We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stylish Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We chose this hotel as place to rest our head before and after our diving live-aboard trip.

The hotel is about five minutes from the public beach. Next to the hotel are plenty of shops, and restaurants.
The hotel itself is built around the pool. The rooms are clean and stylish, and give away a feel good vibe.

The senior staff is very competent, relaxed and friendly. The hotel is small enough to provide an intimate feel of hospitality, and the front desk staff is very helpful in organizing ground transport, restaurants and the alike.

The bad:
The junior staff sometimes has difficulties communicating. There are not enough pool towels for all guests, and the breakfast lacks attention to detail with concentrate juices, instant coffee, and other processed foods.

Overall this is a nice place for the demanding traveler to lay his/her head for a couple nights and it is good value for money.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor, as most of those have private Jacuzzis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuxuryBudgetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puran G, Front Office Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2014

Dear Our Valued Guest,
First of all management & staff thank you very much for your choosing us for your staying. All of your reviews and feedback will get share to our team and staffs. We are very happy that you have had a wonderful holiday and nice experience in Khaolak. We wish to welcome you back here again.

Be well I Be confident I Be different!
Respectfully yours,
Puran Gautam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed for five days and the hotel is really nice, modern and at affordable price! Staff was always nice and helpful! I had a problem with shower and they fix it straight away!
The only thing is that the hotel is not on the beach, but you can rent a scooter and go around! You can bargain the price for 250 baht per day! And also beaches in khao lak are not the greatest I have seen in Thailand!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Larola80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear our valued guest,
We thank you very much for your time to write us the reviews and feedback. I will share you reviews with our team. We ensure to keep improve our service and hospitality to be better. We apologized for your inconvenience stay because of our look over at the rainy shower head. I will share you reviews with our team. We ensure to keep improve our service and hospitality toservice you better for your next visit. We hope that you had a nice experience with our Monochrome Resort and wonderful days in Khaolak .We wish to welcome you back again.

Be well I Be confident I Be different!!!
Sincerely yours,
NuN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Not directly on the beach, but a good location near shops and massage places, and within a few dozen meters of three excellent restaurants -- Amici Italian restaurant (attached to the hotel), Enzo's (Japanese fusion) and the Rusty Pelican (great Mexican). As other readers have noted, there are a few quirks to the hotel (shower head on ceiling, no translucent curtains, some unusual breakfast buffet choices and omissions, a few rooms without good views). But the pluses outweigh the minuses -- it's a rather new hotel, spotlessly clean, quiet, with a nice pool, spacious room and balconies, nice towels, room safes, etc. Most important, the staff were extremely nice and helpful. My requests were attended to immediately by the ladies at the front desk, and they did a wonderful job with things like arranging tours for me. I thank their staff for being so professional. (Please keep up the good work.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. A few of the rooms have no views and/or no priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jghutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear our valued guest,
We thank you very much for your time to write us the reviews and feedback. I will share you reviews with our team. We ensure to keep improve our service and hospitality to be better. We hope that you had a nice experience with our Monochrome Resort and enjoy with the snorkeling trip . We wish to welcome you back again.

Be well I Be confident I Be different!!!
Sincerely yours,
NuN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Very modern hotel (only 2 years old). Good location, although not directly on the beach. The beach can be reached in only 5 mins walking though. The rooms are very modern and well-designed. Service in the hotel was always good.

They have a good (a little pricey) Italian restaurant where we had one of the best pizzas ever :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zimbo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Our Value Guest,
Thank you very much for your choosing our resort for your stay in Khaolak. Again a big thank for your review and feedback. We will share your feedback with our team and staffs. We hope to welcome you back to our resort again and try the other dish from our Italian restaurant.

Be well I Be confident I Be different!
Sincerely yours,
NuN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here in early January and had a great time - this a very quiet hotel in a great location. The beach is just a short walk away with lots of free loungers and beach restaurants. Our room was lovely, and the bed and bedding were amazingly comfy - every night was a good night's sleep!

We visited Khao Lak a couple of years ago and the resort has been further developed since we last visited - it's great to see the local economy doing so well - there are lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance - we ate Thai almost every night but there is a wide selection of restaurants to choose from. Our favourite was Chok Dee, followed by Siam and Baan Keanglay (opposite the diving shop) for great value and very friendly service. We also ate in the hotel restaurant (Italian) one night which is more upmarket but very good.

We would recommend this hotel if you want a peaceful stay, and are happy to not be on the beachfront.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McJEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Our Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a comfy sleep with our bedding. We will share your feedback with our team and staffs. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel atmosphere. Management and staff hope to welcome you back to our Monochrome Resort again.

Be well I Be confident I Be different!
Yours sincerely,
NuN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A great little boutique hotel. Room was big, had a safe, the location great, and the price excellent.

bed was very comfortable, aircon worked well, and balcony was a godsend.

Staff helped to organise a moped so I could explore the area.

Breakfast choices were interesting... Loads of restaurants/bars/shops in the area.

Would stay again, as for the price, it's all I would want as a base to go exploring the rest of the area.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djchewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Our Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and review. We will share your feedback with our team and staffs. Here in Khaolak, there are not many thing to explorer, anyway still fresh natural, local sightseeing and peaceful place for your visit. Management and staff will come you back here again at all time.

Be well I Be confident I Be different!
Kindest regards,
NuN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at Monochrome for 2 nights, and found it to be just what we were looking for. Most of the rooms open up on to a view of the beautiful pool area, and they all have balconies as well, which was great. The front desk is out doors located just outside the pool area and the restaurant is in the back of the property and is also located outside.

The front desk and bell staff were top notch. I had a large backpackers bag on when I came to check in, and the bellman literally took it off my shoulders when I walked up. Before I turned back around he had all my things loaded on a luggage cart waiting for me. I did get a high room as I had requested, which was nice and they escorted me personally up to the room. I asked if the front desk was 24 hours in case I needed towels or anything and not 5 minutes later, had 2 sets of fresh towels delivered to the room. We unfortunately couldn't stay at Monochrome the first night we were in Khao Lak so we had to stay somewhere else. I realized I left my jacket at the other hotel and the staff at Monochrome were kind enough to call the other hotel for me so I could get it back. They also called one of our tour drivers in the morning when they were running late. Great service.

The room itself was very spacious and modern as was the bathroom. The shower was to die for. I unfortunately was a little under the weather, and the room was so comfortable with a big cozy bed. The A/C kept the room very cool and the room was spotless every day after it was cleaned. Breakfast was included with our rate, and we were pleasantly surprised by their continental breakfast. There was a huge spread with a lot of hot food and a great selection. The perfect way to start off a day, and they start it early which was great for us. The hotel also is in a great location. Short walk to the beach and the main road in Khao Lak.

Overall, great value hotel. Very reasonably priced for a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up that looks out over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Our Valued Guest,
First of all management & staff thank you very much for your choosing us for your staying. All of your reviews and feedback will get share to our team and staffs. We are very happy that you have had a wonderful holiday and nice experience in Khaolak. We wish to welcome you back here again.

Be well I Be confident I Be different!
Respectfully yours,
NuN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 70 in Khao Lak
894 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Vela Khao Lak
La Vela Khao Lak
#4 of 70 in Khao Lak
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani

Address: 67/238 Moo 5, Bang Niang Beach | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Monochrome Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range: £36 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters is an adult-friendly resort set in the heart of Bang Niang Village in Khao Lak, close to the beach. Enjoy the beautiful water features and the serene blue pools to create the sense of relaxation and tranquility for your rejuvenating holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing