We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway”
Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sarojin
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were warmly welcomed by Alex during check in and was ushered to the room by Jeep, who was really friendly.
The Palaphan Suite was amazing, spacious and well-designed, it almost felt like home. The bathroom was great except for the rainshower. The water was too slow.
The resort was very well-maintained and breathtaking. Breakfast was an all-day affair and excellent.
The pathways spa was also very good, the staff was attentive as my partner has some injury from sports.
Love the fact that there were no kids running around.
Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here in November 2013 for four nights during our honeymoon. The Sarojin's grounds are absolutely stunning and very well maintained. We were upgraded to a suite following difficulties with our booking. The suite was massive and luxurious with a secluded terrace, you really couldn't fault it. The hotel products were lovely, especially the soap.
We thoroughly enjoyed the all day breakfast, it was so nice not to have to set an alarm in the morning. There was an extensive selection of food and drink and the sparkling wine was a lovely touch.
We just wanted to relax whilst on our honeymoon so spent our days either by the pool or by the beach, we were well looked after at both and provided with water, cold towels and water melon.
We ate at the Sarojin twice, both were highlights of our time in Thailand. We did the private dining at the pool which was amazing, the centre four poster sun bed was set up with a table and the whole area was covered in candles - breath taking, the food and wine were lovely.
On our last night we ate at the Edge by the beach and the food and wine were absolutely delicious (we had the whole grilled fish). They do a half price cocktail hour in the evenings which we really enjoyed.
Our meals outside of the restaurant were enjoyable too, we went to the restaurant next to the Sarojin on the beach on our first night (highly recommend) and a place called the Lagoon which is out the front of the hotel to the left (very cheap delicious food).
Another highlight was the spa, a very tranquil experience - a must.
We deliberated over whether to give the Sarojin 4 or 5 stars and if there was an option would probably have gone for 4.5. We just felt that the service wasn't always as good as we expected, there were several minor issues such as struggling to get someones attention to order another cocktail in the Edge (despite it not being busy) which left us feeling a bit frustrated. However, overall we had an amazing time and were really sad to leave.
We would definitely return in the future, maybe to celebrate a landmark wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in their lowest price band room. We were perfectly greeted and taken to room 103, well located near the pool, breakfast restaurant and spa. The room is spacious, well designed with a shower area which feels outdoor. There is plenty of cupboard, drawer, and desk space with plugs for chargers.
Wifi works well throughout the hotel, including on the beach; it's not quite consistent enough for voice calls but fine for surfing.
Breakfast was excellent with good fresh juices. It's set by a lake, and on one morning a metre long water lizard strolled by my table- a highlight of my stay.
The pool is a nice size with four poster sunbeds; that sounds awful, but looks and feels good.
The beach is lovely, and staff regularly bring you iced water while you are there.
We had a small issue one lunchtime, but this was very well dealt with.
There is a shuttle service to Khao Lak. The hotel charges for this, but that's quite common in the area. It runs for most of the day, but not between 16.00 and 20.00. If I was a cynic I might conclude that this was to discourage people from eating outside the hotel. However, we soon discovered that for two people a taxi is almost as cheap and a lot more flexible.
Regrettably we did have an issue which we thought was unsatisfactory. The hotel has two restaurants for dinner- the one on the beach would be anyone's first choice. We received a note on our second day, "on just a few occasions a year etc etc" - the beach restaurant was closed for a private party. We had no problem with that until we got a similar note referring to our last day. Twice in four days is not acceptable. Not only that, the hotel must have had these (wedding) bookings for a long time and yet only inform you when the room is turned down the evening before. This doesn't allow you to plan hotel and town evenings in advance.
Kade, the author of these notes, listened politely to our complaint and was very kind, offering us dinner on the beach, but we enjoy the atmosphere of a restaurant more and felt annoyed. We ended up eating by the lake where Kade ensured we were well looked after. They also took us to the garden after dinner and lit a Chinese lantern for us, which was lovely.
At the very least, the hotel should tell you when you check in, and in our view they shouldn't close their main restaurant twice in four days.
We would happily return, but we would check the restaurant situation when on arrival.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank DullDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The 10 days that we spent in The Sarojin were amazing. We had perfect food, a fantastic suite, and were so impressed by the staff and their wish to make guests comfortable and happy. We went on hotel arranged trips and yes, you can get them cheaper in Khao Lak.....however, what you will miss out on is a lovely, comfortable experience and a real chance to talk to Thai people about their country. We were looked after, were provided with fantastic picnic lunches and really enjoyed the chance to see Thai life. We canoed down a river, rode elephants, visited Bhuddist Temples and had the priviledge of spending time in the local community. It was a joy...
The Spa was magical and the treatments that I had were excellent.
I have never written a review before but felt compelled to do so in the case of The Sarojin. This was a holiday I will never forget and I one place that I would visit again which is quite unlike me .
Thank you to all the Staff for making this such a wonderful holiday for us both.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in Casa De La Flora for a number of nights and wanted to have diner in another place tonight. Saw the Edge restaurant on the internet and wanted to try it. Nice setting on the beach. Lovely atmosphere at the hotel as we walked up to the restaurant. In the restaurant they gave us a table at the side with a view on ...the fence. We asked to sit at the seafront but they said it was fully booked and we could not have one of the empty tables we saw near the beach. More later. Wine list was excellent. One of the best I have seen in Thailand. Food : we took the 3 course menu. Starter and mains were excellent, nice presentation and excellent taste; dessert sticky rice with mango, a classic and a benchmark for us- here rather average (rice was cold, coconut sauce lacked sweet-salt balance) pity. But overall a very nice experience. The one thing we could not understand was that despite our numerous asking, they didn't give us one of the empty tables near the beachfront. We left around 22.15pm and by that time, the table we had been asking for was still empty... So obviously they could have given us that table if they had wanted to and we cannot really understand why they didn't. Overall, a very good experience with a false note.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Filip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were fortunate to stay here for 5 nights after a hectic tour of Cambodia and Laos. From the minute you are collected from the airport right through to when you are dropped back at the airport you feel totally pampered but not in an intrusive way.
The staff are so superb it is almost impossible to single out any for a special mention. We were lucky enough to have dinner at the waterfall which was the most romantic venue you could ever dream of. We went to the Similan Islands snorkelling on the Lady Sarojin. You might think that the cost of the tour is expensive but the sparkling wine and free flowing bar coupled with a banquet of top quality food made the trip great value for money.
We were fortunate enough to have the most fantastic suite and once again would highly recommend the upgrade. The restaurant on the beach serves the most delicious food and whilst it is a little more expensive than surrounding hotels, there is no comparison in quality and ambience.
If you read the terrible and poor reviews they clearly must refer to other hotels as we can not fault this hotel and we have travelled extensively. We absolutely plan to return which isn't something we normally do.
Thanks to the hotel for the most perfect stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobdog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The outcome of this review will be: without a single hesitation, Sarojin is most highly recommended.

Other reviews will give you a very detailed and accurate description of both the variety of the services and the incredible way they deliver them. What hit it home for us during our 8 night stay, above the consistent level of luxury in all ways thinkable, was the Sarojin team.
We’ve been lucky to have opportunities to travel on five continents for both business and on vacations, but nowhere before had we encountered service delivered with such warmth. The entire team is at all times up to date about your personal plans and preferences and two steps ahead of you to pamper you and make your stay completely worry-free. They have an uncomparable eye for detail and personal attention that make all the difference.
What you witness and what the staff will tell you is that they are treated as members of the Sarojin family – and they pass their experience on to their guests.
So, book Sarojin, open your heart and let them treat you like royals.

TRAVEL TIP: Book the Phang Nga excursion by Sarojin. Where other providers stuff their boats full of people and refresh them with coke from disposable plastic cups, Sarojin transports you with a private longtail boat and offers sparkling wine from wine glasses. The difference in experience is well worth the margin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yozsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
574 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#4 of 70 in Khao Lak
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 70 in Khao Lak
899 reviews
6 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
1.3 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#18 of 70 in Khao Lak
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: £139 - £526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing