We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed 11th - 25th Jan. We arrived quite late, so after a shower, we went to the hotel restaurant for dinner. Was very suprised to find that the food was excellent quality and reasonably priced. The beers were a little pricey compared to everywhere else, but still cheap compared to England! There is a hotel next door with an excellent restaurant which is about half the price though and we ate there a few times. Also, along the beautiful beach (to the left) is Lay's Restaurant. Again, excellent food at very good prices. (Try the calamari, £2 for a massive dish). The hotel was very a good size, with a nice big pool and a smaller adult pool. The adult pool was always very quite and very relaxing, I felt that the rooms could do with a lick of paint in places, but overall very comfortable. We were on the top floor, where the rooms are a bigger size and I would recommend paying slightly more for these. Very good breakfast, with different Thai dishes available daily. The hotel staff were all very nice and spoke English well. Also, the day trips on offer, the mopeds for hire and the massages at the spa were all the same price as outside the hotel. A free shuttle goes into town at certain times of the day, otherwise pay £2 and you can go in on the hour. I felt it was a good location, due to being just far away from all the other resorts and because of this, the beach was much quieter and I also felt the best restaurants were in the surrounding area too.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are bigger and quieter than the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    142
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
148
251
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I warn you now this is a long review!
This hotel is beautiful. It is about 10 minutes outside of central khao lak, but the hotel has a shuttle service that runs to and from regularly.
The grounds of the hotel are very big, with large swimming pool in the centre, as well as sun beds on a large grass area and adults only pool. The beach at the hotel is beautiful (much, much nicer than the centre) and very quiet due to the location.
The room we decided on was the orchid deluxe room and it was lovely. A very large double bed, seating area, balcony, and tv, fridge, safety box etc. The hotel provided beach bag with mats, slippers and dressing gowns in the room for our use also. Rooms were cleaned daily, with towels and beach towels replaced if you needed them doing.
Breakfast had a varied choice, and had most things the same everyday (fruit, cereals, breads, cheeses, cold meats) with a different choice of hot foods on offer each day. There was also the egg station where you could get boiled eggs or an omelette made for you.
With our package we had 3 meals at the hotel restaurant, and the food here was excellent. The prices here are reasonable considering it is a hotel restaurant.

Now to talk about the wedding :)
When we arrived we were greeted by Jirasak the hotel Manager and asked to meet him later on to discuss the wedding. He confirmed the details of what we wanted, times etc and gave us menus for our guests to decide what they wanted to eat. Both himself and a lady called Nok were brilliant.
On the wedding day itself, we were upgraded to a jacuzzi suite and the girls got ready in there while the boys use our old room. We had our hair and make up done while our photographer started catching our special day on film. Nok was there again to keep time and let us know where we were going etc. we made our way to the beach and the flowers and wedding arch were amazing. Once the ceremony was over we had a meal on the beach and once again the food was delicious. The wedding cake was simple yet beautiful and very yummy!! Once we went back to our room, we found the staff had decorated the threshold and laid flower petals out and ran a jacuzzi bath for us with flower petals in - very romantic and a lovely touch.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, and especially so if you're looking for somewhere beautiful to get married.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miss_renegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Orchid 10th-16th January 2014. This was a fantastic resort with very helpful staff. We had a room in the Orchid wing on the first floor and the room was lovely- very spacious and comfortable with a nice bathroom. The little things which added to a great stay were the beach bag in the room for your use, beach towels (changed every evening), beach mats, flip flops, robes and slippers. The beach was beautiful, with a couple of beach bars further up the beach. The hotel restaurant had excellent food and we had booked a package which included various meals which turned out to be great value. The only downside to the stay was if you wanted to use the gym, it had very tired equipment and was very basic. The had some massages in the grounds and our daughter had her hair braided which was good value. Overall a lovely hotel where we would definitely return to.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank inspectordaybreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort is one of the most finest resorts I've ever stayed in. The rooms a wonderfull, very comfortable beds, all facilities that you need, the staff is very friendly and whenever you ask them anything, they will run for you and arrange everything for you. We celebrated New Year's Eve at the OBR, what a great party, big thumbs up.
I definately recommend this resort!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoledh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My boyfriend and I had 6 nights at the Khao Lak resort after a couple of weeks of travelling. This was the perfect place to rest, our room overlooked the pool, beach and stunning coast line, was clean and well looked after and we enjoyed the beautiful sunsets from our balcony.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the pool, which served great food and drinks, breakfast was fantastic with a good variety and the evening restaurant had a really nice romantic atmosphere.

The provate beach was quiet, relaxing and sometimes felt like you had it to yourself.

Great shuttle bus into town, which was either free or 50 baht each, so not a complete rip off. We got motorbikes and explored KhaoLak a little, its a great place to visit quite upmarket and attracts a crowd more suitable for families and couples.

I would definitely stay here again, it was a little sloce of paradise and reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stabekk
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel is very nice with location just by the beautiful beach. The staff is very nice and friendly, and the food is generally good. We celebrated Christmas and New Years Eve there, and they arranged fantastic parties for all the guests.
Be aware though to avoid rooms at ground floor level, the smell there was very unpleasant. This was fixed when we moved to second floor.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor. Very bad smell in all three ground floor rooms we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsVaaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
292 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Staying here for about 7 nights. Had to come here after we saw the hotel we booked in the first place. And all I can say is it was totally worth it!

- Very beautiful and very cozy
- Staff is friendly and nice
- Rooms are clean, big and very cozy
- Pool area is great and very practical - pools for people with kids and adults only
- Sea is 20m walk and has a lot of seats provided from the hotel
- Breakfast is wide
- Shuttle goes 2 times / day
- Services work very well
- Value for your money is great here!!

We will definitely come back here if we visit Khao Lak again and we totally recommend this to couples or families.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prkl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
5.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 66 in Khao Lak
716 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Haven Khao Lak
The Haven Khao Lak
#16 of 66 in Khao Lak
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
2.5 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
3.5 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Property: Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
Address: 61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Khao Lak
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3+ Star resort is located on the long Khuk Khak Beach in Khao Lak, run by the local family from Takuapa. We are 10 mins by shuttle bus to Khao Lak Center. The shuttle bus run every hour in the evening (2 times a day free of charge, other time costs 50 Baht/Person/Way) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Orchid Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Orchid Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing