We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sarojin
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Ickenham Middx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Sarojin - the last time being around 3 years ago. We stayed for 11 nights in March and on returning found it it to be generally as wonderful as last time with perhaps a few more signs of wear and tear in a few places.

The staff were as friendly and helpful as ever and it is still a great place to relax either on the beach, by the pool or relaxing in the sala that is provided outside of each room. The rooms are generally quiet and quite seclude. We stayed in a garden room which was well appointed and had almost everything that you might want. We used the spa on 3 instances and fond it to be very good and the staff to be very friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurants each evening and found the food to be very good. The edge restaurant in particular is a great place to eat - although it is best to book a table as it is very popular now.

Negatives would be a pool which while perfectly useable is beginning to show some signs of wear and could probably do with taking out of action for a week or two to replace broken tiles - although there seems to be an attempt to make repairs while it is still in use. Being picky it would also be nice to have an iPod doc attached to the music centre in the room as the range of cd's is limited & the standard of English spoken is not as good as the previous time we stayed which can cause some confusion when ordering meals.


Overall though the staff are wonderfully friendly and inviting and it is just a great place to relax. If you get the urge to do something more active the hotel offer a variety of activities and excursions using their own guides, cars, boats etc. I have only marked it down on value as it is no longer as competitively priced as it once was due to the fall in the balue of the pound. We are definitely looking forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandNGarbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,368
    172
    47
    37
    18
See reviews for
113
1,307
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We had a fantastic 10 nights at The Sarojin and it was difficult to find fault with anything here. Highlights of our stay were:

- Great choice of food at breakfast
- 2 excellent restaurants with an extensive wine list
- Private beach with great swimming and unlimited cold drinking water served by the staff
- Snorkelling at the Similan Islands from 'Lady Sarojin'
- Half day trip to Phang Nga Bay (James Bond Island)
- Thai massage at the Spa (and aloe vera wrap for sunburn!)

The staff go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We had told the hotel in advance of a food allergy and it was clear that both restaurants had been well informed of this and there was never a problem during the entire stay.

In response to some of the earlier negative comments that have been made:

- Atmosphere. The atmosphere was great, everyone extremely welcoming and friendly. It is certainly not the place to come for all night parties but that is not what this hotel is about.
- Beaches. The Sarojins beach is quite small but so is the number of guests so never felt crowded. One of the neighboring beaches is public (and busier) but this was never a problem for us.
- Price of excursions. You can arrange similar trips close by at a lower cost but as always, you get what you pay for and the 'royal treatment' you get when booking with The Sarojin was well worth it (private guide, driver, food, refreshments etc)
- TV's. All rooms now have flat screen TV's (although we never switched ours on once)

All in all, a great place for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room and given the close proximity to the swimming pool and beach would probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonandVib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This was the last hotel of our 2 week trip to Thailand and it was far and away the best. Beautiful grounds, great pool, fantastic rooms, friendly and attentive staff, the best food we had anywhere. Even the little touches are there, like the bath filled with flower petals on arrival and the little gifts left on the pillows every evening made of woven leaf strips.

The hotel has a dedicated excursions staff ("Imagineering"), if it could be done they would arrange it, from scuba diving to private candle lit waterfall dining with your own chef. They have a large selection of suggested activities, or just tell them what you want. The Sarojin has their own fleet of private cars (all modern and well maintained by the look of them), you get your own private tour, rather than 50 of you in the same bus, so it goes at your own pace. There were so many tours we wanted to do, but budget and time were against us, however it's a perfect excuse to go back to the Sarojin again, and we definitely will.

Highly recommend the sunset tour on the hotels own yacht, an experience not to be missed or ever forgotten.

Room Tip: One tip, due to circumstances we stayed 2 nights in one of the the "standard" villas, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Dreaming about The Sarojin, wishing we were still there. We had an amazing 18 night stay in February celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary arriving as tourists and leaving as friends.

It is a truly the wonderful place that the previous reviews describe. My husband is normally against returning to places for holidays but this time its different we would both return to the Sarojin like a shot.
The Staff are amazing, helpful, kind and courteous without being obsequious.

In particular we enjoyed:

The all day breakfasts.
Wonderful food.
Our beautiful room and how well it was looked after, we loved the towel animals.
The Pool and the Beach both with iced drinks and cold towels.
A trip on the Lady Sarojin to the Similan Islands, well worth the cost.
Cycling to Cape Pakarang on the hotel bikes in the early mornings observing the local flora and fauna.
Cycling to Wat Khomniyaket, Khuekkhak and wondering round the wonderful buildings.
An evening BBQ on the beach and letting of a wish lantern by the sea.
Elephant riding and a trip on a pleat boat both attended by a member of hotel staff who ensured our comfort and safety.
Sailing on the dinghy and Hobby cat with the help of Au.
Massages at the Pathways Spa
The excellent informative tour of the garden .
Good wi fi in our room.

Perhaps best of all though was sitting reading, or eating from the superb room servise menu in the evening in the Sala of our Garden residence with the sounds of birds crickets and frogs entertaining us.

I would recommend The Sarojin to anyone who would like a luxurious break in an amazing setting being looked after by gentle genuine people.

Room Tip: We had a garden room 605 near the pool which was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloudlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We walked into our room to see flowers floating in a bathtub for 2 surrounded by glowing candles and chilled champagne. How could we resist champagne for dinner in the tub? The next night our patio was lit with 100 candles and a private chef cooked us the 'steamboat' dinner- delicious and romantic.
Most amazing was the waterfall private dinner which is at the top of romantic moments anywhere. Imagine 300 candles lighting the way up a path to a table set for 2 next to a 40' waterfall, Your private chef and server prepare you a wonderful dinner while you sip wine. This is all part of the luxury romantic package at the Sarojin which we highly recommend. (We got the package including all of the above through Kay Tran at vExplore Tours).
The beach is a couple miles long with white sand and very warm, though somewhat murky, water is great for long walks. The real pull of the Sarojin however is its Zen-like atmosphere, huge infinity pool with day-beds, excellent food, and incredible service (if you sit anywhere glasses of ice water appear within minutes and probably cold towels and fruit soon after). Free mountain bikes with maps await you at all times and going to the waterfall through the rubber tree farms (easy fairly flat 25 minute bike ride) is a must, especially before 8am so you can spend a couple hours alone before anyone else arrives.
The extensive breakfast with bubbly wine is available any time before 6pm, so it is easy to have this for brunch and live happily on 2 meals a day. Your room is stocked with fresh fruit and chips every day, as well as plenty of coffee for your French press. If you are looking for romance, relaxation and memories that will alst a lifetime the Sarojin is perfect.
There are many activities in the nearby national parks that can be arranged by the hotel or by Khoa Lak Land Discovery for a cheaper price. On your way to the Sarojin, spend one day on the Yellow Canoes in Phang Nga Bay near Phuket airport - your guide does the paddling and you do the 'ohs and ahs' through the beautiful karst landscape of caves and lagoons. This group has a very good lunch on the boat as part of the 8-4 adventure (www.seacanoe.net).

Room Tip: close to the beach is also close to the pool [room 705]
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoiFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Having booked our hotel last year for FEB.2012 I was rather alarmed by some of the negative reviews of this hotel. My wife and I thus went with a very open mind. Our minds were put at rest having been extricated from the throngs of people at Phuket airport by our driver carrying a large sign saying SAROJIN and an easy 1 hour drive to the hotel during which we were treated to cold towels and drinks. We had a very warm welcome at the hotel, and throughout our 2 week stay including an anniversary,we experienced very friendly, helpful and considerate service from all the staff.
Our accomodation was excellent and the servicing of our room was the best we have ever experienced anywhere and this includes the wonderful animal sculptures with towels!!
Our highlights were perhaps our Thai cooking lesson with Khun Dang and the sunset cruise with a great crew and fantastic nibbles and cocktails.

This is a wonderful and relaxing hotel for couples.

Our only niggle would be the small taxi shuttle charge to travel into the local town which, for such a "qualiy hotel", I feel could have been absorbed elsewhere but this was a minor point in such a super holiday. It is a holiday and hotel that we would recommend and repeat without any hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinnersPoole_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have just returned from a marvellous 10 days at the Sarojin. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and the peace and quiet and general calm was so refreshing. We enjoyed a number of activities - some free, such as the Garden tour, taking the catamaran out and the bike rides and some we paid for. In all cases everything was above and beyond what we expected.
The wonderful sunset cruise was good fun and very romantic. The whitewater rafting was fantastic and we were so well looked after. We also did the fruit carving which was great and we are very proud of our aprons and knives!
The food is good but in particular, we would recommend the special evenings such as the beach BBQ and the Bahrain to Bali.
If we get a chance, we will definately be back,

Room Tip: We chose a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theforsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
514 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#2 of 66 in Khao Lak
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 66 in Khao Lak
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
1.3 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#11 of 66 in Khao Lak
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Property: The Sarojin
Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Destinology, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing