We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Nearby Hotels
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Galleria Resort(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bangsak Village(Khao Lak)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sarojin(Khao Lak)
US$244
US$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$161
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Breeze Resort(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$53
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,288)
Filter reviews
2,288 results
Traveller rating
1,340
716
154
48
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,340
716
154
48
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloating marketpeace pooltalay restaurantseaside junior suitekids poolcoconut barkids clubfamily roomfloating restaurantthe main roadhappy hourseparate poolthree barsgames roomswim up barpeter barpool access suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,595 - 1,600 of 2,288 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A massive thank you to all the team for such a specail stay. Everything from the stunning room, to the beautiful setting, to the impeccable service was faultless. We certainly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet retreat.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JBrowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear JBrowny, we are delighted to see your great review on TripAdvisor. Should your travels ever bring you back to Khao Lak, we are more than happy to host you again at the Sands. Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My family and I stayed here for two weeks. The dedicated family rooms are really roomy and cleverly designed allowing us to have enough privacy. Add to this the kids facilities - we used the Kids club a few times and the children loved the pool with the slide - hours of fun! Its one of the best holidays we have ever had. The location is great, walking distance to the local shops, restaurants, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear pat J, Thank you very much for your excellent rating on Tripadvisor. We are more than happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel and we do hope to have chance to welcoming you back at the Sands Khao Lak in the near future. With warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We had a fantastic two night stay at The Sands. We stayed in a Junior Suite with pool access. The room was immaculate - particularly loved the towels arranged as elephants on the bed - and the decking over the pool was the perfect place to unwind. I had one of the best massages I have ever had at The Spa followed by delicious ginger tea and a wonderful feeling of wellbeing. The beach is beautiful and quiet, the family and calm pools a genius idea. Food was delicious and the waiting staff couldn't have been more attentive. Yes, there was some finishing work going on to the hotel - planting of planters, installing lights - but this in no way impacted on our rest and relaxation. And judging by their speed, the work will be finished very quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tamsin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Tamsin K, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and also thank you for your understanding. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

In short 2 weeks after the official opening it still isn't finished. Over 80 or so workmen still insure, drilling, paving and sawing. Etc. Outside our room which we only stayed for 1 hour was constant drilling and banging, the hotel shops were still under construction. We were moved to a finished hotel, but quite simply guests should not have to compromise their holiday because of the sands owners greed of getting proletariat toholiday on a building site.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Stickleback1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Stickleback1, thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Our apologies for not having met your expectations during the soft opening period in November. To show our concern, we arranged an alternative accommodation for you in a higher category hotel and hope that you had enjoyed your stay there. The hotel was fully functional shortly after that as you can see from our more recent comments. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you in the future, should your travels bring you back to Khao Lak. Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We have just spent eight wonderful days at this resort. We arrived on the opening day,the staff made us very welcome. Our room was a Seaview Deluxe Jnr Suite everything about this room was great.Whilst construction is still happening it did not worry us at all,the resort will be a showcase when it is all finished. Breakfast and other meals were very good,pools great,staff excellent. I would go back there tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank hellbat122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear hellbat122, thank you for your great rating on tripadvisor and for choosing our new resort. It’s great to hear such a good feedback already in the beginning and we do hope to see you again soon at the Sands Khao Lak. Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews