We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious tranquility....”
Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sarojin
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Upon arrival at the Phuket airport,iIt was a pleasure to see The Sarojin sign held high above the throngs of people at the airport - the first sign of the high level of service that we were to experience at The Sarojin. You should always book the transportation with Sarojin since it puts you immediately into the relaxing mood that is to come. The rooms are really luxurious but the bathrooms are the most incredible that we have ever seen. Most luxury resorts have a shower and a large tub. But the entire bathing experience was transformed in what The Sarojin has created. Not only a regular shower and a seperate rain shower and an incredibly large stone tub that had flowers floating in it for our arrival. And the whole setting and decor of the bathroom area was so imaginative! You have to see it to believe it!! The food and beverage was superb throughout our stay. We did not leave the resort to try any place else since the creative theme nights at the beach restaurant were too enticing. The pool is an incredible size and perfect for relaxing or doing a few laps, if so desired. The activities they offer are many but we went for complete relaxation and achieved it at the resort. The staff are so accommodating, friendly, wanting to please from the driver at our arrival to the reception staff, F&B staff, driver on departure - all fabulous. Our only disappointment was that it rained on the night we had booked the dinner for 2 in the jungle in front of the waterfall and the other nights were booked during our stay. So we will have to come back to have that experience!!

Room Tip: I think any room/suite you book will be wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at The Sarojin during February to celebrate my wife's birthday. This was our first visit. Booking the hotel's car to collect us from the airpoirt was a great idea and highly recommended. The exemplary service expereince starts the minute you meet the driver and this continues throughout your trip.

We had a garden room close to the main restaurant and found it to be perfect for us. All day breakfast is a treat as is the range of food on offer, which is all cooked to perfection and served by wonderful staff who are engaging but not intrusive. A delicate skill that can be hard to get right.

We also wanted to go scuba diving and found several dive companies in Khao Lak. We used two companies; the second Big Blue, the better of the two after the boat from the first dive group taking us to the Similan Islands broke down half an hour out of dock. Actually, we were glad as there were just too many divers on board for our liking. In contrast, Big Blue diving took us by fast speed boat to Richelieu Rock where we were lucky to see two Sea Horses - a magical dive which never seemed too busy.

We used the hotel restarants at all tmes and were never tempted to eat anywhere else; the food and wine choice suited us perfectly. Attention to detail stretches to cold drinking water delivered all day to your lounger on the private beach. Perfect.

Some evenings have entertainment at additional cost - this is well worth it - Valentines night for example is enjoyed with supper on the beach; the hotel staff move all the table and the restaurant onto the beach for amagical setting. It was really stunning. Another with local dancers - all very tasteful.

We will return to The Sarojin - partly because of the luxury, partly becaise we simply felt so totally relaxed in such a sort period of time ( there is full wi-fi in all the rooms so one can still stay in touch if the need arises) and partly because they just make it so easy to have a great time.

Overall, a highly recommended place to stay.

CCW, Hong Kong

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claridgeware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stepped through the large black door into paradise . We had come from a 4star hotel in Ko Lanta which was awful spoiling our first days of rest after travelling for 2weeks ........ but this place really is beautiful and all the stress disappeared as we were welcomed by the manager who was lovely, presented with a spray of orchids and a soothing drink we sat down over looking a pool of water lilies and flowers and knew we had found the most magical place

Nothing is too much trouble , the staff are delightful, the breakfast amazing, served from 6am to 6pm . One night we took a late breakfast in the restaurant ,which is surrounded by water and built around an ancient tree, and sipping the complimentary champagne thats always served the most glorious food we just wished we had more time at this tranquil place.
Our room was so peaceful and clean,tthe bathroom with a fantastic rain shower, well I could have stayed under that for hours !! My only slight disappointment was in the brochure our suite looked private but there was a suite above us so sunbathing in your own garden by your pool is not private. So opt for a top suite ( more expensive) but we were beach bums anyway so did not really mind.

The beach is private and as soon as we arrived we were greeted with smiles escorted to our sunbeds covered in fluffy white towels and given a refeshing drink.......
You must see Dan who organises the Lady Sarojin cruise with open bar , gourmet food & champagne flows freely. We snorkled, swam and this boat is luxury, the crew brilliant and was a perfect end to our stay.

Thank you Sarojin for the most relaxing stay ... we will return soon to this little corner of paradise.
Jan & Mark

Room Tip: We had a corner suite with a pool. the suite above can look down on you . but as we spent most of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janicemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Sarojin - the last time being around 3 years ago. We stayed for 11 nights in March and on returning found it it to be generally as wonderful as last time with perhaps a few more signs of wear and tear in a few places.

The staff were as friendly and helpful as ever and it is still a great place to relax either on the beach, by the pool or relaxing in the sala that is provided outside of each room. The rooms are generally quiet and quite seclude. We stayed in a garden room which was well appointed and had almost everything that you might want. We used the spa on 3 instances and fond it to be very good and the staff to be very friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurants each evening and found the food to be very good. The edge restaurant in particular is a great place to eat - although it is best to book a table as it is very popular now.

Negatives would be a pool which while perfectly useable is beginning to show some signs of wear and could probably do with taking out of action for a week or two to replace broken tiles - although there seems to be an attempt to make repairs while it is still in use. Being picky it would also be nice to have an iPod doc attached to the music centre in the room as the range of cd's is limited & the standard of English spoken is not as good as the previous time we stayed which can cause some confusion when ordering meals.


Overall though the staff are wonderfully friendly and inviting and it is just a great place to relax. If you get the urge to do something more active the hotel offer a variety of activities and excursions using their own guides, cars, boats etc. I have only marked it down on value as it is no longer as competitively priced as it once was due to the fall in the balue of the pound. We are definitely looking forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandNGarbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We had a fantastic 10 nights at The Sarojin and it was difficult to find fault with anything here. Highlights of our stay were:

- Great choice of food at breakfast
- 2 excellent restaurants with an extensive wine list
- Private beach with great swimming and unlimited cold drinking water served by the staff
- Snorkelling at the Similan Islands from 'Lady Sarojin'
- Half day trip to Phang Nga Bay (James Bond Island)
- Thai massage at the Spa (and aloe vera wrap for sunburn!)

The staff go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We had told the hotel in advance of a food allergy and it was clear that both restaurants had been well informed of this and there was never a problem during the entire stay.

In response to some of the earlier negative comments that have been made:

- Atmosphere. The atmosphere was great, everyone extremely welcoming and friendly. It is certainly not the place to come for all night parties but that is not what this hotel is about.
- Beaches. The Sarojins beach is quite small but so is the number of guests so never felt crowded. One of the neighboring beaches is public (and busier) but this was never a problem for us.
- Price of excursions. You can arrange similar trips close by at a lower cost but as always, you get what you pay for and the 'royal treatment' you get when booking with The Sarojin was well worth it (private guide, driver, food, refreshments etc)
- TV's. All rooms now have flat screen TV's (although we never switched ours on once)

All in all, a great place for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room and given the close proximity to the swimming pool and beach would probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonandVib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This was the last hotel of our 2 week trip to Thailand and it was far and away the best. Beautiful grounds, great pool, fantastic rooms, friendly and attentive staff, the best food we had anywhere. Even the little touches are there, like the bath filled with flower petals on arrival and the little gifts left on the pillows every evening made of woven leaf strips.

The hotel has a dedicated excursions staff ("Imagineering"), if it could be done they would arrange it, from scuba diving to private candle lit waterfall dining with your own chef. They have a large selection of suggested activities, or just tell them what you want. The Sarojin has their own fleet of private cars (all modern and well maintained by the look of them), you get your own private tour, rather than 50 of you in the same bus, so it goes at your own pace. There were so many tours we wanted to do, but budget and time were against us, however it's a perfect excuse to go back to the Sarojin again, and we definitely will.

Highly recommend the sunset tour on the hotels own yacht, an experience not to be missed or ever forgotten.

Room Tip: One tip, due to circumstances we stayed 2 nights in one of the the "standard" villas, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Dreaming about The Sarojin, wishing we were still there. We had an amazing 18 night stay in February celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary arriving as tourists and leaving as friends.

It is a truly the wonderful place that the previous reviews describe. My husband is normally against returning to places for holidays but this time its different we would both return to the Sarojin like a shot.
The Staff are amazing, helpful, kind and courteous without being obsequious.

In particular we enjoyed:

The all day breakfasts.
Wonderful food.
Our beautiful room and how well it was looked after, we loved the towel animals.
The Pool and the Beach both with iced drinks and cold towels.
A trip on the Lady Sarojin to the Similan Islands, well worth the cost.
Cycling to Cape Pakarang on the hotel bikes in the early mornings observing the local flora and fauna.
Cycling to Wat Khomniyaket, Khuekkhak and wondering round the wonderful buildings.
An evening BBQ on the beach and letting of a wish lantern by the sea.
Elephant riding and a trip on a pleat boat both attended by a member of hotel staff who ensured our comfort and safety.
Sailing on the dinghy and Hobby cat with the help of Au.
Massages at the Pathways Spa
The excellent informative tour of the garden .
Good wi fi in our room.

Perhaps best of all though was sitting reading, or eating from the superb room servise menu in the evening in the Sala of our Garden residence with the sounds of birds crickets and frogs entertaining us.

I would recommend The Sarojin to anyone who would like a luxurious break in an amazing setting being looked after by gentle genuine people.

Room Tip: We had a garden room 605 near the pool which was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
574 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#4 of 70 in Khao Lak
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 70 in Khao Lak
899 reviews
6 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
1.3 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#18 of 70 in Khao Lak
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: £139 - £526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing