We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cliff & River Jungle Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great scenery”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Beautiful resort, spread out, so the bungalows feel private enough.
We were in a bungalow up the hill, so a little bit of a walk to the restaurant for food.

You really feel like you're in the middle of nature, you can see the stars in the sky, and hear the insects in the forest, and see the geko's in your bathroom!

We got a train in from Bangkok which was 3 hours late. We were worried that the transfer we had booked would have gone, but they were still there waiting at the station, great service.

The only down side was the bedlinen, there was just a very simple bottom sheet, and no top sheet, so if you like something on top of you then you're out of luck.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam_and_amy_drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    69
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
31
73
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have just returned from 2 nights staying at the Cliff and River Jungle Resort. I was quite excited to be staying here after seeing the photos on their website, but I must say the room did not meet up to my expectations. There were holes in the floor and you could see down to the ground below, the furniture was worn and tired, the sheets were dirty and the hot water was tepid. Breakfast was included in the price, but there were no vegan options on offer. The staff were however accommodating as they could be and provided Corn Flakes when asked (to go with the soy milk we bought ourselves).

Good points about this resort was the surroundings. It is in a beautiful location and not too far to drive to some beautiful landmarks. Food on offer at the restaurant for dinner was good and varied and the dining area was nice. The pool was also lovely and sitting on the deck was nice.

In all, not a terrible place to stay but over priced considering the state of the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edgarsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Okay, when we arrived here, I really felt like entering Jurassic Park :) What a great place! You're not actually in the Khao Sok National Park, but the nature here is just as great. We stayed three nights here (you shouldn't stay longer), and just spent an entire morning sitting on our great bamboo balcony and watching the jungle breathing in and out and the mist flowing over the cliff top. That brings me to my most important advise: be sure to rent a cliff top view room!! We were glad not to stay in one of the houses near the river (near dark jungle and wild yellow water). In the restaurant, you should really try the different curries or a freshly catched fish. When you want to go to the National Park, just ask someone of the staff and they will bring you for a few 100 B. Not so great: the bed linnen with some stains on it, but hey, you're in the jungle ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseertink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This place is somewhat isolated, sitting by itself off the main road, a few kilometers/miles from the turn-off to Khao Sok national forest. It's on a steep slope down to a river, with cabins at three different levels. Opposite are some of the stunning karst rock formations that soar into the sky, clouded in mist during the rainy season. We stayed in the cabins at the bottom by the river. There are about 30 cabins in pairs around a grassy area that is planted with rambutan (fruit) trees. The cabins are basic but have a/c, a fridge with three bottles of water, balconies with chairs, a TV but no phone. The bathrooms are open-air, they work fine once you get used to the bugs. Luckily, mosquitoes didn't seem to be in season when we were there, but a largish moth cast a circling shadow over the sink. There's an open-air restaurant in the garden area that served decent food for breakfast and dinner. Nothing special, but you're there for the scenery. It's about a 45-minute drive to the pier for the reservoir (created by a dam) where you can take two-hour boat trips to see the karst rock formations jutting out of the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laidback84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
391 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The setting for this hotel really is spectacular. It is built on a hill side with the Sok river in the valley below and an enormous cliff opposite. Apparently the site used to be a rubber tree plantation!
All the villas have their own little terrace and at the bottom is a very good restaurant ( menus available in English). There is a small swimming pool midway between reception and the restaurant.
In the reception area is an excellent coffee shop which also sells commemorative Khao Sok t-shirts.
The resort is secluded and there are no shops or other hotels in the immediate vicinity. If you have mobility problems, there are quite steep steps although it is possible to get down to the restaurant by an alternative route. Various activities can be arranged ( elephant trekking, canoeing etc)
The only criticism concerns the staff or more accurately how they dress. Everything about the resort is traditionally Thai style and how much better it would be if reception and restaurant staff were dressed Thai style...if nothing else it would make it easier to know who were staff and who were guests!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suratrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The resort is quite far from Phuket. It took about 2.5 hours drive.
However, it worth driving because sceneries along the way were stunning
especially it was just after rains on that day I went to the resort.

The resort is located further up from Khao Sok national park and nestled by
mountains and river as its name. It was great feeling hugged by the nature.

The resort consists of many bungalows both big (for families) and small (for couples)
in natural design style. So, you cannot expect room decor and facilities like normal hotels.
It is just simply basic.

There is one all day dinning restaurant. The food is quite expensive plus there are very very few outside restaurants at least you have to drive for over 5 kilo meters. However, the food and taste is very good. Breakfast is set up for right combination of portions and varieties.

You can find interesting activities at Khao Sok national park to participate during the stay.

I had a very nice time there and looking forward to coming back again with more friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Here is a place far away from the city. No phone signal, but also has Wifi Free Lobby but the rooms are very comfortable. Including waterfront restaurants that cook very delicious. And value for money to be paid more. Including the most delicious breakfast. The disadvantage little time to walk to the Lobby restaurant during difficult. Not suitable for the very elderly. I hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Please choose room TYPE "C" for great view and nearby Lobby for connect internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tudut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
6.0 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
6.2 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
5.5 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Khaosok Boutique Camps
Khaosok Boutique Camps
#2 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
6.2 mi away
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
#11 of 50 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.9 mi away
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
#5 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff & River Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff & River Jungle Resort

Property: The Cliff & River Jungle Resort
Address: Khao Sok National Park, Surat Thani, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff & River Jungle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Cliff & River Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff & River Jungle Hotel Surat Thani
The Cliff And River Jungle Resort
The Cliff & River Jungle Resort Thailand/Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing