We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word...Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Khao Lak Resort
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2011

After a week-long conference in Hong Kong, my husband and I knew we wanted to take a relaxing trip somewhere in Asia. Following exhaustive research, we settled on Khao Lak and the Ramada Resort, in large part due to many of the comments made here on tripadvisor.

We were not disappointed. This is a first class property with wonderful facilities and, perhaps more importantly, a staff that is out of this world. My husband commented on the last day that it was the type of service you get on an excellent cruise line. Friendly, always smiling and always making sure you want for nothing...we simply can't say enough about the entire staff. Such a pleasure to find a place where the art of customer service is at such a high level.

We knew that we were going in low season. Lots of rain, no swimming in the ocean and a lot of tours, facilities would be closed. This did not dampen our experience, but should be taken into consideration when making your reservation. The others staying at the resort were all friendly -- a nice family atmosphere.

We opted for the ocean front villa. What a magnificent choice. Private and lovely. The bed was big and comfy and the bathroom was luxurious with a spa tub, separate and large shower, two vanities and separate toilet area. Just a wonderful place to call home for the five days we were there. We also decided to get half board, which included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast buffet was great with plenty of choices, including made to order eggs. Dinner was marvelous. We were given a "special menu" that was chuck full of choices. My fear is that we would have three or four choices -- nope, from Thai to Western, we could have eaten dinner for a month and still not had the same meal. We stuck with Thai -- and it was excellent. Chef Nit knows his stuff and ran the kitchen with much skill. Sassi's, the beach club restaurant, was undergoing renovations -- so we ate all our meals at The Kitchen, which was more than adequate -- a very delightful room in the main part of the hotel. It was like coming together with a huge family every morning and evening -- such a nice, resort feel (in the absolute best way).

We had a wonderful experience with the tour desk. We rented a private taxi one day to take us to Phuket for shopping (about $100 USD for 8 hours) and the next day we took the Amazing 3 Temples tour -- again, we were the only ones, so we had a private tour that included a driver and an English-speaking guide. What a day! We actually went to 4 temples and visited a Sea Turtle Conservation facility. Simply an awesome day. I highly recommend this tour.

I could imagine this facility in high season and would like to visit again sometime October through March -- but we were very pleased with our experience in July. And without an ounce of reservation, wholeheartedly recommend Ramada Resort Khao Lak for families, couples, everyone.

Thank you for such a wonderful trip that we'll keep in our memories for a lifetime!

Room Tip: Ocean front villa is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Wirsching, Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

@nefariousvegas4me, Warm Greetings from Ramada Resort Khao Lak !
Thank you for your kind review and recomendations. We have shared your positive review with our employees.
We look forward to welcome you back soon
With sunny regards
Your Ramada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Had a great family holiday at the Ramada. Nice big clean modern rooms with free wireless internet. Nice pool, and direct access to the beach although swimming not always recommended during rainy season. Good breakfast with plenty choice. Extremely helpful and friendly staff which made a real difference. Had looked forward to having breakfast “on the beach”, and was a little disappointed that Sassi’s restaurant was undergoing renovation when we were there. Would definitely stay at the Ramada if coming back to Khao Lak.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familytravel_norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2011

Dear familytraveller,
Warm Greetings to Norway !
Thank you for your valuable review. We are happy to read that our services met your expectations.
We are constantly upgrading our facilities in order to offer the highest standards for our guests.
Thank you for your understanding and support.
Sunny Greetings from my Team and we look forward to see you all soon.
Michael Vorderleitner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We have just returned from 8 nights at the Ramada Khao Lak and just loved it. We got a very good deal on our stay and had a great rate with lots of inclusions.
Had beach front room, number 6107 (2nd from the end of the property, direct beach access).
There were so many positives to this stay-
* the room- the location was fantastic. Being able to look out over the ocean is such a treat. The small deck area is comfortable with a clothes airer, 2 deck chairs and an umbrella.
The room is very spacious, neutral, clean decor which I love. Comfortable bed, good pillows an a well situated sofa at the foot of the bed.
Good lighting around the bed area for reading at night.
Very clean.
Lots of storage space.
Large bathroom with spa and separate rain shower. You could block off the bathroom from the bedroom by sliding doors if necessary.
Lots of windows!
Decent enough amenities, if you needed more or other things you had a little menu to order from. Also had slippers and robes and lots of hangers.
Minibar fridge well stocked and a brand new coffee machine and kettle were situated above it. Lots of tea and coffee supplies. Milk(fresh) available from the restaurant in a small jug- complimentary.
* Staff- everyone we met was friendly and professional, from the gardeners to the guest relations and everyone in between. Well done to the Ramada- you have really good people working for you.
*Food- the Sassi Beach Cafe is being renovated, a roof top bar is being installed. All meals were available from the cafe or coffee/snacks from the coffee shop. Every meal we had was great and I thought, quite reasonably priced. Nit, the chef, has a good kitchen running!
We particularly enjoyed the Thai food the nights that we ate at the hotel. Breakfasts were also really good- lots to choose. Fresh fruit/juices, bircher muslei, yoghurt, salad bar, cold cuts and cheeses, hot food, Asian food, breads and pastries- loved it!
*Free bike use- there is a little tour on a Tuesday which is fun, we then used the bikes on the next few days to head out on our own to Chong Fah Waterfall and Laem Pakarang.
*WIFI, complimentary in the rooms and on site plus there were computers in Mellow Bean if necessary.
*Location- we liked being at Bang Niang, enough restaurants but nice and quiet with lots of beach to walk along. Coming from hot, dry Perth, we loved the storms when we were there.
*Spa- had 3 different treatments. Being there in the low season there were some good offers availabe. The stand out for me was the Aruvyedic head massage- highly recommended. The massage rooms were clean and spacious and well furnished.

Not really any negatives! We are really looking forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecareyou, Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear Gillg,
Greetings from Ramada Resort Khao Lak!
The entire Team thank you for your positive recomendation and review.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
With sunny regards
Your Ramada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel in June for nine days. We had a beach front villa which was lovely and had the sun been shinning all the time it would have been fantastic, but sadly we had quite a bit of rain but that didn't spoil it for us. The staff were absolutely some of the best we have ever met in Thailand and always had time to chat and assist you.
Unfortunately Sassi's bar was being renovated so apart from the restaurant there was no real bar as such but you could make use of the mellow bean coffee bar in the evening to have drinks. The hotel is very well situated and only a short walk to local resturants and the Market.
The room was well equipped and clean but perhaps in the rainy season it would be worth considering if a beach front villa is worth the extra money, however in the high season I would say go for this every time.

The food in the restaurant was lovely and the breakfast is plentiful. The pool bar is also nice for mid day cocktails!

Oh and there's a four choice pillow menu!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat-Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecareyou, Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Hampshire,
Thank you for your review and that your have enjoyed your vacation in our resort.
We look forward to see you soon at Ramada Resort Khao Lak
Your Ramada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Loved it here. Could have stayed for a month or 2. It's a really warm hearted place......I stayed in 3 rooms....the pool villas are worth every cent. It's quiet and the staff are lovely without being intrusive. Some staff are highly qaulified and multi lingual. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Thailand.This would be the best.Forget about the number of stars and go for the whole package. Breakfasts are stunning. The beach is liberating and long and quiet and low season is perfection from my point of view!! :) Hope you enjoy it ias much as I did!
Jonathan Hardy: Sydney Australia

Room Tip: choose a pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jonathanmaxhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecareyou, Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear JonathanMaxHardy,
We appreciate your comments and recomendation. We have shared your experience with our employees.
Thank you and warm regards
Your Ramada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We took the pool villa for 4D3N, and this was possibly the best getaway we had. The pick-up at the airport was punctual, and when we boarded the car, we were immediately provided with 2 bottles of water for the 1 hour long journey to the resort. Check-in was smooth & fast, and they gave us an early check-in even though it was way before the official time.

The villa we had was simply big and breathtaking, with sufficient amenities like the "anti-mosquito thingy", comfortable robes & bedroom slippers, coffee machine etc. Pool was decent at about 1.3m deep, enough for a relaxing dip but maybe not for a workout. The villas were in a quiet corner which gave enough privacy, and we could hear the sound of the waves in the distance.

The service provided was fantastic; they were nice and smiled at everyone, and seemed genuinely happy to be working there. The best thing is by day 2 they could even remember our drinks by heart! The ladies at the spa really know their stuff, and the massage was one of those "authentic" kinds you would be looking forward to.

This is definitely the resort to stay in if you are looking for a good holiday experience, and lives up to their #1 reputation in tripadvisor!

Room Tip: the beachfront villa looks a little too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crapgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecareyou, Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Crapgirl,
Thank you for your kind response and recomendation.
We look forward to see you again soon.
Your Ramada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

What a treasure the Ramada Khao Lak was for us. Exquisite rooms, beautiful grounds, and a truly amazing staff. Simply put, this place is just done right.

All things being equal, what sets this place apart was the staff. They were friendly, cheerful, and super helpful. For instance, my fiancee is dairy allergic and we explained this to our waitress the first night during dinner and by the next morning, the ENTIRE staff was aware of her condition and helped her steer clear of items made with milk or butter during breakfast. That is just one example of how awesome they were too.

Go here, you will be happy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atoddholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecareyou, Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear atoddholland,
Greetings to California!
Thank you very much for your positive comment and we will share your review with our team.
We look forward to see you soon in our resort
With best regards from Ramada Resort Khao Lak
Your Ramada team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
580 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 69 in Khao Lak
930 reviews
1.9 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.1 mi away
La Vela Khao Lak
La Vela Khao Lak
#4 of 69 in Khao Lak
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Khao Lak Resort

Address: 59 Moo 5, Tumbon Kukkak, Takuapa District | Takuapa District, Khao Lak 82220, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: £61 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Khao Lak Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Khao Lak situated on the idyllic shores and pristine white sand of Khao Lak in PhangNga, Thailand, features 116 rooms and Villas, including 54 Deluxe Oasis Rooms, 22 Deluxe Lanai Rooms, 24 Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms, 8 exclusive Ocean Front Villas and 8 Private Pool Villas.The resort features "Sassi's Beach Club " serving Thai and International Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Ramada Hotel Khao Lak
Ramada Khao Lak
Khao Lak Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing