We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok !”
Review of Diamond Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamond Plaza
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This isn't a hotel you're going to stay at and say wow - the best hotel I've ever been in. to be fair it isn't the worst either, it's just OK.

After a lot of moaning from people about their standard rooms there is a policy in place to only sell junior suites to foreign guests. The thinking behind this is that the rooms will be more aligned to your expectations and everyone will be happy.

I was told that if you book a standard room they never check your Thai nationality so you'll get away with it. Don't quote me but that's what I was told. As it is the Junior Suite cost us 2500 baht per night plus an additional 500 baht for a third roll away bed. I try not to comment on value for money as everyone's perception is different but we thought it wasn't expensive.

The room it's self was fine. A large bathroom with seperate shower and bath. The plastic shower curtain meant a bit of water on the floor but towels soon sorted that out. A fridge with drinks and a kettle / drinks powders.

The hotel has a pool which supposedly was 50 baht per person to use but we were never charged and the room maid gave us towels to use. There is a karaoke bar near the pool which was deserted when we poked our head through the door one evening. The Western songs were in no particular order other than their number on the system so impossible to look anything up.

This is a Thai hotel located in a provincial town. It isn't a tourist hot spot and neither is it a centre of commerce so as a result you might feel a little alien. Breakfast was not the finest I have tasted. Asian people eat savoury dishes for breakfast and I haven't actually got a problem doing the same myself. But even the rice had chilli in it ! So it was a slice of toast and a paid for cafe latte from the reception coffee station. Cereal wouldn't go amiss especially given the number of western bodies sitting at breakfast.

Location wise there isn't really a right or wrong location for hotels in Surat Thani. Ther plaza is just across the (busy) road from the plaza shopping centre a huge modern developement. We had a car and drove there, we also drove to several restaurants nearby (with a local friend who was looking after us and was born in Surat Thani). Similarly we drove out past the airport to see some temples and silk factories in the outlying villages.

The airport is extremely easy to get to by car from the Hotel and is 20-30 minutes away.

Overall the hotel is clean enough but quite dated. Faded pictures of Arnold Schwarzenegger in his body building days in the Gym and some babe in a 1980's dance leotard in the hall way sum the place up.

For us it did the job. If we were in the area I would stay again but if someone suggested a better alternative it wouldn't take much to persuade me to try it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

The hotel is located well for Central Plaza and there it ends. A very tired hotel that has far to many stars in its rating, it would struggle to get one. No room facilities I.e kettle, no temp control on air con, hair dryer by request if they remember, very hard bed with one leg missing, broken lamp shades, and poor maintenance on room. Bed linen very tired only blankets on bed. Breakfast is so basic, would not suit western standards. American breakfast that is advertised consists of fried egg, ham soaking in hot water and the small round Thai sausages, no egg station and totally self service. The breakfast room is dirty and dilapidated with worn out furnishings .
A hotel to avoid unless you are really desperate.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night.
We had a room on the 11th floor with view on a canal or river. When opening the window a nasty smell comes up. This we didn't experience in the room.
The airco was off due to maintenance, later that evening it was in operation again. One big disadvantage you cannot control the airco. Only after removing the main key it switches off.
Pour system.
The beds were very hard, it kept me awake for a long time.
The bathroom had a separate shower which we found pleasant.
For dinner we went to the big shopping centre using a local bus/mini taxi.
The breakfast was in a very big room without a nice athmosphere and the food was mainly Asian.
I will not recommend this hotel for more then 1 night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred_1956085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed here before on our way to airport. Nice clean rooms would be better if they had tea and coffee making facilites. Breakfast was disappointing this time only Asian on offer and no fruit or cereal. Requested some bacon was told there would be a charge. When we stayed the last time there was no problem very nice staff in the dining room who brought a plate of bacon to the table. As this hotel is used mainly for people (lots of foreigners) either going to the airport or Koh Samui it is not too much to ask to have a little european choice, especially a hotel of this standard. There are plenty of shopping options nearby Tesco Lotus with eating outlets and now the new Central which is round the corner and has about 30 eating outlets.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed 3 nights in early Nov.

Pros: Big rooms and closets, decent view, cost

Cons: Communication

Biggest problem -communication with staff. Language isn't an issue with me having lived in 5 different countries in different continents as one can always get-by with some non-verbal cues, gestures, patience etc. However, at this hotel -the staff while nice -seem to be absolutely clueless about what's being asked/ said. I recommend to have a native help you.

Amenities: No hot water on day 2 due to lots of people checking in.

Wifi- awful -they charge you 100 Bahts/ 24 hours but it doesn't pay for itself unless you're downstairs in the lobby. Tried to use it on the 16th floor and the connection was very slow and kept getting disconnected.

Cleanliness: Generally clean but rooms of some ceilings have mold building.

Breakfast: Would make for a good lunch -but a bit spicy for mornings and no options for cereal, toast, eggs etc.

Overall: No real option in Surat Thani to stay at- so if you absolutely must then you'll get by fine at this hotel -just don't expect it to function like a 3-star hotel or better.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the 3rd floor for a 'better' WIFI signal !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royaldane375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

A pleasant Surprise ...
lavish rooms especially their new wing .. really beautiful ... and very reasonable priced, it was actually a very pleasant surprise ...
Food quality is really delicious ... staff is amiable & quick
Good Centrally Located Hotel , everything for shopping & leisure are closeby ..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgoyal007_hg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Surat Thani is a gateway/transit town to Koh Samui, 1.5 hours flight from Bangkok. Hotel is located about 40 minutes away from Surat Thani airport. Hotel exterior looks OK. In fact, it is one of the tallest building in town. However, room quality is so-so. Room looks dated, bed is too hard for me, no kettle, TV is still CRT type (however, selection of TV channels are OK) and internet is chargeable (100 baht for 24 hrs). Breakfast is mostly local food. The one thing I like is the availability of local fruit "longan", taste is good. This is rare because hotel (in TH) seldom serves this fruit. Also impressed with the touch key entry system to the room, probably better than many 4* or even 5* hotel. For a room charge of 30-40 USD per night and in Surat Thani, I really couldn't ask for more. So, need to calibrate your expectation on hotel quality.

Room Tip: Choose a room at higher floors for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
0.9 mi away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#1 of 52 in Surat Thani
85 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Thara Hotel
Grand Thara Hotel
#24 of 52 in Surat Thani
29 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wang Tai Hotel
Wang Tai Hotel
#25 of 52 in Surat Thani
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The One Hotel
The One Hotel
#14 of 52 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#4 of 52 in Surat Thani
51 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kaew Samui Resort
Kaew Samui Resort
#13 of 52 in Surat Thani
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Plaza

Address: 83/27 Sriwichai Road, Moo 2 Makamita, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Surat Thani
Price Range: £17 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diamond Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Plaza Thailand/Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing