We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”

The Wang Saen Suk Hell Garden
Ranked #7 of 22 things to do in Chonburi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It's not for everyone, but if you can make the day trip or book a night near Bangsaen (Baan Term Fun Hotel is cheap, clean, and modern), do it. You won't find anything like this anywhere else in the world, and while it's not a "beautiful" temple, it certainly has a pull all its own.

On the other hand, I have to acknowledge it's somewhat rundown. You can tell some statues have been built or painted more recently, while the plaster has cracked and broken on a few. Most are in decent condition, though. Each statue is accompanied by a description of the sin associated with that punishment.

In any case, if you're open to something a little off the beaten path and a little outside the usual sights, you should make time for Hell Garden.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    32
    13
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“weird - but interesting”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

first you think it is misspelled. But it is not! Statues displaying all sorts of bad things humans do and the punishments waiting for thee crimes. Religious place, but very different from temples spread all over Thailand. Free, but you make a small donation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jtjkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unknown
1 review
“It was a kind of fun!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I had visited this place just for fun but found it showed the Thai people's views of life and death. Well...it was fun though.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bale454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“not JUST another temple - staues for each year of the .....”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I live just down the road from here and take all my visitors. it is very different to anything i have seen in Thaiand, it is gruesome and so not what you expect in this calm and friendly country. there are a lot of English translations. it is all about what happens when you sin. I have often seen children there but prob would not take under teenagers. it is run on donations, a bit run down but worth the walk. there is a little shop that sells your year of ... necklaces , the lady will look up your dates and they are cheaper than anywhere i have seen. also the biggest turtles i have ever seen and you can feed them greeney. they share a lake with huge cat fish. take your camera.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank nickybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What lies below”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Take some time and be sure to stroll through this garden. It is just an hour from Pattaya, towards Bangkok. I first became acquainted with the subject of specific punishments for specific sins in Bali and I am interested in this topic. And when I learned of the existence of such a place not far from my place of rest, I had no doubt - is worth seeing. Local visit this place with kids - it's fun and instructive.
A leisurely stroll through the garden takes you an hour and a half. In the garden are mini-scenes of punishment for sins. What awaits in hell bribe, the bureaucrat, an alcoholic - all shown very clearly. Of course, everyone has their own faith, but agree - than to suffer for the sins then, better not to do at all. In any case, even if not presented sculptures will drive you into deep thought, then amuse fairly.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank MyMp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wang Saen Suk Hell Garden also viewed

 
Chonburi, Chonburi Province
Chonburi, Chonburi Province
 

Been to The Wang Saen Suk Hell Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing