We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sarojin Lifestyle”
Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sarojin
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Just returned from a holiday in Thailand. The Sarojin is a fabulous location for a special occasion - the grounds are magnificent. We arrived at night and the lights on the ponds were awe-inspiring. Accommodation was excellent, food gorgeous, and the pool large and welcoming. But is the attention to detail and the welcoming staff who make the holiday very special.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webvivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
There are newer reviews for The Sarojin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Sarojin and really enjoyed it. We stayed here previously in 2007 and 2008 and had very positive,fond memories of the hotel and Khao Lak so I was intrigued and a little apprehensive after reading some of the negative reviews posted here before we left.
To clarify there was no need for concern at all! We had a smooth pick up and check in, we were given the same suite as before as they remembered we liked it. There were all the little touches still, fresh flowers in the room, towels in shape of animals,snacks, house-keeping was very thorough throughout our stay. We enjoyed the tranquility of the pool and never had problems getting loungers at the beach. There was a little more foot traffic from Kantary next door to the other beach clubs but this was nothing to mention really. All the staff without exception were polite and courteous at all times. Breakfast was excellent quality and service was good. We only ate once at the Fiscus restaurant in the evening, it was fine but if I am honest the service needs a little bit of fine tuning for what you would expect at a 5 star resort. We also ate well at White Sand, Ao Thong, Rim lay restaurants all on the beach The Boat yard and Smiles. I had a pregnancy massage at the spa which was good but found it a little hot being outdoor and not air conditioned even though pleasant surroundings.
I really enjoyed our stay at the Sarojin, it is the perfect peaceful break away and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tabatha76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Our stay at the Sarojin was absolute perfection. For anyone who appreciates landscape architecture a stay here should not be missed. We found every vista gorgeous no matter which table we chose at the breakfast which was served in the Ficus restaurant in the middle of the property or no matter which poolside station we secured. The pool in itself is a delight for the eyes and it's our first stay at a hotel where we liked both the pool and the beach options.

The beach at Khao Lak is gorgeous and is one of the few undeveloped regions in Thailand that still offers long, barren stretches of beach for early morning and sunset walks. We've lived in Asia for nearly 8 years, two of those in Thailand, and Khao Lak and the Sarojin are our new favorite destinations. We previously always stayed at resorts in Krabi, but for beauty, service, design and overall comfort, the Sarojin/Khao Lak cannot be beat. We also had never stayed at a child-free resort, and the resulting tranquility was a welcomed surprise.

The service is top-notch, too. We stayed in a pool villa (501) and its was private, well laid-out and every possible whim or need already taken care of from extra bottles of water in the room to fresh towels at the turn-down service to placement of electrical outlets. The all-day breakfast option is also amazing, and the a la carte menu is a luxe step-up from often tired buffets offered at other five star resorts. My only suggestion to management would be that as tea-drinkers we would appreciate loose-leaf tea at breakfast.

We also opted for a private dinner on the beach for my husband's birthday and the layout and artistic thought put into everything was amazing. We dined by the sea surrounded by candles and even had a separate seating area for a private pre-dinner cocktail. The food throughout our stay was top-notch, and the spa ranked as my top spa experience to date in Thailand.

I'd highly recommend the Sarojin for honeymooners, babymooners and any couple or individual looking for a thoroughly relaxing vacation where not a single detail has been overlooked. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: The pool villas are amazing and I can only imagine how nice the suites must be. However, the garden...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ClaudioO859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We did not know what to expect give the mixed comments in Tripadvisor. The rooms and grounds are wonderful and the resort is very peaceful. Our suite was well designed and very comfortable except for the bed. The bed was rather hard and we found it uncomfortable. Also we asked for a sheet and blanket rather than the feather doona, duvet or comforter (why hotels use these in Asian countries is a mystery to us) and were simply given another non feather doona and told that was all there was. We ended up sleeping under the doona covers which I found a bit hot. At the rates Sarojin charge, sheets and blankets should be available and staff should understand what you are asking for. I suggest that a form be included in rooms setting out bedding options so there are no issues with language or that members of staff who do speak fluent English check that guests do have what they need once a guest has put in a request.
No views of the sea and beach except from the beach restaurant and beach itself. Great pool.
Food was mixed - great breakfasts and the food on the snorkelling trip and excursion to the National Park was great. Crab night was disappointing with BBQ fish overcooked and very small crabs and the tamarind fish on another night was also overcooked. Yet a salad nicoise from room service was terrific.
Snorkelling trip was fantastic - great crew and wonderful spots. We saw a turtle which was a highlight.
All in all it is a nice place but not quite as good as it should be. Interesting too that no feedback form was given to us on or before check out except for excursions - I would have been happy to have given feedback.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJHK, Owner at The Sarojin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Go55

Thank you for your comments and feedback.

It is disappointing to read that you found the bed not to your liking. Mattress softeners are available and these can be provided. Similarly. blankets and sheets are also kept for those guests that specifically request them. The housekeeping team has been re-briefed on this and I am sorry that you were not better managed or served in this regard.

The crab night seafood is cooked to order on charcoal barbecues and our team has reviewed timings for this with our executive chef. In general, Thais are extremely particular over the freshness and standard of cooking for seafood and as a result your comments were treated with the seriousness one would expect.

Rather than a questionnaire, that may be filled in at the time of departure and handed to a member of staff or passed to the GM, we (as owners) have always preferred to contact guests directly after their departure with an email follow up. The email is sent from both Kate and me. In my experience this is a very effective survey as guests seem to write more freely about their experience(s), the staff (including the GM) and the destination. The feedback is invariably very detailed, considered and as a result most useful to us. Primarily, as it is shared with the resort at a senior level and greatly assists the day to day focus on those areas that need a review or attention. Secondly, as it is also one criterion for the selection of our “Lady Sarojin” award winners – those staff that demonstrate the spirit of exceptional service and attention.

Should you wish to contact me directly with any additional feedback please do so to;

andrew.kemp at(substituted for symbol) sarojin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The resort is fairly small so it has a lovely boutique flavour. It is perfect for a couple's retreat OR for a single person wanting some rest and relaxation as it is a very private resort. The nearby town is a typical Thai holiday 'high street' full of sun-burnt Western tourists but there are a few hand-craft shops on the way to town that are worth stopping at. My advice is to stay in the resort and enjoy the facilities or explore the beach which is perfect for early morning walks. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The service is extremely friendly and attentive. It has the best (healthy) breakfast choice I've ever had and the most yummy home-made banana cake.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SummerDahlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We went to the Sarojin for our honeymoon so we were traveling with high expectations for a very special holiday. Not only were our expectations met but surpassed.

Our pool residence was beautifully designed, immaculately clean and full of little details that enhanced our stay. The service was exactly right, we were carefully looked after without intrusion. The staff seemed to genuinely care about us and our wishes.

The hotel grounds are exquisite and we greatly appreciated the tranquility. An early morning swim in the beautiful main pool listening to and watching the birds made exercise a pleasure.

All of the food was of a very high quality, made with the freshest of ingredients and the presentation always elegant. From the wealth of choices for breakfast, served with sparkling wine if you wished, lunch at the Edge Bar and dinner in the Ficus restaurant we were never disappointed. (We are very fussy about restaurant food so this is high praise from us)

We took several trips including the Smillian Island trip on the glamorous Lady Sarojin. They made a special detour so we could spend a time on one of the islands. Of all our guides particular thanks go to Jack who was so informative regarding many aspects of Thailand and Thai culture.

When we expressed an interest in a garden tour (we are plant-aholics) to Dawid we were treated to a very informative tour, a trip to the nursery and finished with teas and sweets made from the local flora.

We are very grateful to Dawid and his team for making our honeymoon so perfect and unforgettable for all the right reasons. Cally & John

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnCally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

if you want to relax and keep away form the crowd, this is your place.
Sarojin offers a good service, beautiful a spacious rooms facing amazing gardens, big swimming pool and a nice sandy beach. Everybody is very polite and helpful and the service is excellent.
Sarojin is a good place to cut off, however if you are looking for nightlife you better forget about it.
If you want to go to Khao Lak (not much to see but good for the typical Thai shopping evening), youll' have to catch a cab which costs you 300BTh per way.
On the beach of Sarojin yopull'find a few good restaurants who offer lunch or dinner (but not later than 10pm) for very reasonable prices

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flexyclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
552 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 70 in Khao Lak
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
0.1 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: £134 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing