We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 relaxing days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beyond Resort Khaolak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“4 relaxing days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

It's been four days since we are in this hotel and it's our last day. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The rooms (villas) are the best we had in our 3 week stay in Thailand (nothing to complain about other rooms...), big room with lots of space, nice furniture, tv space, nice gallery outside keeping you dry when it's raining. Lots of intimity from exterior vines and trees outside and this apply to every room.

We had diner almost every night at the resto/bar with it's amazing sunset, you are actually 2 feet away from the deserted beach (very clean) looking at the sun going down.The atmosphere at this restaurant was always good. The food was amazing, cocktails too and all staff were paying much attention from our request.

I like kids, i really do and i plan on having some in the near future but not having them (18 + hotel) screaming,running for a couples of days really makes this place really quiet. Everyone is reading books, chilling at one of the bars, swimming in the big waves and all of this while hearing the sounds of nature (waves, birds +++).

For us, it was really some relaxing time after 2 weeks of activities and trekking.

I really recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry-Gabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Google Translation
Dear eTrezalka,

Děkujeme vám za váš komentář.

Robert Frei, GM & the BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    395
    87
    22
    11
See reviews for
99
1,205
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Like so many other Australians we purchased this holiday through Luxury Escapes, we upgraded to a Premium Palm Villa and it's proximity to the pool and beach was to be envied. Our flight arrived in Phuket at 11.59pm it was not a problem for the Resort to have a driver there waiting to take us the 1hr 20min back to Beyond Resort. We were met by Mr Oh and he had drinks and fruit waiting for us while we completed the paperwork. Waiting in our room was a snack and by this time it was almost 2.00am but nothing is a problem. Although the Resort is in quite a remote area access to all tourist attractions is available through their booking service and shuttle buses run throughout most days to the local markets. The staff are wonderful, from the cleaners, paper delivery man, to the bar, restaurant and administration the most obliging and polite people always with a smile. As a special treat they set up our villa with balloons, left a birthday cake and card for my husband on his birthday and even sung him happy birthday at dinner that night. A short walk from the Resort there are small cafes if you are looking for a change of menu but we found the food at the Resort perfect. The cooking class was fun and the Spa always busy with people wanting massages so you need to book early. Beyond Resort is the perfect place for a quite and relaxing get away.

Room Tip: I don't think there is an area at the Resort that isn't perfect but closer to the pool and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Jan R,

many thanks for your review. happy to read that you had an great stay and we hope to have you back again in the near future.

Best regards from Khaolak

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Like so many others we had an eight night stay booked through Luxury Escapes. We were met at the airport for our 75 minute transfer where we were welcomed by Ana and Danielle at the resort with a drink and fruit platter. Our Palm Villa was spacious, clean and our bed made to order with mattress topper and firm pillows. The food at the resort was inexpensive, and delicious, with 'happy hour' happening at the pool bar twice a day! The pool area adjacent to the beach, the perfect place to stop, drop and flop.
The attention to detail from all staff is commendable, from breakfast staff remembering how you have your coffee, to cleaning staff working out that we were early risers and having our room clean early each day.
Some recommendations...if you are staying on a Luxury escape voucher, be organised and book your massage sessions, all of them as soon as possible after you arrive or you may be disappointed. Also have the girls write date, times and type of massage on an appointment card so everyone is on the same page. Definitely do the cooking school and Yoga on the beach is an awesome way to start your day. Join in for one of the organised themed buffet nights, they are fun.
Step outside the resort, turn left and walk along the beach at 5pm to meet 'Wandee' he is a great kisser! Take some money for his Mahout, it costs money to feed such a big baby.
Walk the rickety bridge across the lake left of the resort, or cross the inlet at low tide and have dinner on the beach at 'elicious', amazing. Also drop in on the lovely girls for a laugh and a massage you won't forget, right of the resort on the beach front.
The waterfalls are fantastic this time of year, a lovely refreshing swim.
A wonderful week, and a wonderful way to have spent our 20th wedding anniversary.
Ingrid D

Room Tip: All of the villa's same in size, and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear ICD1970

we are thrilled to read that you had an anniversary trip to remember. You got me there with a
" Big Kisser " meaning the young elephant that is on the next door hotel grounds.... ha ha. yes he is, nevertheless whilst being an attraction we at Beyond question if it is environmentally correct to keep a pachyderm in a resort. Anyway we know they look well after him.
Hope to have you back again soon to show you some more of the natural beauty of our adopted home here.

Yours sincerely

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We purchased our holiday through Luxury Escapes and upgraded to a Premium Palm Villa number 1408 which was very central to everything. It was great until we went for a walk the next morning and spotted the two bedroom villa with it's private spa and pool and couldn't resist a further upgrade. Yes it cost us a lot more but it was heavenly. Our own bathroom each and we walked from athe front door to the beach a couple of metres from our decked pool area. This was the epitome of a luxury holiday. The no kids under 18 was fantastic. The food and service exemplary and we dined in the restaurants every night and they are very reasonably priced. We ate very well every night and enjoyed cocktails as well and our bill was extremely reasonable at $300.00 for the 8 nights. Our mini bar was also in lauded in the price. Definitely value for money. The staff are very attentive and also very sweet. We enjoyed the spa treatments and the staff are very experienced. Great relaxing holiday and I would love to return. If you are looking for shopping and nightlife this might not the place for you but if you looking for peace and quiet this is the spot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loreen_0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Loreen_0909,

Many thanks for your mail. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and planning a come back. You might as well wait a few days, we will contact you and inform you where you may purchase additional Luxury Escape Vouchers with the same great value for money. Maybe also upgrade to a Palm Villa Elite with private pool. This new room type will be on sale as of January 2015, offering complete privacy I a jungle like environment, yet being close to everything else the resort has to offer.

Many thanks again

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We purchased 2 x 8 night deals and have just returned from a very relaxing 16 night break.

With the relatively remote location, and being a child-free resort we enjoyed peace and quiet and the beauty of very little to do.

Our Premium Palm Villa (1307) was directly adjacent to the lovely pool area, and was spotlessly clean. Beds as mentioned are extremely firm - even the mattress topper only partly compensated for this. Our deal also included fresh fruit delivered daily, which, after the third day, we had to cancel as we just couldn't eat it all. We had to re-cancel at the halfway mark, when a communication lapse almost saw us checked out after day 8!

If you are travelling to this resort, my recommendations are as follows:

Pack insect repellent and possibly even some room insect spray. The mosquitos are persistent, particularly at the @ Beach café, even during the day.

Book any tours early - Carsten does a great job at ensuring what you want to see has sufficient numbers to go ahead. The hotel uses Eco Khao Lak Adventure for their tours - I have reviewed separately.

Take the short walk outside the resort to the restaurant across the road, River Garden - listed under Takua Pa in TA rather than Khao Lak - I have also reviewed this and other restaurants we tried separately. Fabulous food, at about half the price of the resort and the staff are an absolute delight. You can also get washing done here for a fraction of the cost of the resort.

If you have massages included in your package and you find a massage therapist you like, stick with it and book with that therapist ongoing. The massage quality was a bit "hit and miss". I'd also recommend you get the receptionist to write down your bookings (rather than do it yourself) as there were a couple of discrepancies, and we found ourselves rearranging plans around massage times that had mysteriously moved forward a couple of days.

For variety and excellent value for money, the beach massages at Apissara (first beach massages after the river) are pretty good also.

Happy hours are 2pm - 3pm and 5.30pm - 6.30pm - I can recommend the Mudslides!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flossyfizzdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear flossyfizzdog

Many thanks for your review. I am sorry for the slight problems with bookings at the spa. With the hundreds of vouchers the Girls have to deal with, there were some unscheduled changes, mostly occurring by no-show of guests that have booked in case of rain but did not show up when we had some sunshine.
Anyway, I am happy to see that you have overall enjoyed your 16 days with us.

Hope to have you back again soon

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We originally booked a 3-day package based on the good reviews we read at Tripadvisor. We were planning to check other hotels in the area just in case we are not satisfied with our stay at this resort. However, on our 3rd day and after checking other hotels, we concluded that we really like the resort's tranquil location and romantic setup and the excellent service we experienced in the past 3-days. We had asked Robert if he could give us a good deal for a long stay. We were utterly delighted when he gave us a really good price, thus we extended our stay for 13 more days and enjoyed every bit of it, even though some days had been raining hard and we were confined in our room.

Check-in and check-out had been prompt and hassle-free. It was nice to get refreshing drinks and fruits as well as a cold towel upon arriving at the resort. It had been a long ride from the airport.

We can't remember the names of the ladies at the reception other than Danielle but we appreciate how they did their best to accommodate our requests and answer our inquiries despite a few misunderstandings (language issues). Overall the managers and staff have been very accommodating and friendly. Tom has been helpful and readily answered our questions. Alma, Eddie and the rest of the restaurant staff went out of their way to serve us and make our breakfast and dining experiences delightful. The pretty ladies serving at breakfast (at Beyond Cafe) were all nice and warm despite their little understanding of English. We were surprised and pleased when one of the staff (unfortunately we can't remember her name) greeted us in my own native language. She apparently takes an effort to learn some phrases to greet the guests in their own native language.

Breakfast buffet was great--we could choose among continental, English and traditional Thai breakfast menu so we were not confined to the same food item everyday. The dinner buffets were worth it---great food, live music played by a Philippine band led by the very-friendly Rhea and Polynesian and Thai dances on Sunday and Tuesday respectively. Live music every other nights at the Beach Restaurant makes dining very cozy. We took advantage of the happy hours (either the 2:00-3:00 pm or 5:00-6:30 pm slot) wherein the drinks are at 40% discount, after driving around (on a rented scooter) the Takua Pa and Khao Lak area.

The landscape and the beach were serene and romantic. We like the pool design and loungers. It was enjoyable to even just sit and relax at the pool overlooking the picturesque sea and horizon. It was great that with the resort's policy regarding using the loungers, everyone could equally enjoy them.

Finally our room (we had stayed at the Palm Villa) was delightfully spacious and cozy. We like the simple yet functional room decor and furnishings, though it would be better if there are some brighter lightings in the wardrobe/bathroom. Bed and pillows were the right firmness and softness for us. We had a peaceful and relaxing sleep--no outside noises, ie the resort is relatively far from the main road thus no speeding and honking noises and even the A/C unit is relatively quiet.

We had splurged a little bit on this holiday but it was all worth it.

Thumbs up for the great service!

---Søren and Sonia




Additional info:

We had tried the local restaurants outside the hotel, both the Sunrise (on the left side from the resort gate) and the River Garden (across the road from the hotel) and the food was really good and inexpensive.

We also rented a scooter from the owner of Sunrise to go around Takua Pa and Khao Lak. It gave us more freedom and flexibility than just taking the taxi in exploring the area.

Room Tip: Rooms from 2601- 2609 are quieter and offers more privacy if you want to sit in the balcony or if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enigma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Enigma G,

Many thanks for extending your stay with us. I am very happy too read that even with the strong rains in between you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to have you back in the near future again.

Yours sincerely

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medowie, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Like many other reviews, we used a Luxury Escapes voucher for our eight night stay. Everything stated in the offer was delivered, from meal and spa vouchers to airport transfers, so the Resort is to be commended for this as quite often, offers are not what they seem.

We stayed in a Premium Palm Villa and the additional benefits of the upgrade (additional spa vouchers and return transfers) seemed to be where the value of the upgrade were, rather than the room quality itself. Yes, there were additional outside chairs with the Premier villa but we did not use them as it was far more comfortable inside with air conditioning. Several rows of villas had a sign designating them as Premier villas whereas ours (2501) did not, so perhaps due to bookings we were not actually in a Premier villa. It matters little as we enjoyed our stay but it would have been nicer to have been a little closer to the pools and eating areas. I would classify the room as being basic, but functional, rather than lavish, but the most important thing to us was that it was very clean, and everything we truly needed was there. We took advice from previous reviews and requested a bed topper immediately on arrival as the beds are "firm" but the topper addresses some of this.

Our first impression was that the resort was remote and that there was very little to do, but in reality, that is the focus of this type of holiday, just lay around the pool and relax. The staff were a major asset, ensuring that we always knew what theme nights were on, and attending to any of our requests very professionally. I would particularly mention Eddie and Alma in the hospitality areas as being exceptional in their goal to ensure we had a good time.

In summary, we enjoyed our stay and felt we got great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gcrgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Gcrgolf,

Many thanks for your review of our resort. I will pass on the compliments to Eddie and Alma, I am sure they will be thrilled to be mentioned online.

Again thank you for purchasing your Voucher with Luxury Escapes

Your sincerely

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.3 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
7.8 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
6.8 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Khaolak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Khaolak

Property: Beyond Resort Khaolak
Address: 9 / 69 Moo 1 | Thamboon Khukkak, Amphur Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beyond Resort Khaolak 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Creating memories, in romantic location... Beyond Resort Khaolak." Unspoiled sands, untouched nature, and undisturbed relaxation; Beyond Resort Khaolak is situated an hour north from Phuket International Airport. Famed for its white beaches, slow life style, and natural surroundings Khaolak is the quieter alternative to Phuket. Jungle-clad mountains, nature-based excursions, and boat rides are activities of choice. On the beach, looking out towards the Andaman Sea nothing stands in-between you and horizon's edge. Offering 177 luxurious villas in contemporary Thai-Style, Beyond Resort Khaolak brings the finer things in life right to your villa door.For our active guests we now offer Scuba Diving all year round.Note, this is an couples resort and allow only guests age 18 and older. Please note that if you pay your hotelbill by credit Card the hotel will charge you a 2% bank processing fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Beyond Resort Khaolak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing