We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dancing Elephant Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
tel aviv i
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

great place for young people mostlly around 18-26 years old . a little over priced especially the fm party rate. very helpfull stuff. very safe room but you have a locker too if you want. they have very goog and cheap tai food.

Room Tip: try to get "forst floor" bed to have more privecy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddffuunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    24
    5
    8
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
3
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here for five nights, and there is nothing to complain about. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they do everything to make your stay the best as possible. This is definitely the best hostel i've stayed in- and the rooms are very clean.
A great social place:)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martefrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Sweet, fun, helpful and welcoming staff! The hostel it's self is really sosial, and your garanteed to meet new friends! Really one of my favourites. Beach is also just a five minute walk. If you like a good party, good people and a beach nearby- this is the perfect place for you!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Staff were often so fun they were hungover and unavailable. However when they were around they were very friendly! Unfortunately we booked a triple private room which was actually in a neighbouring hostel so we felt little out of the loop but still partied with the dancing elephant guests. The street parties attract lots of people from other hostels so if social is what you're after dancing elephant is the place to be

Room Tip: Confirm where your rooms will be if travelling with friends as they are all spread out across 2 or 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 206Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lurgan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband has just stayed hear and had only booked 1 night 2 start with and stayed 3 in the end very good value for money, such friendly people and would really go out of their way 2 help you, we also went 2 half moon party which was a great experience and we r gona come back next year for full moon and will defo book hear 2 stay loved it!!!!! Such a beautiful family and great place

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Me and my friends stayed here for 5 nights during full moon. Was a bit sceptical staying in a 19 bed mixed dorm but it was a great experience. The rooms itself wasn't too bad, air con was okay. Common room on the ground floor was ideal, you could play table tennis or watch a good selection of films on I think a 37 inch flat screen tv. Security was our major concern but nothing got stole over the duration of our stay. They provided a wrist band where at night you would show it to security to let you in as the doors was locked. The street we stayed on was very lively and busy on the nights leading up to the full moon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungTraveller2k13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Great atmosphere at this place, run by lovely French owner who was happy to stop and speak to all his guests, really tries to put on a party every night and the guys who run the day to day operations were also great lads and a lot of fun. This place is the best hostel to stay at for the Full moon week, especially if like me you were traveling alone. Everyone parties outside the rooms together every night so you will definitely meet a lot of great people over your stay and you will have a lot of fun! the price could put some people off especially as you are tied in to 5 nights but I would say that its worth it. Location is very good and you get some discounts at various shops and bars through this place, make sure you get yourself over to the sunset beach bar in the afternoons to cure your hangover. Will be back here for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed-Janes-1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
0.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#30 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
0.1 mi away
Lazy House Shenanigans Guest House
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#48 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dancing Elephant Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Elephant Hostel

Property: Dancing Elephant Hostel
Address: 95/16 Moo 6, Baan Tai | Haadrin Village, Surat Thani 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DANCING ELEPHANT #1 PARTY HOSTEL is glad to offer a first advice: To fully enjoy the Full Moon festival we highly recommend to arrive Full Moon D-5. You come for a music festival, don't you? Every night, from the sunset to the dawn, warm up party, party and after party! DANCING ELEPHANT warm-up are famous, we are connected with all the major island's parties, like Jungle Experience, Maya, Sramanora...Every full moon festival we welcome international DJ's with their incredible sounds! DANCING ELEPHANT #1 PARTY HOSTEL is proposing a range of packages, suitable for all. Please take a tour on our packages page. Six years ago DANCING ELEPHANT was the first and ORIGINAL hostel in Koh Phangan. Ever since its inception it's one of the best around. Located in the heart of Haad Rin village we located very close to the famous Full Mon Party beach, Haadrin sunrise beach. You will find in the immediate surrounding shops, restaurants, massage parlors, medical center and motorbike rental shops. Our hostel is only a 2 min walk away from the FULL MOON PARTY beach. The pier 250 meters away. Whether you are traveling by yourself or with friends Dancing Elephant is the best place to meet new people and have the time of your life. Our dorms are air conditioned, comfortable and have good sized mattresses. Hot shower, hi-speed Wifi, laundry(included in the packages), 50" TV + hundreds of movies, night guard, 2 bars (in and outdoor) + animations, DJs, 3 wifi networks, travel desk, Thai and foreigner staff speaking English, proximity with the beach, deposit boxes...Travel and activities desk, Thai and international staff speaking English. In case you are traveling as a couple we also have double beds that you can book. All year round we provide the whole facilities package. Our mission is to ensure that you have the best possible time ever which is why on arrival you will receive our legendary briefing which will give you all the information you need to make your stay unforgettable and safe. We will also be happy to answer any other questions you have about the island or your onward travels. . So if it is a clean and safe (lockers, night auditor, CCTV) hostel with an exciting, entertaining, fun and friendly atmosphere that you are looking for Dancing Elephant is where you need to be. Hope to see you soon!! Check in: 11 am till late Check out: 12 pm noon Minimum stay: 5 nights for full moon week 7 nights for new year. Payments terms: 50% prepayment for full moon week and the balance due on arrival * No pre payment = no confirmed booking. No show = no refund Please cancel a full 7 days prior to arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dancing Elephant Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dancing Elephant Hostel Thailand/Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing