We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

... in Garden villa. Breakfast was served in Beach restaurant. Garden was very beautiful and peaceful and taken good care of. Huge pool. Room is big enough and well kept. There is no need to reserve sun beds early in the morning, becouse there is ehouhg of them and you always find a free one. Good location, many restaurants nearby. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mla65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    114
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
56
191
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We originally booked to stay at the Sudala Beach hotel the sister property of this resort. When we arrived they were fully booked and we were transferred to the Mukdara Resort. The situation was not handled well by the 2 hotels and we were angry and frustrated.
Once everything had finally been resolved we settled into a very good week at the hotel.
Positives..
The rooms are very good and the gardens and pool areas are beautifully maintained.
Breakfast is buffet style with the usual egg station - the selection of food available is excellent and the F&B staff are really friendly and helpful.
The sun beds are above the beach area within the hotel grounds and not directly on the beach which is a pity. The beds are very comfortable, the beach towels are very good quality and the area is clean and tidy. Best of all the service from the 3 poolboys is fantastic.
Negatives...
Contrary to the rest of the hotel the staff on reception were unhelpful and arrogant. A great pity.
Internet is not available in the room without the installation of a separate system and at an extra charge. This was the only hotel on our travels that did not provide internet as standard and was particularly surprising for a 5 star hotel.

If you like to eat on the beach turn left from the hotel and take a seat at the first bar and restaurant you come to. It is a real family affair (didn't seem to have a name) and the food and service is fantastic. Aim to arrive just before sunset, take a drink and sit back with your feet in the sand. Ask for the fried Papaya salad - the name doesn't do it justice and it is just gorgeous. If you want to eat in the town try the Green Pepper just off the main street close to the market area - it is by far the best in town.
Would we return to the hotel? Yes.... because although we had problems everything has now been satisfactorily resolved with the Manager and because the hotel has so much to offer and is the best in Khao Lak.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikemaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

BOOKING: We booked direct with the hotel - after checking all of the specials available on the internet and through booking sites, we emailed the manager directly and were offered the same rate as on AsiaRooms. We booked a GardenVilla.
ARRIVAL: We chose to book the private airport transfer, it was well worth it! Our flight was more than 2 hours late arriving and the driver was their with a huge smile and a cold bottle of water. Whilst the ride would be a little hair raising for some (Thai roads and drivers are a little Russian roulette!) having driven in Milan and Rome it didn't bother us.
SERVICE: Like in all of Thailand, the service is outstanding. The people are happy to have you there and look after you. The staff actually enjoy their jobs (the Spanish should take note, what service actually means!)
ROOMS: Whilst the GardenVilla we booked was excellent - spacious, clean, great position - once we ventured down toward the beach - we noticed that the Beach Villas were vacant! We called the front desk and asked for an upgrade. We were offered a great upgrade price and moved straight away.
The BeachFront Villa was to die for:-) The rooms - yes they have some wear and tear - but it was a great size and had everything we needed and more. The private pool and garden were a huge bonus - we loved that you could open or close the huge front doors. And for the price (in Euro) the value was outstanding! We were in a resort - but totally alone, loved it.
FOOD: OK so I have to honest here - the breakfast was really very good. The food was fresh and service was good and the staff plesant. BUT.... it is hotel food. So at the end of the day - to eat out for dinner, we decided to dine away from the hotel. Not that their food was bad - but we were able to enjoy better traditional food and drinks for a much better price off resort.
Saying that - we did book the private dinner for our anniversary - this could not be faulted. The staff set up our table overlooking the beach at the front of our villa and we had a wonderful 4 course meal, wine and champagne, with outstanding service and a view to die for and all for under €150!
MY TIP: TIP THE STAFF! I lost count of the number of rude and vulgar people we encountered at the resort, people that clearly left their manners at home. (mostly German tourists! grr) Wages in Thailand are minimal and a small tip 20-50bht can go a long way and it greatly appreciated. Tipping is not required, but if you receive good service - then take the opportunity to tip that person. It is perhaps a personal thing - but I feel good service should be rewarded, never expected. (like in the US - where great service or not - you must tip)
Bugs - yes the bugs are around - head down the road outside the resort and grab yourself some mosquito coils, they work like a charm!
THE BAD: Forget the cooking course - it is more a cooking demonstration that a cooking course. Whilst you get to eat a huge amount of food and the head Chef was lovely - I love to cook - so this demonstration was just not my thing. For 1500 bht, its not a lot - but still I walked away somewhat disappointed.
Facials - they had a spa special, so I went for a deluxe facial - it was not bad - but it was not great either. It lacked the something special. For the special price it was OK - but if I had paid full price, then I would have been upset.
OVERALL: We loved out stay at Mukdara - the BeachVilla was a wonderful sanctuary and the perfect place to relax and unwind. The staff are attentive and friendly and whilst their English is limited - learn a few basic words in Thai, tip a little, relax and enjoy your stay. The location was good, the beach lovely - we did't care that the beach lounges were not ON the beach - (the beach in Thailand is public property by the way) so having the lounges on the resort property stops the harassment of sellers. But eat off resort, their are some great local places to eat - head down the beach and enjoy something at one of the huts on the beach or head off resort and enjoy (but beware) one of the many restaurants Khao Lak has to offer. If you are looking for good Thai food, we can recommend Nom's Family Restaurant and Khao Niau.
WOULD I GO BACK? Yes sure. I would stay here again, between Christmas and New Year the resort was very quiet so they had many specials. If you can travel outside of peak times - then its a great place to relax whilst getting a great deal.

Room Tip: If you can afford to splurge - then you can't go past the Beach Villa. The Garden Villas around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sherie1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at Mukdara the week before Christmas 2011. It is a fantastic place if you just want to relax and wind down. The beach is very clean and it was rather empty. There are plenty of beach chairs and you can relax conveniently within meters from the beautiful Andaman Sea. There are several swimming pools within the hotel complex. One of them is probably 50 meters. There is also an elevated smaller pool on top of one of the buildings next to the 50 m pool. We stayed in a regular room in the main building and it was great, with a big bathroom and a nice balcony. The staff is very friendly and service minded. The restaurant serves a wide variety of dishes. Try the pineapple with seafood or the red curry penang. There are a wide range of restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel. Our favorities became "The Beach" and "Chong-Fa Seafood", the latter serves excellent bbq squid. We also did a couple of excursions. We went snorkeling and diving at the Similan Islands. Nice boat trip. Diving was ok but way below our expectations. The corals and the marine life is pretty damaged and I do not believe that it is due to the Tsunami. There might be other sites that are better. I also went to the Khao Lak National Park. A nice walk in the forest and along the beaches, that I could really recommend. Local taxi from the hotel to the NP is 250 bh. We paid 1200 bh to the airport. Mukdara is within walking distance to the market that is open sat, mon and wed. Lots of clothes and local handicraft. We paid 6200 bh for three people staying with extra bed in one room. Breakfast included. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed in Mukdara as a couple for the new year's eve and around (2010/2011). The resort is big enough to allow for an enjoyable vacation.

The hotel location is very good in Khao Lak, within walking distance from many good bars and restaurants (don't miss the Italian cuisine there). Free parking is available so we had no issue in parking our rented car there.

We had some hot water problem in the room and the reception staff were kind enough to change our room promptly and to upgrade our stay to a villa without any extra charge.

The room was just standard and adequate if you are planning to stay outdoor and have the hotel as a sleeping base. Otherwise, the villa is the one made for relaxation. Gardens are beautiful and well taken care of.

Two swimming pools and we enjoyed the inner one a lot since it was not that crowded; the bar on the pool is OK. Gym is nearby the pool and it was horrible by all means, location, ventilation, equipment, and everything. We didn't see anyone using it anyway.

Beach is great; sandy, clean and in good shape. Sunbathing beds are available but will be taken from early in the morning (guests used to book them early in the morning even before they go to breakfast), unfortunately we didn't have the chance to use one.

Breakfast is good but coffee was not that good.

New year's eve was very nice indeed, they managed to cope with the changing weather conditions without any real problem. It was planned to have the whole event outdoor on the beach, then it started raining heavily before they start, so we moved indoors to the convention center that was big enough to accommodate everybody on tables very comfortably, then rain stopped, and we moved out again. Food was rich and plenty. The program was amusing; we (and seems all of the others) enjoyed the lantern thing the most. Flying lanterns is a tradition there and the view of thousands of lanterns flying from the beach heading to the sky from this resort and all others on the coastline was just amazing and if only for this, it is worth it.

During our stay, the resort seemed to be very popular for mature German touristic groups, but I cannot tell if this is the case always or only in the new year festive.

English communication outside the very standard few words used in all hotels was a bit of challenge for us at the reception and in the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you are after beach and outdoor activities, then standard room is OK, otherwise go for the villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haytham_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

It was really worth the money we spent. Good location in Khao Lak, many local restaurants nearby. Nice beach front. Would like to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teaforyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

By Agoda, I had a price at $87,00/night. So the reviews is base on that price. If your budget is $200 00/us, well maybe there is better!

In my case, it was really a good deal! The picture I added was taked while writing the review in the lobby. The view at breakfast is the other picture, life is hard... Service is great, internet in room awful... This is why I am in the lobby! The swimming is so big!!! Nice music, fountains.... So relaxing! Breakfast is included from lemongrass fish to egg benedictine with italian salami. A wide variety!!!

So, i couldn't be happier!!!!

And well located!!!!
enjoy!!!

Room Tip: All good and honeymoon suite have sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapequenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#13 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 68 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.3 mi away
Sudala Beach Resort
Sudala Beach Resort
#53 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort

Property: Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort
Address: 67/179 Moo 5 Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#25 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#27 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#33 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mukdara Beach Villa Hotel Khao Lak
Mukdara Beach Hotel
Mukdara Beach Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing