We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, fun setting but showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Surat Thani
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Quirky, fun setting but showing its age”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The grounds of this place are practically right in the jungle, and it's fun winding through the paths, stairs, and walkways to get to your room. But the place has probably seen better days, and it was not a great value considering the slightly run-down room we had. It's also a slight hike to go down near the park entrance where there is a concentration of restaurants and bars, so I would have preferred to stay in one of the places in that area instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    66
    58
    30
    20
See reviews for
80
88
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here and were VERY DISAPOINTED. As soon as you walk into the room you are hit with an awful musty, stinky smell. The rooms are as if they haven’t been cleaned in ages. Don’t let the pictures on their website fool you. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and it was awful so I cant imagine what the others rooms would look like. The shower was horrible. We stayed here 3 days and only showered once because the water temperature was so unpredictable you could be burnt one second then be sprayed with ice water the next. There were multiple soft spots in the floor so it felt like you could fall through the floor with one wrong step. The bedding never appeared to be clean. The staff were rude and awful! Only 1 staff member spoke English (which is fine and expected in a foreign country) but when they couldn’t understand us they became angry and short with us. We only received half the food we ordered from the kitchen (but were charged for it all) We were unaware the facility even had a pool until the last day there. I left feeling ripped off. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyB196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surat Thani hotels

dublin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

If you're expecting any level of comfort from your stay at Khao Sok National Park, then do not stay here. The rooms are grotty and the sheets on our bed had red drops stained all over... looked like blood but could have been anything. Our hammock was the tarp from the tent, hung in our room, which smelled so musty it would almost sting your eyes. I understand we were in the jungle in rainy season but it was more than that, it was old and in need of some serious attention. There was nowhere to put your things, so our suitcases stayed on the floor along with everything else. I'm annoyed at how much we paid per night too, I think it worked out at about €110 - I feel so ripped off.
The staff can't be faulted, they're very friendly and helpful. The food is lovely and there's a great selection on the menu too. Overall, it was a disappointing stay in Khao Sok, for the price they charged I was expecting a whole lot more. I have stayed in much more beautiful places in Thailand for a lot less money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Great setting. Small bungalows located in the trees. You sleep as if you are really in the jungle, including the sound of the river and elevated walking bridges. The room was a bit clammy as we slept there in the rain season. Our room had only a ven. Maybe it's better here to take a room with a/c. The owners were very nice and helpful. The food was lovely. We did one of the tours they offered, the one day lake tour which was very interesting and worth spending a day on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We were hoping for a nature experience at khao sok treehouse. What we found were basic rooms for $30/night. We stayed three nights since they were already pre-booked. The following night, we walked down the way and rented a room at Morning Mist for $10/night. It was way more natural and clean.
We also didn't enjoy all of the metal railings at the treehouse. It took away from the natural environment.
We will not return here. There are nicer places nearby for way better value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsytravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at this place during our honeymoon, and enjoyed every bit of it. We were upgraded bamboo camp room which was quite nice with all the facilities and a campsite decor, loved the open bathroom. although the shower was not too great. The owner Sakda and his family took good care of us, being a vegeterain its difficult to get good variety of food, but they always fixed something for both of us. It was really calm and peaceful experience. The dining area was also nice with logs of woods styled as tables and chairs. It was a very relaxing experience. We took elephant trek, which turned out to be a half an ride on elephant back and nothing more, hence can be avoided, please do go for canoeing, its too much fun.

Room Tip: They have theme based rooms, so check for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayank_Nagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We were booked in here for three night & we were really looking forward to the experience. We arrived the first afternoon to very old & tired rooms, it was not very clean. It was advertised as air conditioned, however only parts of it were. The pool area is completely covered in mosquitoes and uninviting. Getting ready for dinner we had a RAT in one of the bathrooms. We did enjoy our dinner. The food for dinner was the only nice thing.
We headed off to bed and had perhaps a 1/2 hours sleep when we were woken by MORE RATS going through our luggage, they ran up the staircase directly up to where the small children were sleeping, we had to move our kids all back downstairs to be safe, we had 4 people in one bed & 3 in another. Needless to say we did not get much sleep. The rats contined to rummage through our things all night long. We spoke to the owners the next morning and told them of our night visitors, not sure if they believed us, didn't really seem to care, they offered us another room but we declined, the holes in the bathroom walls were so big, there was nothing to stop the rats & the kids were terrified. We were hoping that this would be the highlight of our couple of weeks in Thailand. IT WAS NOT !!!!!!! We were eventually given one nights refund but charged for the other two and then we had to find alternative accomodation. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kylieanne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
0.3 mi away
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#7 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#5 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
75 reviews
55.0 mi away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#1 of 49 in Surat Thani
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khaosok Island Resort
Khaosok Island Resort
#2 of 49 in Surat Thani
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Tree House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Tree House Resort

Property: Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Address: 233 Moo. 6, Surat Thani 84250, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Khao Sok Tree House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best choice on your holiday in the south of thailand we are stay 800 meter befor khao sok national park please visit us for the best of service that we away offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Khao Sok Tree House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Tree House Hotel Surat Thani
Khao Sok Tree Hotel
Khao Sok Tree Resort
Khao Sok Tree House Resort Thailand/Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing