We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,151)
Filter reviews
2,151 results
Traveller rating
1,581
459
88
20
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,581
459
88
20
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmellow beandeluxe lanaipool barpool staffjacuzzi roomlow seasonocean fronthappy hourlocal restaurantspillow menugreat poolgreen peppersrelaxing holidaythe general managerrainy seasonmassage placesevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
717 - 722 of 2,151 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Ramada is a large and beautiful resort with an amazing garden, a swimming pool and a wide sandy beach right in front of the resort. Our room (3408) was very bright, spacious and with its own balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. The bathroom was clean and very roomy. However, as already stated in the title of the review, Ramada is a perfect holiday destination for families with small children.

Unfortunately this turns the beautiful pool located right in front of the beach into a children's playground which looses all of it's attractions to guest without children. There are also not enough of sun beds for all guests. Even though booking the sun chairs is prohibited, those guests who arrive a bit later tend to end up without a sun bed. Furthermore the sun beds are places only around the pool and packed so tightly next to each other that there is no privacy at all - see photo - it get's as crowded as on Patong beach. This is just not up to standard for a resort of this quality and it is even less understandable given the large grounds and beach available for placing sun-loungers in a bit more private way.

Breakfast, even though delicious, is hectic and noisy, as nearly all tables are placed inside the restaurant without using much of the terrace and the garden. This is a missed opportunity as that would allow much more privacy and much nicer ambience for enjoying an otherwise very good breakfast.

Overall, Ramada is a great choice for families, but if you are a couple and are looking for a relaxing and romantic getaway, choose the 'Chong Fah' next door (see our review 'A very pleasant surprise').

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sensula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRamadaKhaolak, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear sensula, greetings to Europe from Khao Lak

Thank you for your review and comments here on TA. It is very much appreciated.
We are happy to read that you were satisfied overall.
Your improvement points are noted.
In response to your review, I would like to make a few remarks on our behalf as well.

We classify our resort as a small to medium sized property with only 116 rooms.
As you have stayed with us during the most busiest family season time of the year, you did indeed experience many families with children over this peak and festive season time. This being however an exception to the norm and the ratio by our record is just 10% children throughout the year. It did get crowded at the lower end of the infinity edge pool where below the kids pool is located. I apologize for that.

We have over 180 sun beds in place, on the pool deck and at the beach side, where in general this is sufficient unless during maintenance which did not affect your period, I apologize if you felt that there were not enough sunbeds.
We are unable to place more sun beds onto the beach as all beaches in Thailand belong to the public and are not private, in addition for another reason not to clutter sun beds on the beach like at Patong.
We try to achieve a good balance of capacity and space. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with our strategy.

We also have utilized the entire veranda and parts of the garden extended for the breakfast.

The Ramada Team thanks you for your time and holiday spent at our resort.

Stephan Faessler
Your Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Spent one week there with my wife and 7yo daughter.
Hotel is nice and not too big.
Pool and beach are nice and well maintained.
A little bit too less sunbeams maybe.
Rooms are good enough and we even got a free upgrade to a jacuzzi room. Though we did not really use it because it's so loud there is no relaxation possible.
Breakfast was the weakest point. Expected much more than this average kind of standard breakfast. Allow as there but nothing was really yummi and the staff does not clean any table untill you force them too.
Staff is also a week point because they are hardly able to speak English so communication is very difficult with them.
Mini club was also disappointing because there was no stuff most times or stuff was there but not able to talk English.
Restaurants around the hotel are great.
So...nice hotel for a week but not with kids and not for having great breakfast.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Rookie73-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRamadaKhaolak, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Rookie73-1

Greetings to India and thank you for your stay with us.
We appreciate your feedback here on TA and take note of your improvement points.

We are pleased to know that you are overall happy with the resort, pool and beach facilities and services.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that the jacuzzi room you have stayed was noisy. We apologize for this inconvenience.

The daily breakfast spread is an above-average-four-star sumptuous offer, with an additional high season selection even. In general most of our guests are very satisfied with this selection and I apologize if you felt that there are some variations missing. If you are looking for more varieties then perhaps a five star resort is your best bet.

Basic English communication is provided by all staff except by our trainees, for any issues in regards to communication we have our Supervisors to assist. I apologize if you have expected more and this is part of the English knowledge skill level of this area, we will continue our efforts and improve on English training needs nevertheless, as this is a priority to us. Thank you for pointing it out.

The kids club is officially open from 8am until 5pm and we organize activities if there are requests for such as we don't have children everyday and our talented kids club assistant Khun Kann is supporting the breakfast team in the mornings, for security reasons not to leave the children alone, we close the kids club, but it is available by notifying us at anytime.

The Ramada Team thanks you for your stay

Stephan Faessler
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMRamadaKhaolak, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The whole family (6 of us) found our stay to be most enjoyable especially the ecologically questionable but utterly mesmerising sight of hundreds of lanterns being launched along the beach on New Years Eve. The hotel cant be faulted for comfort and service including the
discovery and repatriation of an embarrassing number of items of clothing left behind in our rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roderick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRamadaKhaolak, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hi Roderick

Thank you for your positive review here on TA, appreciated.
Thank you also for your families' stay with us. We did find good use for your clothing, no worries ;-)

We hope to welcome you back with us in the future.

Stephan Fassler
GM and Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMRamadaKhaolak, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews