We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection... this is a very special place”
Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sarojin
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed at the Sarojin for our honeymoon in November 2011. The hotel and service is absolutely amazing - from start to finish. Arriving at the airport we were greeted by the car with plentiful beer and cold towels.. the start of the relaxing, luxurious atmosphere the staff at the Sarojin create. Extras such as the Lady Sarojin speed boat, a la carte breakfast set this hotel apart and make it a perfect honeymoon destination. Having been to Asia (and Thailand) before we expected to use the hotel as a 'base' and eat in local restaurants and book trips outside the hotel. Infact we never left the hotel! It was just so perfect and worth every penny!

Accomodation is pure luxury: We stayed in the pool villa - we highly recommend this villa. We had a look round other villas as well - and the pool villa with the sala is perfect for relaxing and keeping out of the sun. There are lots of extra special touchs in the room to make it extra special.

The staff: are fantastic and so genuine. They will bend over backwards to make your stay special and it really feels like they want to make you welcome/part of the family for your stay. Dawid (the imagineer) adds that extra bit of fun to your stay - a big thanks for making our stay so memorable with the amazing trips you have planned.

The trips: are worth every single penny! Lady Sarojin (the speedboat) is so much fun. We did the snorkelling trip to Similan Islands. The full day trip included a very special lunch on the beach - an example of how the Sarojin always go one step more setting up a dining table with tablecloths/wine glasses etc on the beach. We also did the cocktail sunset cruise which is a taste of paradise, the wine tasting with Dawid which was great fun. The best trip for us though was the cookery class on the river bank - we took pleat boats up the river (one each so we could race each other!) to the market and then to the riverbank where we learnt the tricks of the Thai restaurant. Superb food and we had our own chef from the Sarojin escorting us and up to 5 people looking after us at one point. A very special trip and well worth doing if you love great food.

The food: was so tasty! We never usually eat in the hotel preferring to venture out to local restaurants. However the food at the Sarojin was great - and a choice between Thai or Med food. Both restaurants provide the perfect setting. Perhaps the only downside is the distance from the local town which put us off venturing far in the evening (about 20-30 minutes there and back in the car). Breakfast is an event in itself and as other reviews say is quite amazing and can double up as lunch too!

Overall we LOVED the Sarojin. This is a very special place and would recommend to anyone wanting a taste of luxury whilst still experiencing true Thailand.

Room Tip: We would highly recommend the pool villa. After seeing other rooms (some which are more expensive) t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan_and_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Sarojin in March after three days in Bankok. The suite, staff, grounds, pool, food, and attention to detail were amazing.We also met some great people from all over the world.It was our first experience of Thailand and it could not have been a btter experience.One of the highlights was a 'sunset cruise' on the hotel's boat out to a deserted island with cocktails and canapes.It was a fabulous contrast to the hustle and bustle of Bankok but we enjoyed a perfect, restfull holiday.Faultless.

Room Tip: Suites were amazing with a living area, bedroom, bathroom with two showers/bath and a balcony plunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dolly110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Having made a booking at the Sarojin we were concerned about a review on this site from mid April. Reading this review may help others in making their decision rather than being put off by a totally unfair review that we investigated during our recent visit.......
We flew in from Bangkok and were met by the Sarojin's driver who smoothly drove us to the hotel. In the car we were offered drinks and cold towels to freshen up which was most welcome after the journey down to Phuket. Six members of staff were waiting on the steps to greet us with flowers and aid us with a seamless check-in including the General Manager. A good start only made better when they all gathered round to sing happy birthday and present a cake having realised from documentation sent in advance that it was my birthday.
Room 701 was allocated and we were escorted through the stunning gardens to our pool suite to find our luggage already delivered to the room. Entrance into the suite revealed a beautiful private garden with a covered lounging area by the pool and a small terrace with table and chairs. The room was immaculately clean with fresh flowers and fruit plus the bath had been filled and had fresh tropical flowers scattered on the surface. Toiletries aplenty, a mini bar filled with wines and beers + soft drinks and my immediate request for tonics was swiftly met.
Having changed and showered we ventured down to The Edge to check out the beach and the Thai cuisine on offer. The beach was clean with many spare sun beds in pairs all laid out with clean towels x 2 for each bed and parasols for those that required the shade.
The welcome given by Wuth and Pleng was friendly and polite and it appeared that they knew who we were before giving our room number. An extensive Thai menu on offer with a good wine list offering a broad selection from all over the world at reasonable prices for a Thai hotel ( wines attract a 400% import duty which hoteliers cannot avoid) but expect to pay £30+ for wines. The food was probably the best Thai cuisine we have ever enjoyed and was always well presented and staff would always accommodate any dish not on the menu.
As it was also our wedding anniversary we had booked two packages in advance through Dawid. If your budget allows these were elements that made our holiday and leave us with such happy memories .......
Thai Cookery Class in the rain forest with the informative Sous Chef, Dang. A 9.00a.m. start venturing to the local market to choose spices and fresh ingredients for the lunch we were about to prepare as we had asked to go off the menu on offer which was adapted to our taste. We were then driven into the rain forest up to a waterfall to be greeted by the sight of trestle tables laid out with all the cooking implements and ingredients under the cool canopy of the rain forest. Dang patiently took us through 4 dishes that we prepared under her watchful eye and we learnt so much from her about dishes that we thought were going to be so difficult to prepare that we managed with surprising ease! All the time we were cooking wine and beers were consumed and we felt like budding Keith Floyd's in the making especially with the staff camera crew taking pictures on our cameras. Dang will undoubtedly go far as a chef and the Sarojin would be well advised to retain her for the future.
The Shipwrecked Package was something else and should definitely not be missed. A private powerboat with two crew collected us from the beach and wisked us off round the point with a glass of champagne in hand. After 30 minutes the boat took us into an estuary where at slow speed we were given more wine and the most fantastic spread of canapés as we ventured into the mangroves to see tropical birds and fish and even drifted in total peace on the tide with all engines off listening to the sound of nature. This was only the start of what was yet to come.....
We were then taken to a small island at the mouth of the estuary to be greeted by a sight we will never forget of a sand island laid out with chairs and cushions on the edge of the surf and a table prepared and set for dinner with candles and lanterns all over the island. Cocktails were served as we paddled our feet in the sea and our private chef started cooking the most fantastic dinner. Silver service whilst we watched the sun set and the sea lapped at our feet, perfection!!!
We could not fault any part of the Sarojin, the management and staff were at our beckoning call if needed but out of sight and sound when we wanted peace and quiet, a difficult balance to achieve but done with style.
We now come to the previous review which we did mention to some of the management on our last day and as they do not have the right to answer on this site we really feel that someone should so we have. We do not need to go into detail but suffice it to say that this can be answered in one line.....it says enough that these guests were asked to leave the hotel as they were awkward to the extreme and rude to staff. Perhaps their review should be taken down to save others being put off by such a spiteful review.
If you want perfection and paradise book into the Sarojin in the sure knowledge that the French "couple" will be ruining the reputation elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pool suites are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Richardms_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Sarojin for ten nights in March for our honeymoon. We can't fault the hotel, the staff were amazing, grounds beautiful, lovely pool and more. The hotel was in tropical grounds where all the rooms were tucked away, giving a feeling of total tranquility. Breakfast was amazing, with so much choice! We went on three trips organised by the hotel - you can get them for half the price locally, but it really was worth the extra as the trips were only for two people with your own guide and driver. The activity day was brilliant - white water rafting and quad biking! The sunset cocktail cruise was brilliant fun, with free flowing cocktails and canapés! The Similan islands trip was also well worth it for the incredible beaches and sea water as clear as a swimming pool. We went in to Khao Lak for the market and a meal, which was good, using the hotel shuttle. In terms of food, we ate at the Friendly Bar and the Boatyard most nights as the food was fantastic and really cheap - both just a 5-10min walk along the beach from the hotel and well worth it!
All in all an amazing hotel, we can't recommend the Sarojin highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YT1Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We have just returned from a trip to Thailand and stayed 10 nights at The Sarojin. What a lovely place,and such well kept grounds and villas. We had a Garden Villa and when we saw it were extremely pleased with the facilities it offered. A large king size bed, huge bathroom area, with two showers, one a rain water shower and a lovely bathtub which was filled and had flowers floating on our arrival. There was also a large desk area where you have free wifi and each day fresh fruit, bread and crisps are brought to the room. The selection in the mini bar, and bottles of wine and spirits for you to purchase in the room were again a nice touch. When you take the 360 degree tour on their own web site, that is exactly how the place is.
The two restaurants serve delicious food, presented beautifully and although some dishes quite expensive it was a joy to read through the large menus. We used the in room dining several evenings, and again the food was as good as eating in the restaurants
.There is a spa, again quite expensive looking at the price list, however on the beach, which is very close there are local excellent massages for 300 bt per hour. We made good use of them everyday. There are some small bars and restaurants on The White Sand Beach, but some were closing as it is coming to the end of the season.
The hotel has a stunning large swimming pool and jacuzzi and the pool boys are very attentive bringing ice cold water, complimentary fruit and other snacks, during the day.
We were here really to relax and that is exactly what we did. With no children under the age of 12 it is perfect for a "quiet" time, and looking at the guests there was a mixture of young(honeymoon couples) and the older age group. The staff couldn't be faulted and after the welcoming cocktail party to meet the staff it was good to feel that we were in a resort where the guest was a most important person. There is a shopwhich has a selection of goods as well as use of two computers, and again the staff bring you ice cold water and towels while you are at the computers.
A special thank you to Dawid for arranging our special adventure, we thoroughly enjoyed seeing the beauty of the countryside and the resort of Thanyamundra, it will be a memory for ever.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrfc169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I have just returned from a fantastic 8 night stay at the Sarojin with my Mum. First of all I have to comment on some of the recent reviews regarding the staff at the hotel which are so untrue. All staff at this hotel are all so lovely, helpful , kind, polite people. The room we stayed in was amazing (508). I have been to many hotels in Thailand the best one in Koh Lanta but this comes very close with the rooms being of a higher standard but only the location of this hotel is the only let down for me. Here are my good and bad point:-

Good
All day breakfast is a fantastic idea at this hotel it is great not to be tied to time limits when you are on holiday i.e. rushing to get there before 10.00 and finding it is busy- We are never really hungry first thing on a morning so we bought Mango (from Thailand it is amazing) from the locals and ate that for breakfast and then went for our brunch about 12.30 when you needed a break from the sun anyway. It goes without saying that the food and service was excellent

The rooms here are amazing we were lucky enough to stay in a suite which was enourmous but I'm sure all the other rooms will be designed just as beautiful.

Restaurant by the sea - Beautiful location, excellent staff, good food but drinks just a bit expensive

Beach - This is an amazing picturesque beach

Bad

The location for me was the only let down for me only for the fact that there wasn't anywhere to walk along the beach on an evening to find somewhere to eat which would mean having to get the shuttle (free by the hotel and ) into the centre which was a 15 min drive or eat in the hotel every night. There was a couple of restaurants to the right as you walked out onto the beach, one was closed down and the other stopped serving at 17.00 - This maybe because of the time of year we went maybe in peak season they stay open later.

I can't comment on the spa as we didn't go, in fact we don't usually go the hotel spa's as the massages on the beach (to the right of the hotel) are so much cheaper (300 baht) and just as good.

We did do the elephant trekking and bathing this was a fantastic trip especially the bathing with them it was a real experience. Thanks again to King who was a fanastic tour guide and a credit to the Sarojin.

It was my Birthday the day before we left how all the staff knew it was my Birthday I really don't know I lost count how many times I was wished Happy Birthday!. A chocolate cake which was delicous and flowers - Amazing!!

Thanks to all the staff at the Sarojin for a fantastic holiday

The Birdsall's

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoBYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

OK here goes........My first attempt at writing a review on Trip Advisor (feeling compelled after a fantastic 3 week honeymoon in SE Asia). My husband and I spent 8 nights at the Sarojin from the 19th to the 27th April 2012

The Positives........ Room (we booked a Suite)....Fantastic, spacious, 2 toilets!, private and the housekeeping department were exceptional... you would be amazed at how many people are involved with keeping the rooms so clean and ensuring that everything is perfect (even the gardeners get involved with ensuring all the plants/foliage are kept looking beautiful) The size of the rooms are enormous, no expensive spared, bathrooms fab...2 showers, large bath, double sink. The balcony was spacious 2 sun loungers, plunge pool and a table and chairs. On the privacy front - very private. Being curious/nosy by nature I wanted to test the privacy angle and really to overlook the pool residence's below you needed to balance on the edge of the plunge pool and peer right over....I'm pretty certain all suite residents would have much better things to do that that - so rest assured anyone thinking of staying in a pool residence your privacy will remain in tact.

Staff/Service - We found all staff to be very polite and helpful (i.e. no one was overbearing or pushy or wanting to chat for too long)...There were also plenty of staff at the hotel and we felt a real team spirit at the Sarojin. All staff spoke highly of the owners and seemed very happy to be working there. All staff spoke and ackowledged you as you passed by - again special comment to the gardeners and maintainence staff who all greeted everyone who passed. As guests you feel part of the hotel (remember only 56 rooms)...so a very different experience to checking into a hotel with hundreds of rooms and ringing reception where they really have no clue who you are. We used the laundry service a couple of times, again excellent service with washing picked up in minutes. We also used room service and again excellent service.

Pathways SPA .... It would be fair to say I've visited a few SPA's in my time and was very keen to keep up this trend. The Pathways SPA probably has the best treatment rooms in any hotel I've visited previously. Half inside, half outside, having a massage and listening to the wildlife in the trees was fantastic.

Pool - Fantastic - No wide angled lenses needed here - the Pool is massive and even when the hotel was full and the sun was out additional sun loungers were offered and sourced instantly from the beach. Fresh fruit and drinks regularly offered at the pool. (Actually the pool looks exactly like it does in the brochure..a rarity in itself)

Differentiating Factors....... Each time you visited reception for whatever reason you were given a drink and a nice cool towel, nice touch!....The bread and crisps refreshed each day in the room were a great idea and complimentary. Plenty of Sarojin water for all - 4 bottles a day left in the rooms. The All Day breakfast option.... Fantastic and a real plus........so feeling slightly hungover one day we missed breakfast as we had an earlyish start on a half day trip.... we got back to the hotel around 1.30pm and had the option of having a fantastic breakfast right up until 6pm. Management who listen.... as a traditional Brit we're not very comfortable complaining or providing feedback... the Sarojin listen and address any concerns or issues or questions you may have-they are interested in resolving and pleasing. The Sarojin Management team are Client Centric and aim to please so if you stay and want to question something speak to Dawid or Leisa (Both listen and help and you come away with the WOW factor).

Suggestions to achieve Perfection..........

Trips - Guests normally prefer to book their excursions with their hotel (saves trekking into town and finding an alternative provider)....all Sarojin excursions are very pricy in comparison to local offerings, we tried both and to be honest the difference was neglible the cost differential was big. Only my opinion but wouldn't it make sense to reevaluate the costs of the trips and increase the take up percentages making money for the hotel and giving great value to the guests. (A win win?)

Pathways SPA - Specials - Again as above the price of treatments was extremely high in comparison to local providers... another win win opportunity if specials were offered on quiet days.

On a positive note the In Room Thai Dining Experience and the meals on the beach appeared to be worth every penny! We enjoyed the Thai dining experience and it was exceptional.

So all in all a FANTASTIC hotel and stay. We would highly recommend -Thank-you Very Much
xxx

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the Ficus restuarant to avoid noise from the generator. We stayed in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
563 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 70 in Khao Lak
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: £150 - £540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing