We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful......”
Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sarojin
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Its almost annoying when you can't find anything to criticise in a review as it adds nothing to the other 5 star reviews but this place is absolutely deserving of all its praise. My husband and I stayed here at the tail end of our honeymoon for 7 days and found it incredibly difficult to leave. From the moment we were picked up at the hotel and greeted with a cold towel and drink and an ipad to listen to our choice of music I knew this was going to be a great hotel. The hotel is perfect for couples wanting a relaxed break, It literally feels like your one of a handful of guests, it is always perfectly serene even though we were there whilst the hotel was at max capacity, there were always sun loungers available by the pool and we were always able to get a seat at the restaurants without prior booking. We were upgraded prior to our arrival to a suite which is absolutely huge for 2 people. We loved the double showers and the balcony. The food was very good in both The Ficus and The edge restaurants, it was incredibly pricey however so we opted to eat out 2 of the 6 nights we were there, the breakfast at anytime option is just pure genius and the selection very wide. We borrowed bikes and rode to the nearby waterfall one day and also went on the snorkelling trip with the hotel to the Similan islands neither of us had snorkelled before whilst others had in our group but the guides were very professional and very patient and the pace was perfect, the lunch provided on the trip was excellent and we felt it was definitely worth the money. The hotel has a very beautiful beach but unfortunately whilst we were there they were no activites going on. What sets the hotel apart for me is the service, everyone from the waiters to the receptionists to the gardeners/maintenance people greet you with a sawadeekaa as you pass, and everyone seems genuinely eager to serve. We had a gecko in our room one night and called the front desk which sent someone immediately. After a few days the staff at the restaurants knew our room number, names and drinks which always does well to make a guest feel special. We went to 2 of the special themed dining nights the loi krathong night and the Asian night at the hotel which were both absolutely fabulous, there was an incredible variety of food and the entertainment was very enjoyable also.

To criticise is simply to nitpick but if I had to criticise something it would be the region restriction on the dvd player, it definitely sucks to get a dvd player in your room which only plays thai dvd's. We stayed at 3 other hotels across Thailand and this is the only hotel we encountered this (we were honeymoon so spent a lot of time in the room and I know this would have made it for my husband).

Room Tip: Go for the suite its absolutely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2londontravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Many hotels can have fantastic rooms, pools etc. but the real key to a perfect stay is in the people who work there. The Sarojin is one of these rare gems. Nothing is too much trouble, the food was the best we have eaten for a long time, the service impeccable. We were upgraded to a large suite which was of course very special, so we then splashed out on the signature massage at the Spa. A wonderfully relaxing 4-hands experience, and the staff stayed on an extra hour and a half after their closing time (8pm) to accomodate our time plan. Not even a hint of a problem, perfect.
To ALL who work there: Thank you so much and keep up the fantastic level of commitment!

Room Tip: First floor suite208 is very special indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeChemnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We had a perfect 2 weeks holiday in Thailand and Singapore. Out of the 14 nights, 3 were spent at the Sarojin and I can say with all my heart they were the highlight of our trip. Everything, from the moment we arrived at Phuket airport and greeted by smiling driver to our Garden Residence which was pure luxury or to our Similan Islands trip onboard Lady Sarojin was ... Like a dream.
The second night of our stay we were invited to the Management cocktail and Dawid told us they were close to 180 staff... A bigger number than that of actual tourists.
This is something you feel in the personalized service every moment.
The most brilliant idea ever was the all-day breakfast, because we usually don't make it...what's the point of getting up early on holiday??? And the breakfast at Sarojin is not to be missed... Everything is tasty and fresh, sparkling wine is freely flowing... The works.
The trip to Similan Islands was the highlight of the trip, Jack and the reat of the crew were great, we were about 10 persons on the boat and the atmosphere was great.
The last day we spent at the Spa- again a wonderful experience.
Dinners were at the Edge- great restaurant by the beach with tasty Thai food and one evening we jooned the Asian night by the Lotus pond, near the breakfast Ficus restaurant. They prepared Asian cooking stations and live entertainment which were excellent.
We will come back, for sure, for a longer stay as 3 nights were not enough. If you want a personalized service, great room, beautiful sights and ... Feeling pampered- go to Sarojin!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank extramona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights in our 10 day trip of Thailand. While it was one of the more pricey places we stayed at it was one of the highlights of our trip!

From the moment we arrived we were treated to pure luxury - the staff were wonderful. While we arrived earlier than what the hotel had expected, this was no drama and we were offered a free upgrade to the Sarojin Suite. We had wanted the pool residence but after having a look at both the Suite as the way to go. It was simply giant, by the far the biggest resort/hotel room I have ever stayed in, and was much more private than the other rooms.

We splurged a bit here. We got some spa treatments done (which was well worth it, probably the best and most relaxing spa I have ever been to) and got plenty of room service (the food was fantastic).

We also booked the 'Three Temple Tour' which was well worth it. While pricey, we got a private tour to three buddhist temples, one where we got to fed monkeys. Mid-way through there was a privately cooked lunch in the bush which which lovely. We had wanted to go to Phuket on this day too to our next hotel, and instead of going back to the resort it was organised that they would drop us at our next resort as part of the tour which was wonderful!

For those people who say this resort lacks atmosphere, I wholeheartedly disagree. It has a different kind of atmosphere to your typical busy resort.. its much more private, tranquil and spread out. You feel away from everything.

If you can afford it - I would definitely recommend this place, it is wonderful. Even so, what we got for the price considering was amazing - you'd be paying probably 5x more in Australia for this kind of accommodation than here!

Room Tip: I'd go for the Sarojin Suite - so much more private and it is HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband wanted to start our honeymoon with a surprise stay at The Sarojin. This place was so perfect it lifted me up to cloud nine. The staff are very professional, extremely polite and helpful beyond belief. The experience started by an airport pick-up in a crisp white limousine/SUV where cold perfume-infused hand towels and water awaited us. The car ride included internet access on an iPad and a music selection to listen to.

At the reception desk, we were pampered and treated like royalty. More towels and water and a breathtaking room, an upgrade for our honeymoon. The bed was decorated with flowers as well as the private tub on our terrace. The hotel also had a gorgeous pool and access to the beach with bar service. Everything exuded perfection and attention to detail.This hotel is set in a large property with lush vegetation and a very appeasing and secluded atmosphere. The included à-la-carte breakfast offered a variety of delicious food as well as complimentary juices and sparkling wine.

Writing this review, I have a pang of longing to return. It has truly made our honeymoon an unforgettable experience.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Super hotel located in a tropical garden where all details are taking care of with taste and elegance. The entrance patio where you check in give you immediately the atmosphere of quietness and peaceful created by the design and the mix between water and nature. Garden is outstandingly maintained, there is a bataillon of gardeners maintaining the site in perfect conditions daily. Rooms and suites are perfect with a lot of space designed with local made furniture and with all the refinement that you can think of ie the one you can see in specialized magazine but the difference is ..it is real you can touch it. Mini bar is outstandingly filled with several bottle of wines(excellent selection).
You have 2 restaurants at the Sarojin! one is located in the garden near the pool! excellent service and help from the team. Wine selection is very interesting with worldwide brands and you can discover some Pinot noir that you never heard before. The second restaurant is located at the beach where you enjoy the same service attitude and where the cuisine is Thai but a very unique Thai cuisine as it is one of the best you will enjoy in Thailand. No additional,comment it is subtile with a lot of nuances in the taste...in summary try it!
We did also a couple of excursions and we have to praise again the quality and style instilled by the Sarojin to his staff ie respect privacy and pay attention to details. There were several couples doing the same excursion but we never saw them. The driver manage all the time to keep the distance with the others with a lot of tact. Very impressive..needless to add that drinks and refreshing towels were available all time with even special cushions and towels to sit in the boat!!!
Impressive for the attention and respect of the privacy.
During our stay the hotel organism 2 events ie Loy kratong celebration and a Asian night. Superb deco and a breathless buffet and BBQ for both events. A lot of prep needed for the kitchen and lay out on the garden , tables, light etc...the following morning everything was removed as nothing happened ..truly a 5 stars approach and service.
Perhaps one frustration it is very hard to understand the local staff and vice versa. But we always manage to get what we wanted!
Very enjoyable stay can only recommend to try it and taste it

Room Tip: Try room 607 it is a paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was one of the most relaxing holidays I've ever had - the hotel and its grounds are so beautiful that it's hard to force yourself to actually do anything. Everything is geared towards making your stay as relaxing and easy as possible. Service is excellent and attentive without being stuffy or overbearing.

We stayed in pool villa number 101, which was in a secluded location near the spa. None of the villa gardens are entirely private, as they rely on plants to border them, but this one was private enough that you could sunbathe topless (passers by would have to look really hard to see you). Having been keen to get a pool villa, we hardly used our pool as the main one is so beautiful, and you're frequently brought iced water, cold towels, fruit smoothies and slices of watermelon.

Out of the two restaurants at the hotel, I thought the Thai one was the best. The other restaurant, with prices averaging £20 for a small main course with no sides (more expensive than many of my usual London restaurants!), failed to hit the fine dining effect they were going for. Hotel guests seemed to be voting with their feet, and the restaurant of the small hotel next door was full of Sarojin guests. It's called White Sands and it's excellent and cheap, although much more rustic than the Sarojin. For wine lovers, there's a nicely curated wine list full of interesting bottles. Wine is expensive in Thailand due to government tax, so considering that I thought the prices were quite reasonable. They often served their reds cold though, so if you want a red order it well in advance to give it a chance to warm up. If you don't think you'll drink a whole bottle of wine in a night (why not, you're on holiday?) then they'll keep it to one side for you, for the next night, which is a nice touch.

The Saturday market is nearby Bang Niang is worth a visit, and there's a small town there with a few shops and restaurants. We also did a day trip to the Similan Islands on the Sarojin's own boat. Expensive, but much more civilised than the other organised tours, and with a huge seafood lunch and as much fizz as you can drink. Drink fizz, and take seasickness tablets - the ride can be very bumpy.

Finally, I don't normally do this, but the staff were so lovely I have to thank some of them. Kob for keeping us hydrated around the pool, Au & Neung for looking after us on the boat, Mon for answering our questions on Thai life and giving us a really interesting insight, and the ever-smiling Pla for being utterly charming and keeping us supplied with banana bread, even when we were having breakfast at 3pm.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJ13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
553 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 70 in Khao Lak
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
832 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: £153 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Expedia, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing