and to the right there is a lovely restaurant which we used most days for lunch, very cheap and friendly for a lunchtime thai dish and beer. We took the shuttle into town for dinner on quite a few evenings, and wandered round the market. Restaurants we particularly enjoyed were Mojo's & Hill Tribe (but don't forget your mosquito repellant!).

All in all a great place to relax for a week.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SimbaSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Penny

Thanks for your great report. I know the story with the lounger reservations is a headache, but I aam affraid that with limited eglish from guests and staff side, clearing would lead to unneccessary quarrels, which is the last I want my guests or staff to have. Anyway we have enough loungers for all guests, therefore this practice is not really upsetting anyone, except those who get up early ..maybe..

Love to hear that you had a good time and we hope to see you again soon.
Happy New Year

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

My guy and I arrived here after 4 days in Bangkok, my 1st visit to Thailand. What a wonderful resort - words that come to mind are peaceful, idyllic, stylish...even paradise! And it felt like low season: no crowds, no queues, even the pool area was quiet with towels on 'saved' loungers the only evidence of lots of guests! The Christmas Eve gala was delightful - great buffet, entertainment, loved the classy way the resort was decorated with fairy lights and torches on the beachfront. Lighting the lucky lanterns and releasing them was such fun. And the chocolate filled bags delivered to our door was a pleasant surprise. We also won a de-stress massage for two in the lovely spa, which was excellent. With Beyond being one of the most northerly resorts the beach & sea were also quiet with a feeling of space and seclusion. And what a beach - Pakweeb is best I've ever experienced at a resort. Good beach restaurants too if you are budget conscious - can recommend BBQ crab & fish, papaya salad at Cocobeach Rest. As Beyond is 15 minutes away from the main centre, we rented a 125cc motorbike in Khao Lak as the shuttle bus had limited times and taxis were a bit pricey for us, and we wanted the freedom to come and go as we pleased (but you need to be a confident and defensive driver as Thai drivers are unpredictable in pulling out & we saw a nasty scooter accident on the way to the town). Lots to see outside the resort if you want, including loads of excursions. These tend to be 1+ hours to get to the destinations. As is normal in countries where prices are all negotiable, excursions are also variable in price so we advise shopping around for the best deals.
We tried to be realistic in our expectations (nowhere is perfect!) but the Beyond resort and the area of Khao Lak exceeded our expectations and we would highly recommend it for other couples who like being a bit away from it all but with a bustling centre near enough to visit regularly if wished.

Room Tip: Our Palm Villa room was great - private and very spacious with great soundproofing - and had a lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MizzCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear MizzCanuck

Thanks for your response. Happy that you and " Your Guy " enjoyed a few relaxing days at the resort. Since we cater only for adults ( 18+ ) we have a more quiet surroundings at the public area and pool side than our friends around us. But so far, we strongly believe that it was a good decision to change from family to couple orientated.

Hope to be able to welcome you back again to our beauty beach and resort in the near future.

Happy New Year

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We spent a beautyfull week at the Beyond beginning of December. Our Palm Villa was very spacious, housekeeping was perfect. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. The Beach is perfect for swimming and walking. There are some Restaurants directly on the Beach. We tried all of them and were never disappointed. We miss the beautyfull sundowns sitting at the beach and enjoying delicious Thai Food. At the Kings Birthday the Beyond Management invited all Bürste for a ceremony which endet with hundreds of Lucky ballons rising in the night sky. This was a very Special experience. All in all a Perfect Place to relax and enjoy life.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Walter,

many thanks for your response and we are happy that your holiday was something to remember. I am sure that we will have another splendid idea to celebrate our Kings Birthday and the corresponding 2nd anniversary of the resort next year too, be that here or at our sister property the Beyond Resort Krabi.

I wish you and your family happy festive days and a great 2013

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
3.5 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.2 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#11 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
7.9 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
6.9 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Khaolak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Khaolak

Property: Beyond Resort Khaolak
Address: 9 / 69 Moo 1 | Thamboon Khukkak, Amphur Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beyond Resort Khaolak 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Creating memories, in romantic location... Beyond Resort Khaolak." Unspoiled sands, untouched nature, and undisturbed relaxation; Beyond Resort Khaolak is situated an hour north from Phuket International Airport. Famed for its white beaches, slow life style, and natural surroundings Khaolak is the quieter alternative to Phuket. Jungle-clad mountains, nature-based excursions, and boat rides are activities of choice. On the beach, looking out towards the Andaman Sea nothing stands in-between you and horizon's edge. Offering 177 luxurious villas in contemporary Thai-Style, Beyond Resort Khaolak brings the finer things in life right to your villa door.For our active guests we now offer Scuba Diving all year round.Note, this is an couples resort and allow only guests age 18 and older. Please note that if you pay your hotelbill by credit Card the hotel will charge you a 2% bank processing fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beyond Resort Khaolak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing