We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel”
Review of Kaew Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaew Samui Resort
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at Kaew Samui Resort hotel for one night. We were on a motorcycle trip and had a stopover in Surat Thani. The hotel is more than basic but for 750 Baht per night there is not much to expect. Rooms are quite simple, just a bed, desk, small TV and a fridge. Mildew allover in the bathroom. Air-condition was loud and smelly. Breakfast choice was limited, mainly Thai-food, nothing suitable for Western, except white toast with marmalade and instant coffee. Internet was in the entire hotel free of charge but very slow. I would not stay there again, however, Surat Thani leaves not many choices in terms of hotels.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

If you are tired of island wooden bungalows or miss hot water — this is a place for you. For a reasonable price (around 800 B.) you will get a very pleasant clean room with AirCon, fridge and desk, and if you pay a little extra, the room will be even better. The receptionists were very friendly, spoke good English, and checked me in without any booking in a couple of minutes.
The price includes breakfast (Thai style buffet) which starts at 6AM (so you can have breakfast and still get on an early ferry).
The restaurant's prices are not very high, but green curry was only 3 out of 5.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Victor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I really liked this hotel. They had a strange little shop on the ground floor which I liked because hey I didn't need another 7 eleven. The restaurant was good and the waiter was a really nice bloke. The receptionists were good too.

Really, I have no complaints. I was thankful to be staying somewhere so nice after the Islands and the ferry and stuff.

There were a couple of ants though. I had this problem at multiple Thai resorts. Don't spray deet on any surface you wont be able to remove it from though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Most travellers wouldn't stay in Surat Thani for any reason other than in transit, and I couldn't find anywhere with particularly good reviews so I did not expect a lot. However, this was a beautiful hotel! We paid about £25 for the most expensive room which was similar to what you would find in a good quality chain hotel. Staff were extremely friendly and treated us with a lot of respect. I noticed we were the only people staying there who were not Thai- it seemed like a Thai business hotel but staff treated us as honoured guests! We ate in the restaurant which was very cheap and very nice. Even at breakfast they explained it was a Thai breakfast but could cook us eggs to order.

The downside is that this hotel is out of town so there is nothing around it. There is also no pool, so there is nothing to do. However the rooms are very nice and comfortable, so if you need somewhere to stay in Surat Thani I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helena333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Koh Samui. Unfortunately, we didn't get much sleep. When we checked into our room, we were unhappy to see many small red ants crawling all over the cloth headboard, pillows, and mattress. We went to the front desk, told them about the ants, and asked them if they could change our room. The staff was apologetic. We were given another room that seemed slightly upgraded, and with a leather headboard instead of cloth. However, there was the same problem with the ants. It was hard to sleep with ants crawling all over you!

I know this is a tropical location but I did not have this problem anywhere else on the month-long trip in southern Thailand.

I do recommend the massage services offered in-house.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123567travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here as a stopover on the way to Koh Samui. After a long-haul flight it was exactly what we were after: friendly service, modern, clean, spacious room and even as two girls travelling alone, felt very safe. The only point I would make is that arriving late from our flight, we nearly missed the hotel restaurant closing time and there did not appear to be many restaurants/shops nearby to get food - worth bearing in mind if you will be arriving later in the evening! The hotel staff arranged taxi to our ferry pick-up and made it a very stress-free transfer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have to start by saying the general manager Samantha is amazing and the customer service by the receptionists was brilliant. I arrived at this hotel with a broken foot, the receptionist wrote down in Thai for me what i needed to show the doctors in case they didnt speak English, then the general manager drove me to the hospital. This was beyond my expectations and i was incredibly thankful.

As for the hotel, its about 10 mins from Surat Thani town centre - 100 Baht from town in a tuk tuk if you barter, 200 baht from the hotel into town. Its a large hotel, with huge rooms. Very basic set up but everything you need. Very fast free wifi. Theres no pool but there is a spa. Feels like a business/conference hotel more than a tourist spot. Fine for a one night pre/post island stopover but would stay more central if you need to stay longer, there is nothing near this hotel, no restaurants or shops. it seems pretty isolated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LW2010NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
3.3 mi away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#1 of 52 in Surat Thani
89 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#3 of 52 in Surat Thani
55 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Thara Hotel
Grand Thara Hotel
#25 of 52 in Surat Thani
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Orchid Residence Suratthani
Orchid Residence Suratthani
#10 of 52 in Surat Thani
11 reviews
2.1 mi away
The One Hotel
The One Hotel
#14 of 52 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wang Tai Hotel
Wang Tai Hotel
#27 of 52 in Surat Thani
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaew Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaew Samui Resort

Address: 126/29-30 Moo.6 Liang-Meuang Makarmdear Mueang, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Surat Thani
Price Range: £17 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaew Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaew Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaew Samui Resort Thailand/Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing