We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER Fantastic Holiday”
Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sarojin
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

As we were celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary we were looking for somewhere special and as we had stayed at The Sarojin 4 years ago and had a fantastic time then, we decided it would be the ideal place to return to, for this special occasion. We certainly wasn't disappointed, in fact we couldn't have asked for a better setting as we were thoroughly spoilt and treated like royalty - many thanks to Roland and his marvelous and very friendly staff. We stayed for 10 nights in a Garden room which we found to be more than adequate as they are much more spacious and equipped than most other hotels in the world. The excellent breakfast (including "bubbles") has changed to an All Day Breakfast which makes it very convenient now. Both the Ficus Restaurant as well as The Edge (Thai Food) were outstanding, the Seafood BBQ was absolutely delicious. Although June was meant to be the "wettest month" in Thailand, most of the rain came during the night, so was able to relax and still enjoy many hours of sunshine around the large pool - where the service was excellent and attentive as usual with constant supply of iced water. When our special day came, we really celebrated in style with a Magnificent Banquet , which will be remembered for the rest of our lives, we were so proud of the way The Sarojin had arranged everything, the decorations including the 50 candles behind our table and the tasty menu, especially as we had to revert to Plan B due to the weather changing a few hours prior to Dinner. After having a fabulous evening we returned to our room to find the bed and bath made up with a fantastic display. We cannot thank the staff enough for their attention and help during our stay and making this so memorable for this milestone of our married life. Whilst staying here we hired a car through the local Hertz Rentals Company and was able to visit many places nearby including Phuket and area and must admit if you'll looking for a quiet and luxurious holiday The Sarojin in Khao Lak is far superior than Phuket.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TrishalAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Sarojin as the last leg of our honeymoon for 5 nights. When we arrived we were taken to some comfy seats in the lobby, offered a cold towel (I love this about Thailand, cold towels everywhere) ad a welcome drink, while the formalities were taken care of. We were told that we had been given an upgrade at no extra cost which we were very excited about.

We had booked a Garden pool room but were upgraded to a Spa Suite. These are on the higer floors of the two storey villas and have a large bathroom, a large sitting room, a lovely beadroom, a separate toilet, a kitchen area and a large balcony with a cool spa pool on it. Private but over looking the gardens.

All staff at the hotel were very friendly, the pool is lovely, the beach a little bit of a dissapointment, a very small section is reserved for The Sarojin and there were Jelly Fish on the beach and in the sea making it unpleasant/difficult to swim. The beach can not been seen from the main part of the hotel or the rooms as it is protected by a row of trees.

The beach restaurant was lovely, serving good food everyday and a fantastic, luxury sea food buffet one nice. Not cheap but very good and not like any buffet we had ever experienced before.

The best thing about this hotel is that you can have a breakfast up until 6pm each day, with wine or sparkling wine, we took to having room service breakfast for lunch, in our room where we could enjoy the Air Conditioning.

Excursions is what this hotel does best. They are expensive, but they are fantastic and worth the cost. The staff look after your even need. We went on The Lady Sarojin to The Semilon Island for a day outing. There was a total of 10 guests on the baost and 3 staff. We were fitted with fins and snorkels before we got onto the boat and then after a 45 min journey to the islands snorkelled in the clear blue water at three different spots, the staff guided us and pointed out amazing sealife that we would not have spotted otherwise. Each time we returned to the boat there was a fresh water shower as you came out of the water and fluffy white towels. We were dropped off at a white sand beach for a wander and a sit down and swim. The islands are not like the rest of Thailand, they are even more beautiful. The sea is crystal clear and the beaches are white soft sand. Absolutly out of this world gorgeous and a real treat. Through out the day we were served sparkling wine and other drinks and lunch was served on the boat with white table cloths, real metal cutlery and glasses and was a selection of fantastic salads, seafood and meat. It was the best meal we had over the whole 16 nights that we were away, it really was that good!

The other excursion we did was a day elephant trecking and canoing in the National park. Again a fantastic trip. We wanted to do a shorter trip than was advertised and the staff amended the day and the cost to suit us. The National Park was beautiful and the trip well worth it.

I had an hours facial at the spa too which was fantastic. A lovely spa with friendly staff. The rooms are open air, but don't feel too hot they are shaded and you hear the sounds of running water and the birds which is very relaxing.

The Sarojin was a lovely relaxing hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are lovely and the excursions the best we experienced. I love the sea, so it was a shame that the beach is out of sight from the rooms and the resort and that is is not very large or private.

Room Tip: Splash our on a Sarojin Spa Suite. Top floor, loads of room to spread out and relax and lots of priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Let's be clear: June may not be the best time to be at the Sarojin - the monsoon arrived the day after we did with impressive amounts of rainfall and many of the outdoors activities the hotel has on offer cannot be done. But the basic mantra of the Sarojin still holds true: for a week we were "part of the family" and were pampered by its wonderful staff. This was the third time we were there, and this time the emphasis shifted from the out-door activities to sampling from the range of delicious foods on offer, especially in its Thai restaurant "The Edge". Under these circumstances, a room with private plunge pool is highly recommended. And the spa attains another level of spirituality as the skies op and the water pours down while you enjoy a Professional massage. On a more practical point: being there in June makes you realize what the upkeep of a property like this entails under extreme weather conditions. So, in brief: if you don't like the rain, avoid June - but if, like us, you do enjoy tropical downpours, try it for a very special experience.

Room Tip: Room 706, with plunge pool, is closest to the beach and to restaurant The Edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert_bos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just checked out of the Sarojin today after spending 11 nights. Overall the resort was fantastic, we always prefer boutique resorts as they tend to be much more personable and able to focus on details and the Sarojin certainly lives up to this.
During our stay we tried some excursions which were well organised and the guide and driver were always super friendly and efficient. I also tried the spa for a pedicure - the spa rooms themselves were beautiful but u was disappointed that the pedicure room was really no better than the local beauty salons.

Our favourite things were:
- pick up from airport was great, Wut was welcoming and told us about different things happening in Thailand
- check in was friendly and efficient and we were in our room within 5 mins of arriving
- room (garden residence) was lovely and very comfortable though I wouldn't say it was the best hotel room, it was just a lovely, comfortable hotel room with everything needed.
- breakfast was sublime - we were greeted by the friendliest staff each morning especially Jib, and breakfast was a luxury with the most amazing banana bread I have ever eaten. The staff were even lovely enough to give me the recipe :-) my favourite breakfast was the corn fritters and sticky rice with mango, which we had most mornings.
- the pool was divine as were the staff who would continually top up iced water or provide gorgeous little glasses of fresh juice. The pool is clean and huge. There was hardly anyone around also which mad getting a bed no big deal.
- the grounds of the hotel were immaculate and the staff do such a good job in keeping it that way, despite the challenges of the weather and ocean tide which flooded part of the resort on Palme days.
- staff were always extremely friendly, always going out if their way to say hello
- seafood BBQ was fantastic, though we ate so much we could barely walk back to our room! Great value for money for the quality of food as you could have as much freshly bbqd seafood as you could eat. I also really enjoyed the desserts especially the banana fritters.
- any of the resort food we ate was delicious - especially the chocolate soufflé which was recommended by the general manager and was a real treat.

As with anywhere we stay, there are always areas for improvement:
- the bathrooms, while very pretty to look at, were not functional at all. There was poor light, the rocks were not only a waste of space but were quite dangerous to walk on, I don't know how many times I nearly fell over! I also hated that the toilet was essentially open to the room, as it had no back wall, meaning no privacy, as it could be seen into if there was someone in the shower.
- out of the 11 nights we stayed, we only had room turn down 3 times as they seemed to come after 9pm most nights and given there is not much to do in khao lak, we were back at the hotel by 9 so didn't want to wait for housekeeping. When I tried to get them to come earlier, I was told they come at 6 every night which clearly wasn't the case. It wasn't until I provided feedback to the GM that they came much earlier. In most hotels I have stayed in turn down is completed by 7pm. In the first few days the daily clean didn't happen until late the afternoon also but once I asked if they could do it earlier at 10am there was no problem and they always did a fantastic job of cleaning the room.
- there are complimentary crackers in the room which weren't great. Some freshly baked cookies would be a much better option which would be more appreciated. We have had this in other boutique resorts and it goes a long way toward the feeling of a resort. Same goes for good quality tea and coffee. The teas was ok but the coffee was ordinary. In other resorts we have also had fresh milk rather than uht and this makes a big difference. Hot chocolate would also be a nice touch.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krissylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Sarojon was a great place to spend out penumtimate stop in our 3 week custom luxury trip round the region with Andaman Sky, who did a great job of shoeing us the creme de la creme of the region. What we particularly liked about the Sarojin was the high standard of the accommodation for the price we paid, plus the friendly staff, plus we also found the food to be more than satisfactory. All in all a most satisfactory stay at a great resort, thanks so much to everyone at the Sarojin for making our stay so enjoyable and to our agent for putting it all together.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had the privilege to stay in many good hotels like Shangri-la, Four Seasons, many of the Hilton Hotels, Amari, Palace or the Mandarin but have never felt so "close to Paradise" as here in 'The Sarojin'. The magic of this hotel is the perfect educated staff, unbelievable warm hearted and always focused to make your stay an unforgettable experience. Everyone, from the General Manager to the reception staff or the waitress is taking care of you in an incredibly positive manner. The rooms are super clean, large and extraordinary designed. I travel nearby 20 years to Asia but I have never experienced the quality that the cuisine of The Sarojin provides. The Food is simply superbe - fresh & delicious. The surrounding with Pool and Garden is so peaceful and perfect for relaxation. Let me point out the Path Ways Spa which is the most beautiful Spa I have ever enjoyed, the therapists are highly skilled and courteous.

That is definitely the best stay I have ever had - and if you choose The Sarojin and your experience will not be as good as my one, please come to Zurich and I am happy to offer you a glas of Champagne.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mschrofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I could go on for days about how perfect this place is but I'll just keep it simple: staff is absolutely wonderful, the food is sublime, the rooms are gorgeous. Go! It's perfect and worth every single cent. Oh, and you will never have a better breakfast in your life.

Room Tip: We had the Komson pool residence, it was amazing. Get this room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tegan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
581 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 69 in Khao Lak
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 69 in Khao Lak
932 reviews
6 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
1.3 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#18 of 69 in Khao Lak
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: £138 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing