We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sarojin
Nearby Hotels
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bangsak Village(Khao Lak)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MANATHAI Khao Lak(Khao Lak)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,851)
Filter reviews
1,851 results
Traveller rating
1,544
196
55
38
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,544
196
55
38
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool residenceall day breakfastficus restaurantour honeymoonsparkling winespa suitepathways spawaterfall dinnercold towelsgarden rooma la carte breakfastsimilan islandsserved all dayseafood bbqbbq on the beachwatermelonplunge pool
Filter
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 1,851 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

1½ hours drive north of Phuket airport and totally worth journeying that bit further. The Sarojin IS as gorgeous as it looks on the website. This boutique hotel is beautiful, stylish and serene without being stuffy. We had a garden room which is a larger than average room with patio and kabana at the front. The level of privacy depends on which one you get. We were lucky and had lots of tropical plants providing a natural screen. The accommodation is only ground and first floor, the latter have private balconies. Our room was spacious, really comfy bed with a huge bathroom and rain shower.

The gardens are beautifully landscaped with tropical plants, fruit trees (banana and mango) and flowers. Two massive ponds add a tranquility to the grounds, one with a carpet of water lilies adding a splash of color. The moment you step outside, you are aware of the natural, fresh perfume in the air and all you hear are the local birds chirping away.

The Ficus Restaurant serves a huge breakfast menu from porridge to pancakes, bircher to a buck's fizz, fresh fruit to fried eggs. And table service with a smile; none of that bun-fight round the buffet. AND it's an "all-day breakfast! They also do a la carte in the evenings; the food is fantastic.

The pool is one of the best I have ever seen. Fresh water, large enough to exercise in or just float about to cool off. A Jacuzzi pool bubbles next to it. Most of the sun loungers are strategically placed around the pool ensuring personal space. Some are almost like a four-poster bed with white muslin draped over the frames for shade. Pool towels are provided and iced water is topped up all day.

Just when you think you are in heaven, head down to the beach. The hotel has managed to secure a private section of this white, sandy beach. Comfortable sun loungers, white umbrellas and beach towels are set up where you want them. Again iced water is on tap and The Edge beach bar menu has fresh fruit smoothies, lunch, snack foods and ice- cold beers. Next door on White Beach is another really nice beach bar and a great place for a massage or pedicure. You can walk along the beach in either direction; skeletal trees and a marooned fishing boat remind you of the tsunami devastation only 10 years ago.

The attention to detail at The Sarojin is faultless from the hand-bag size mozzie spray in your room to the water melon slices served on the beach at 4pm. It's the little extras that add a nice touch. And the staff are just lovely; attentive service without being intrusive. It is a resident's only establishment. Outsiders cannot use the sun beds, drink in the bars or even book a table for dinner.

This resort is not designed for young families; they don't allow kids under 10. This is more for the battle-weary corporate people who need to be pampered in a quiet, relaxed paradise. There are trips organised by the tour desk; we went snorkeling in the Similan Islands for the day. The hotel has mountain bikes and Khao Lak main street has shops and restaurants. It is over 2 hours drive south to Phuket Town. If you want the Patong club scene, then this is not for you but if you need rest and relaxation in a very pretty part of Thailand, then this is truly magical.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Wow.

This is a special hotel.

We stayed over Christmas and New Year in a garden residence and a suite, both excellent at their price points. We would be perfectly happy in a garden residence on a return trip. The rooms are expensive in peak season but the best places are!

The restaurants are priced more at 5 star than local food but the quality and flavours are excellent. We preferred the Edge restaurant for its setting and wanted to eat Thai food. We also used the restaurants on the beach and in KL, it was good to mix it up. The breakfast was the best breakfast setup I have ever seen and available all day. Extensive menu and all cooked to order.

On the flight home, we talked about the highlight of our trip, so far, the following are all joint top; staff, service, pool, beach, food, rooms ......

It is not the place to go if you want nightlife, evening entertainment or noise and that suited us just fine.

We have always taken the view that there are too many great places in the world to go back where we have already been but The Sarojin is such that we will come back!

Andrew, Kate and all the management - well done on what you have created and are maintaining.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had 10 wonderful days at the Sarojin and it was everything we had hoped for. Peaceful beautiful calm and restful with the best staff we have ever come across, nothing was too much trouble and nothing was overlooked. The owners and management should be very proud of what they have achieved here. We ate at the hotel a few nights, very good food but yes it is costly so we ate at the beach bars and in the town as well. All the food was excellent and very reasonable and its fun going out and about. The hotel provide a shuttle bus to the town for a small charge (100 baht per person each way) or you can get a taxi (very clean and air conditioned) which will then come back and collect you as well for 300 baht each way. The hotel has a happy hour from 5.30 to 6.45 when drinks are half price, but cocktails at the beach bars are just 130 baht (about £2.30) , the best Mojito was to be found at the Boatyard about a 10 minute walk along the beach from the hotel (turn left) . A word of warning for any other Scots the hotel will not exchange Scottish money and they said the banks would not either, the hotel has an ATM but it was not working when we needed it. There is an ATM at the Kantary Hotel next door and also a small but very well stocked supermarket, you can gain access to these from the beach.
If you want a special holiday this is the place to come.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We had a room with our own small pool which was lovely but we did not get a lot of sun at our pool due to the plants around our own little garden. The plants are important though as they make your area much more private. We spent most of our time on the beach so I would say it may not be worth paying extra for a room with a pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveltimes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just returned from our third visit to the Sarojin and found it as delightful as before.
I feel that we cannot add to the excellent reviews already posted but feel obliged to respond to the very few negative reviews. I can only consider that those people who were disappointed in the resort did not understand what the Sarojin is about.
If you want "nightlife", loud music in the bar, games in the pool and mountains of poorly prepared food at the breakfast buffet, then don't go to the Sarojin. If, however, you want peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings, excellent food with attentive, exemplary service then the Sarojin is for you. The staff are quite superb and obviously love working at the hotel.
No, it is not cheap but there are plenty of inexpensive bars and restaurants a few minutes away along the beach or just 10 minutes away by taxi in Khoa Lak. Inevitably with a small hotel , the excursions etc are more expensive, but again you are paying for the quality and exclusivity. If you want cheaper then go into town.
We have travelled a lot and lived around the world over the last 40 years, staying at many top rate hotels, but have rarely come across anything quite as special as the Sarojin.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are fine. I cannot see why anyone would want more.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marcopoloSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have recently returned from the most wonderful 10 day holiday at the Sarojin and we cannot wait to return. We loved the comfortable rooms, the beautiful gardens, the perfect swimming pool and fantastic service from delightful staff. The breakfast was excellent and to be served delicious food at anytime of day adds to the relaxing holiday experience. We ate at both restaurants and enjoyed the food, although the main restaurant was expensive. The hotel is on a lovely long sandy beach and the sea was lovely and warm. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday in beautifull surroundings the Sarojin is hard to beat

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews