We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Honeymoon experience”
Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sarojin
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Honeymoon experience”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just returned from spending our honeymoon at Sarojin...which as other reviewers have attested, is a truly amazing destination offering guests memories that will last lifetimes. We booked a Garden Residence room after missing out on a pool residence, yet were more than happy with our choice. Our room (102) was close to the Ficus Restaurant, Pathways Spa and Pool. We had two day beds on a terrace that were subtlety hidden from passersby that were perfect for relaxing and sharing our welcome bottle of sparkling wine. To make the most out of our honeymoon we organised a 'honeymoon registry' and asked our guests to contribute to our honeymoon memories. As a result we were able to experience many (possibly too many!) activities that the resort had to offer including a BBQ beach dinner, wine tasting class and Thai cooking class by the local waterfall. Included with our honeymoon package were a spirit lantern release, massage for two and a Waterfall dinner for two. We also booked two tours with the hotel (one unfortunately we had to cancel), additional massages and two tours with a tour group from Khao Lak. We packed a lot into our 6 night stay yet still had some time to relax beside the peaceful pool so we felt as though we had ample relaxation time.

We had a fantastic time, with too many highlights, and none that we could single out as being the 'best'. Everything seemed to us to be a delight, from our warm welcome from Naho who showed us to our room already prepared with the words 'happy honeymoon' spelled out in plant pieces and white orchids... to the managers, Khun Kade and Khun Alex who showed genuine interest in our day and well being. In fact ALL staff were incredible and demonstrated total pride and dedication to their jobs/careers and a willingness to give 110% to everything they did. The owners of the resort provide a lot of opportunities to the staff and local community and the results are evident everywhere - Outstanding!!

The resort has a method for communicating information about guests to help them with their daily interactions with the guests and other departments which made us feel like royalty. All staff knew who we were, what activities we had booked and when we were not too well. Having worked in a customer based background I know how hard it can be to communicate these messages to staff members, so Sarojin must be commended here also!

We had two private dinners and both of these were unique and wonderful experiences. The resort goes to great lengths to create the perfect, romantic atmosphere for each couple despite the difficulties of the weather. On the night of our Waterfall dinner for example, there was a massive thunderstorm complete with rain at about 5pm. We were worried that the dinner would be cancelled or moved to an indoor location, yet due to positive attitudes of the staff not only were we able to dine by 300 + candle light, Khun Opas had prepared a wet weather option 'just in case' after already having to re set up the candles after rain had destroyed the first ones he had prepared. His attention to detail and our every possible need far surpassed many waiters in Australia, again making us feel so special.

There is so much to praise about this resort, but space is limited so without minimising the efforts of any departments we would like to also acknowledge the special care shown to us by the staff at the Pathway's spa (Duean and Nan), Restaurant (Wan, Att, Tu, Jo, Sak, Fa, Lula, Matoom and everyone else we may have missed!), the Activities team, Gardeners, Housekeeping, Reception, Mechanics and Drivers.

The resort hosts sunset cocktails once a week on the beach to give guests and opportunity to meet the staff. Make the effort to go, as it's a true testament to the 'family' that is Saroin. We learned of couples that had returned for their 2nd, 3rd or 4th visits. We can't wait to return for our 2nd!

Never before have I cried when I left a holiday destination, nor has my husband, but this resort made us feel as though we were part of the Sarojin Family so to leave was like leaving home to move overseas...very sad.

I know that I have left out so much from my review but I know that other reviewers have captured much of what I have left out. This resort is very much a 'come as you are' relaxed, luxury resort that is comparable to Australian prices and therefore not affected in anyway. There is ample room for space, peace and privacy even at the poolside. Food is amazing, especially the a la carte breakfast served all day and service exceeds expectations. We could not have asked for a better honeymoon. Thank you Team Sarojin! See you soon!! xx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabelle40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,410
    176
    48
    37
    18
See reviews for
120
1,343
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This review like many others before it will do nothing but heap praise on the hotel, all of which is richly deserved. We had the fortune to stay here for two weeks after being in Laos and Cambodia, and this hotel was sooo good at letting us wind down to a very slow pace!
The Sarojin manages effortlessly to deliver five star quality combined with the relaxed air of flip flops and swimwear, which are acceptable whenever you like. No stuffy airs and graces, just pure relaxation however you feel comfortable.
Rather than just ooze compliments, we have set out below some of the details that you may find useful to convince you to go, which you should. It may also save you some of the precious airline luggage allowance, when you know what to expect!
We hope you found this helpful!

Firstly the rooms. We were in a garden view room, all of which have a lovely decking area within a private enclosed space where you find some basic loungers, hidden from the view of any passers by. Each of the rooms has its own little pathway anyway away from the main path, and set back so you are very private.
The rooms are lovely and spacious with reasonable storage and with two showers, a trough basin and a loo, as well as a bathtub, all in a kind of "open plan" area where the floor is covered with areas of pebbles. Bizarre but it works! The beds and pillows we found very comfortable, and the bedding was changed every day and also there is a turn down service at night.
There is a good safe, a kettle, fridge and hairdryer (one which is reasonably powered and actually works), and there is free tea and coffee, and you can request UHT milk which is complimentary and is way better than creamer. You even get the choice of instant coffee or ground coffee, with a cafetiere. Each day you also get fresh fruit and crackers, which is a great touch.
The toiletries are excellent. You even get a room freshener spray to freshen the room, and a candle is lit by the turndown service to welcome you back to your room - a great example of the individuality and tranquillity that this hotel offers.
You will also find two umbrellas (which they are happy for you to take out of the hotel), a torch (great for walking along the beach or to a local restaurant at night) and a lovely straw beach bag.
There is an abundance of bottled water and you will never need to buy any for your room. Every morning five bottles are left, and any used ones are replenished by the turndown service. If you manage to get through all that, just ask for more at reception!
The aircon is very effective and very quiet, so no problems keeping cool.

The pool is fabulous- a good size, lovely warm water, never crowded because of the small number of rooms at the hotel, and with a great pool service that deliver iced water top-ups and extra towels whenever you want. There are always sunbeds available, and all of them have umbrellas for shade.

The beach is awesome with lovely golden sand and with a sea temperature usually at 28 degrees - just like a warm bath. The hotel has its own small private section, but there are no crowds anyway as this is a relatively quiet area. Again, there is a great Sarojin beach crew with towels, iced water and often fruit being served free to guests, and there are always plentiful sunbeds with umbrellas. The only slight negative during our stay was that there were quite a few stinging jellyfish in evidence, The beach crew did post a warning notice, and mentioned this hazard when setting up the sun beds but a couple few guests did still venture into the sea regardless and were stung which was real shame. However, the staff do check each day and the jellyfish are not always there. You cannot snorkel off the beach as the water visibility is poor.

If you are coming to dive in the nearby Similans, then be aware that this once great world class diving area is not that great at all. It has been overfished and whilst the diving is still good, it is most certainly not world class. The Similans are officially a protected marine park, with a diving season that ends in May for six months. As soon as the season ends though, the fishing boats move in and the government does nothing to stop it. There are rangers on two of the islands but they cannot control the fishing boats, and the Thai government does nothing to enforce the marine park status. It is trying to keep the fishermen happy, but will ultimately lose its diving tourism business as many of the divers I spoke to were saying they will not return.
The hotel has its own trips and tours, which it puts on with its own staff and vehicles and wonderful food. They are expensive but a fabulous experience and well worth doing.
The hotel used to have a no children policy though there were a couple staying whilst we were there. However, it is primarily an adults-only hotel, which means you will never have to worry about choosing a sunbed, or having a room, adjacent to the dreaded noise!! Because of the quality of the clients staying at the hotel, there is absolutely no loud music or other noise pollutants, so you can be sure of a quiet, relaxed atmosphere.
The hotel has two excellent restaurants, and the one big plus point is the all-day breakfast, which you can take at any time until 6pm, the team here are fantastic. That means that if you want to go out on a half day trip with an early start, or a diving day with an early start, you have not lost breakfast, as you can have it when you come back. That might sound slightly silly, but the breakfast is a menu service (not a buffet) where everything is freshly prepared for you, and you can have as many things as you like. The menu included fresh fruit, cold meats and cheeses and lots of hot dishes that you could eat not just as breakfast, but as lunch or even an early dinner. It works brilliantly!
The only downside to the hotel restaurants for either lunch or dinner is the price, which is similar to quality UK levels. The way around this and also to vary the choice is to either take a taxi to Khao Lak, or to use the two nearby local restaurants (yes, with plastic chairs and sand for a carpet! but they are fun). Directly next to the hotel on the beach is the White Sand Beach restaurant, and a full dinner with Chang and white wine will set you back about £25 for two. For a change why not try the Ratree Restaurant which is a right turn out of the front of the hotel and then a half mile walk along a quiet, lit road to the Kantary Beach hotel, where this restaurant/bar is located just outside the main entrance. This one is a bit more "rustic" but with a really good atmosphere and great value.
There is a great air-conditioned library at The Sarojin which also has a good selection of books, games and even DVD's.
Mosquito's - ah yes, the mosquitos. The gardens have lots of water with some picturesque lakes and at night, singing frogs. The mozzies love water, heat and humans! Take some mozzie repellent with deet with you and please remember to use it. There was evidence on some guests who had clearly been unaware of how active the mozzies were. The hotel do provide an electric mozzie killer for the room, and a coil for the outside decking. Just make sure you keep the room door shut whenever you can. The bedroom are also equipped with citronella spray, which in theory is a great idea but this is an ineffective deterrent, albeit environmentaly friendly.
The nearest town is Khao Lak, which is over 7k away and not walkable. The hotel do offer a shuttle bus service at set times, but those times are not always convenient. Just phone reception to order a taxi for you which will cost 300BHT each way for the car (not per person). For your return trip there are very many taxis available who all charge 300BHT. That does mean that a round trip is going to cost you about £12. Khao lak is an OK town which is really one long shopping/restaurant strip. There are loads of restaurants, dive shops, pharmacies, opticians, tailors and tourist shops. It is not the greatest place but is worth visiting a couple of times. Good restaurants that we used were Smile, and Jai, both of which were recommended by the hotel and also other guests.
The hotel offers free mountain bikes which are fun to use and are in good condition. They also have a small gym which had one treadmill, a bike and a small weights section, which was in good condition, but a further cardio machine would have been useful when a treadmill hogger was attempting a marathon. However, if you can, just get out on the roads to run, early in the day when it is cooler. There are some great extremely quiet roads all around, and depending on the tide they can be incorporated into a beach run - fantastic way to start the day.
The hotel has its own award-winning Pathways Spa which is really fabulous. The don't really push it, but take advantage of the lower prices in the morning, if you need any convincing and ask for Nan she is terrific - you can get a 60 minute morning massage in a really peaceful, professional environment for about £30, but be warned you will have to return, finding even 90 mins is over in a fragrant flash .
And finally, the real reason to go....is the staff. Every single one of them are really dedicated to making your stay a wonderful one. Nothing is too much trouble - they guess what you want almost before you think of it, just ask and it will be done if it is possible!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We returned a week ago from this beautiful place after spending 12 nights there. I didn't want to leave and am still sad! I spend a lot of time finding the right holiday for us and The Sarojin certainly didn't fall short. From the moment we arrived after 23 hours travelling I knew we'd made the right choice. Every member of staff goes out of their way to make sure you are happy and nothing is too much trouble. The suite we had (707) was spotless, very quiet, and close to the pool and beach. The pool area is lovely and very peaceful but we did most of our sunbathing on the beach to enjoy the breeze. The beach itself is beautiful, there are sunbeds in front of the beach restaurants and the Kantaray resort either side of The Sarojin but they are not intrusive and provide good "people watching"! You can walk either way along the beach for far enough, every day we walked to the rocky area to the right to the "coke lady" - 3 cokes for just over £1 and the warmest welcome!
We ate at The Edge, Ficus and also at the beach restaurants next door and along the beach. All food was excellent, with the beach restaurants being ridiculously cheap! Breakfast was lovely and so good not to have clock watch to be there in time!
Some reviews mention being eaten alive by mosquitos. We didn't experience this. Yes, there are lots of them, naturally, but we used lots of repellant (jungle formula gel and spray and also a few dabs of Vick!) and we got away with about 5 bites each!
We booked a couple of excursions through the hotel which were more expensive than the ones in town but you get what you pay for. The way we were looked after and the memories they've created made them worth every penny. We also used the free hotel bikes several times to explore the local area, the bikes are excellent and even our teenage daughter enjoyed her bike ride!
All in all we had a fabulous time at The Sarojin and will definitely return. We wanted peace, quiet and total relaxation in beautiful surroundings and that is exactly what we got. If you are thinking of staying there, just do it, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Suites are lovely and spacious but I expect all room types would be great. There are no sea views bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for one night as a birthday treat, we wanted a touch of luxury and The Sarojin certainly provided that and more. This is a tightly run ship and a very professional operation, but at the same time it doesn’t feel stuffy and the staff are delightful. The rooms are lovely, as is the long expanse of beach and then there is the gorgeous pool area (with wafting muslin drapes and watermelon snacks). We also loved the all-day breakfast concept and dinner at The Edge. The Sarojin welcomed us with open arms and we had a great experience but it is worth noting that there is not much on offer in the surrounding area and the hotel is a fair way from Khao Lak, which may become an issue if you were to stay for an extended period.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazzieGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I visited the Sarojin for 5 nights to celebrate my 60th birthday at the end of a 3 week trip in Thailand. This hotel is amazing. The location is just stunning, beautiful gardens, a fabulous beach, two great restaurants. But for us the best thing about this hotel is the staff. They cater to your absolute every need, with such perfect service and manners, it makes you feel so very special. We had a private dinner on the beach on my birthday - I have to say that not only was the setting just perfect, the food great - that made this the best birthday treat I have ever had. We also took a trip on the Lady Sarojin - a motorboat owned by the hotel - to visit the Similan islands for a day of snorkelling. My husband loves to swim, but I am uncomfortable out of my depth, and don't like my face in the water. However , one of the guides aboard the boat took personal responsibility for me and held my hand throughout the snorkelling to ensure that I enjoyed the trip just as much as my husband. I didn't ask him too - it is all just part of the customer culture that is so strongly embedded in the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italiangirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed from Sunday to Thursday in late April, somewhat embarrassingly because I found it in a list of the '10 best hotel pools'. The pictures looked amazing, as did the reviews, and we arrived almost resigned that it could not live up to the hype.

Fortunately we were wrong - this was one of the most relaxing, easy and memorable holidays we have had. The garden room was large with a comfortable tub and rain shower, and excellent (and much welcomed) airconditioning.

The food is delicious, from the a la carte breakfast (great eggs and fresh bakery items), through to the Ficus (European) and Edge (Thai) options for lunch and dinner. The food is expensive at least compared to the very cheap beach restaurant next door, but it is also of a consistently high standard, with fresh ingredients and lovely presentation, and a small but enjoyable international wine list.

As for the pool, it was massive - perhaps a bit warm, but very well maintained with comfortable seating and attentive service staff. Same goes for the beach, which extends in both directions far enough for a long evening walk. There are bungalows next door and a few other resorts around, but walk for a couple of minutes and you'll find a spot that's almost deserted. You can also indulge in cocktail hour before dining at the Edge, on the sand.

The spa treatments were divine - again not on the cheap side, but some of the best massages I have had. The setting is so lush and serene, and the therapists professional. In fact the setting was probably the most memorable thing of all. This is not a resort for big groups or partying. It is an amazingly manicured tropical oasis, with a limited number of guests. A few times we looked around and could not see another person - which is exactly the sort of holiday we were looking for.

The staff were all lovely, from Joe in the spa to Alex at the front. We also took an elephant ride and pleat boat tour for half a day, and on another day rode bicycles about 20km there and back to a waterfall. Perhaps the only downside was another afternoon we took the shuttle bus into the nearest town, Bang Niang, which had a pretty awful tourist market and some concreted resorts that made us very happy we were staying at the Sarojin. I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birthday_pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Came here for the last 12 nights of our honeymoon after a brief stopover in bangkok. We had the most amazing experience of our lives at the sarojin, the quality of service and the attentive of the staff is out of this world, there really is no stone left unturned! Their positivity and friendliness is infectious and from your first greeting in the morning whether it be at breakfast or at the poolside or along the pathway, they put you in a great mood for day with a big smile and a gracious respectful wai. The activities provided by the hotel are amazing, we availed of the similan island snorkeling which we shared with several other people from the resort which made the trip full of laughs and entertainment meeting some really cool, friendly and genuine people. We also went on the elephant trekking day and the James Bond island excursions which are designed just for 2! There are regular shuttle buses provided by the hotel to the local towns and also for a bit of freedom id revommend hiring a small scooter for getting around the place, (khoa lak and bang niang are two great spots) the hotel can assist with this and the daily rental is next to nothing (about €4.50)!! The staff that accompanied us on all three trips were amazing from start to finish, full of local knowledge and great humour! The food at the hotel is of the highest quality with the best lamb I've ever had (in the ficus). The edge serves some amazing thai food! There is no request that goes too far for these guys and we seen some amazing personal setups for couples that wanted a little more privacy, be it a secluded dinner with personal chef or just a quiet candle lit dinner for two on the beach they are more than willing to accommodate! In fact they pride themselves in it and rightfully so. The rooms themselves are immaculate and very spacious, we stayed in a pool residence and the private personal pool is a great place to relax together or read a book in the peace and quiet. I'm writing this by the pool at the moment as we check out in 40 mins, to say I'll miss the place is the understatement of a lifetime and we'll definitely be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
532 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 69 in Khao Lak
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
1.3 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#11 of 69 in Khao Lak
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Property: The Sarojin
Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing