We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mercure Hotel Chonburi
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Chonburi
Changzhou, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really nice place, great service”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The standard is as good as any in the west. 3 stars is underrating it, it should be at least 4. Everyone was very helpful, the place was immaculate and it ws very centrally located. The English is a little rough but everyone is enthusiastic and tries hard.

The Chinese restaurant is very good and very pretty. Nice special occasion place for those without a budget. Excellent food but make sure they put the chilis in. They definitely tone it down for the falangs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

My first 3 weeks in thailand were spent at the Mercure in Chonburi. This hotel was nice, the staff were all very friendly - some were very excited to practice their English on us - can't say that our Thai was up to the same standard but they were very patient and we did try!
The food here was really nice - all freshly made and really full of flavour - I think we ate in the restaurant every evening (definitely wasn't brave enough to try the food from the stalls at the side of the road) The breakfast was really good - they put on a huge selection so there is something to please everyone - from fresh breads and croissants to eggs and even noodles, fish and rice! Plenty to go around - although you will find that it isn't as warm if you go down a bit later - if you aim to be there at 6 then the food is piping hot and amazing. There is a chef there to cook fresh eggs every morning too.
We were in the business/ club rooms on the top floor - amazing view of the city (and the construction site out the back) the only downside in my opinion is that the internet was really quite expensive. The rooms were well kept and other than some difficulty with our toilet which wouldnt flush I couldnt fault the room at all. There is a little coffee machine in the communal area which was nice - there are DVDs and books to borrow as well.

My friend and I rented a car from Pattaya (which by the way was terrifying- but you get used to it quickly) so it meant that we could drive to the sights around Chonburi- up to Bangkok and down to Pattaya and Sattahip. The public transport is pretty decent so you don't need a car to get about, I think route 3 runs straight past the hotel so you definitely won't be stuck without transport, plenty of Tuk Tuks and buses - private hire taxis are a little more expensive.
There is a supermarket within walking distance to pick up anything you may have forgotten and plenty of shops to pick up a bargain nearby.
Chonburi itself isnt a place frequented by tourists, but it is certainly a friendly place - I got a £3 haircut (best I think Ive had ever) and a £3 back massage, all the locals were very willing to help. Being 5"11 and very very white a lot of people did stare - but you do get used to it, they just aren't used to tourists.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeryBerry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

This is my 3rd stay at this hotel. Book from 28th July to 30th July. Check-in at 8pm, efficient and hassle free. I stay at the superior room on the 5th floor, view is obstructed, but anyway, no time for any view. Room's clean and tidy, house keeping did a good job. Breakfast at the restaurant was simple but delicious. Try the local noodles, it's fantastic, the best. The staff at the restaurant never failed to top up my cup of coffee. Check out was fast although there seems to be a little problem on the drinks from the mini-bar that i did not consumed. The front desk is professional. Mercure Chonburi scores well for its hotel rating. I'll be back.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Not know yet
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AsherAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2006

We stayed for two weeks at this hotel in Chonburi and were pleasantly surprised. We opted to pay the extra to upgrade to the Deluxe room and we are glad we did. If you stay on the lower floors in the hotel, your view will be very limited and mostly of corrugated iron! On our movement to the top floor, we were really impressed by how far (and how much more) we could see! Free coffee and fruit are provided for guests on the top floor and if you drink coffee like we do, it's worth upgrading as you would spend more buying the drinks downstairs.

Breakfast in the Mercure is average, it has a good choice but they seem to put everything out at once and when it is gone, it's gone! I often found myself going down to breakfast at 8.30am to find there was no bread or bakery products left.

They have two restuarants inside the hotel, the Chinese restaurant is highly recommended. I didn't appreciate the Terrace as much. We had a good range of the food whilst we were there due to the lack of decent eating places in the surrounding area and we worked out that if you left eating until later, your meal seemed to be less inviting. We often had room service at lunchtime and it was often cold, sadly.

Whilst we were there, they were making a garden room on the third floor which looks lovely, it's a shame the sun doesn't hit it, but it's nice to sit out there and watch the world go by.

The staff are all very pleasant and friendly. I thought the housekeeping staff did brilliantly, they really did well to tidy up for us every day. Sometimes they ignore the DND signs and knock asking if you would like the room cleaned which is a little annoying if you want a mid-afternoon nap but mostly I found the staff to be obliging in everything you ask for!

Do not miss the chocolate cake (or any cake for that matter) when you are at this hotel, it is to die for!

All in all, I can't really complain about this hotel, it was comfortable, clean and inviting. If I went to Chonburi again (which is doubtful as there is nothing of interest nearby) then I would definitely stay here.

  • Liked — Coffee machine on Deluxe floor was heavenly - best coffee ever
  • Disliked — The lift music - it made me suicidal!
  • Tips/Secrets — Upgrade to deluxe - it's worth it for a couple of pounds!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sapphoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2006

As this is my first stay in the Mercure Chon Buri, my first instinct is to compare it with all the other Mercure hotels in Europe that I have stayed and what a difference it was.

The first was that this hotel is rated 3 stars which I compared to the european ones in which I must say was alright, but this hotel stands out becauce the rooms was tastefully furnished, yet not luxurious and it's staff are extremely polite/efficient.

This hotel is centrally located in Chonburi's city centre and yet away from the usual tourist spots like Bangsaen and Pattaya, but I wanted
to stay away from the usual tourist areas, so I tried this hotel because of it's location and since I need to stay connected to the internet because it is one of the few hotels that offers high speed connection from the room, I was not dissapointed.

The reception was very polite and efficient as their main clients are Thai families on weekend or bussinessman on weekdays, the rooms is very good for a 3 star rating with good airconditioning and minibar in all the rooms, but the highest praise must go to the hotel staff from the receptionist to the housekeeper who was at all times polite and efficient during my 11 day stay.
I won't hesitate in recommanding this hotel as I am quite a fussy
client in which I normally hand out more criticism that praise.

I would like to hear some feedback from this hotel if anybody stayed there so I can decide on whether the quality was maintained.

  • Liked — Very good airconditioning
  • Disliked — Hot waters in the shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Not for anyone who wants to be close to a tourist attraction
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank henri1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chonburi hotels
6.6 mi away
Chon Inter Hotel
Chon Inter Hotel
#14 of 39 in Chonburi
49 reviews
5.4 mi away
J Park Hotel
J Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Chonburi
10 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bangsaen Heritage Hotel
Bangsaen Heritage Hotel
#1 of 39 in Chonburi
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Laemtong Serviced Apartments
37.6 mi away
Opey de Place Hotel
Opey de Place Hotel
#2 of 39 in Chonburi
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kameo Hotel Amata Bangpakong
Kameo Hotel Amata Bangpakong
#11 of 39 in Chonburi
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Chonburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Chonburi

Property: Mercure Hotel Chonburi
Address: 934 Sukhumvit Road | Bangplasoi, Muang, Chonburi 20000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Chonburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Chonburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Chonburi is an international standard hotel situated in the gateway city of Thailands Eastern Seaboard. It features 148 rooms, 2 restaurants, Bakery Corner and 7 conference rooms. Its strategic location combines business convenience with a perfect weekend escape. Adjacent to the Amata Nakorn, Borwin and Laemchabang Deep Sea Port industrial parks, the Mercure Chonburi hotel is located in the centre of the city, just a 45 minute drive out of Bangkok and the well known resort of Pattaya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mercure Hotel Chonburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chon Buri
Mercure Hotel Chonburi Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing