We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Debstar2000

Sterile accommodation

Review of Tapee Hotel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jul 2012via mobile
Well, where do i start. we booked this room purely as s crash pad between the return ferry from koh phangnan and the departing train to Malaysia. whilst the cleanliness of the room was acceptable the decore left a lot to be desired - the rooms are basic with stark white lighting. the reception staff were also very helpful seeming to begrudge us interrupting their dinner. when we asked how to get to the train station an offer of a taxi booking for midnight and a wakeup call were offered - this never came to fruition so we had to flag down a tuktuk (not many around at that time of night). In all id have to say there must be better places to stay in this rundown little town.
Date of stay: July 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£13
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £12
  • Agoda.com
    £11
  • Expedia.com
    £14
0.2 miles from Tapee Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Experience Surat thani’s attractions while you are staying at CBD Surat Thani Famous shopping malls are within walking distance from the hotel. Besides, the tourist attractions and cultural sites await you to explore while you’re here. Among the top places include the San jao night market street, Surat Thani Shrine, Surat Thani City Pillar Market, Surat Thani Antiques Market and Surat Thani Walking Street and many more.
£13
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £12
  • Trip.com
    £11
  • Agoda.com
    £11
0.0 miles from Tapee Hotel
Free parking
£15
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £14
  • Agoda.com
    £13
  • Expedia.com
    £16
0.5 miles from Tapee Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£11
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    £10
  • Agoda.com
    £11
  • Hotels.com
    £10
0.4 miles from Tapee Hotel
£6
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £6
  • Agoda.com
    £5
  • Expedia.com
    £12
0.1 miles from Tapee Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£16
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £17
  • Agoda.com
    £15
  • Expedia.com
    £17
1.7 miles from Tapee Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Chimpanzee Pod Twin Bed
£17
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £18
  • Agoda.com
    £16
  • Expedia.com
    £22
0.4 miles from Tapee Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£7
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    £8
  • Agoda.com
    £5
  • Vio.com
    £7
Free Wifi
Room service
ห้องนอน ห้อนนั่งเล่น แยกสัดส่วน แอร์ 2 ตัว
£10
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £10
  • Vio.com
    £9
  • Expedia.com
    £10
2.5 miles from Tapee Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
SR Hotel
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    £8
  • Booking.com
3.0 miles from Tapee Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Surat Thani
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
9
34
35
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9
34
35
9
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

We came from Koh Phangan and needed to stay until the next day to take a bus.
The place is clean and it's a basic hotel but better than a guesthouse or a backpackers place.

Not expensive, with ac and free wifi. Close to the city center.

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ialvarez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We have just spent one night at Tapee on our way to Koh Tao. The hotel is ideally located for the pier with the boats to the islands.

We paid 550B (£11) for a double room with good A/C. The bed was clean and the shower was warm. We were also given access to free wifi in the lobby which worked well. We had a fridge/freezer in the room too. The 'bell boys' were friendly and helpful and the reception staff were friendly too.

Although the bed was clean, there were nail clippings in the bathroom. There was also a dinner plate with left over food on it left outside the room opposite from 4pm when we checked in until 8am when we checked out, even though the staff had walked past twice to show us to our room. I think it's this attention to detail which prevents this hotel from a better rating.

We would not recommend eating in the hotel 'restaurant' as half way through my meal I found two small maggots in my rice. I did not get ill from this but it was still very off-putting!

Long and short of it - if you have to stay in Suratthani (which I would avoid if at all possible) then this is a fine place just to spend a night - but with the complete lack of anywhere to eat I would go to 7/11 and stock up on dried food!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSurrey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent one night here (550 baht) so we could catch the train the next morning. Surat Thani itself doesn't have much to offer tourists and I think most people only stay one night or two max. Rooms are clean and spacious, only gripe is that wifi is only in the lobby, but at least it was working there with good signal. Staff were helpful at check in. Night market is worth strolling through and is about 5 mins away. Orange bus is only 20 baht to/from train station and they run frequently, but not quite so frequently in the weekends. It took us about an hour on a Saturday morning but we did just miss a bus.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiAbroadGally2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Since we were traveling in a group of motorcycles we needed a big hotel. This place has enough rooms for all of us. I rate it as average. The lobby is spacious, however it lacks the charm. Felt very chinese here.
There rooms were big too. But then again it has no vibes at all. Its just good for a night as a stop-over. However if you need a budget room situated within the city, then this is the place. Its a walking distance to the night market, town centre and the pier to Koh samui/Phangan.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abg_Acid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed 1 night at Tapee hotel during waiting for a flight early morning from Suratthani to Bangkok. The deluxe room that hotel offered was good as it cheap for 550 Baht only! And the room was big and clean, around hotel has many restaurant during the night as well. The taxi (which reception called for us) from hotel to Airport at 500 baht takes time around 20 minutes.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice_Ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews