We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, no thrills hotel”
Review of Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen Hotel
Ranked #44 of 86 Surat Thani B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We picked this hotel as we didn't manage to get a ticket in a sleeper train towards Bangkok. The owner/receptionist was first a bit rude, but when we decided to stay he became more friendly. Rooms a very basic, ac is provided, but managed downstairs by the owner. Beds quite hard, nothing special, poor condition, but clean!

Location us good, right next to the train station.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is the only one close to the train station. We arrived at 00.30 am, and the hotel is only 5 minutes walk. A stahl of local food is just across the street and still opened when we came. Bus agents and bus station to reach Donsak pier to catch a ferry to Ko Samui is also only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel looks old, and the bathroom is extremely small. This is the only easiest way for the above destination.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lisahendrawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was never treated so badly: I arrived at midnight after a long journey, tired and with heavy backpack. This is the only hotel next to the central train station (the others are in text drive distance). The man at the reception at first was sitting out side ignoring me and then when willing to get in and talked to me said that the only room available was the most expensive one. He behaved very strangely. The 'loby' looked not very inviting and even dirty and since it was written above the 'reception desk' payments for the room are non-refundable i asked to have a quick look at the room. He refused and when I repeated my request he told me to go away. He then also started to behave aggressively until I just left. I spent the night sleeping on the platform. What a shame for this guy working there and for the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
2  Thank amigreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Went here as we had 3 hours to wait between bus arriving 3pm and onward train departing 630pm There appears to be limited western food options around the surit thani train station, so a google search came up with this hotel as a western food spot. The restaurant is bolted on to the hotel at ground level. Access is through the frontage of the Q coffee shop. We had entered the hotel lobby , so were shown through the Internet cafe area. We didn't try the coffees / smoothies menu , instead opting for chicken nuggets and chips twice. Club sandwich / burgers / and toasted sandwiches made the sum total of food offerings.
There is a fridge with thai beers in which was great. Service was ok , but the taste of western food after 3 weeks on the road / ferry in Thailand was most welcomed. The restaurant is clean and tidy. The western toilets were spotlessly clean. Would we return ? The food did the trick for certain. It was hot , western and cheap.
We had a look at the rooms. V basic , and " would do " for a quick stop. Female manager was not that friendly , but the rest of the staff appeared fine
Room 308 was ok if out of other options
Sent from Ian's iPhone

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ianbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Right near the train station in Surat Thani is the Queen Hotel, the only game in town. Dark, dingy and grimy, but adequately clean with fan and private shower and toilet. You flush by using a pail that is provided. It's not the Hilton, but in a pinch and if you have a layover before the next train, fork over the 250 Baht fee, take a shower and get some rest. It you can not bring yourself to sleep, go across the street where you can get a foot or Thai massage in air conditioned comfort. Excellent massage and by the way, don't bother looking for any other place, there are none.

Veteran travelers will find this place adequate and not the worst that they could have encountered. After a month of traveling Thailand, Laos and Cambodia, it was the cheapest and by far, but not the worst. If your wife needed to get to a bathroom rather quickly...this place beats the train station. The mall is in Surat Thani about 7 kilometers aways, but why hang out there when Phantip is kind of a quaint little place worth a brief look. Walk over the crossway above the tracks and head to the river. Nice view and maybe even take a boat ride to the other side.

Phantip does not cater to tourists so don't have high expectations...what you see is what you get. Be happy. Be adventurous. Worth more than the $7 you pay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eraldo7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here a night because my train came in around 1am and I wanted a fresh nights sleep before continuing.

It's pretty awful! The room was dank, dark and smelly. I didn't realise there would be 3 other residents too...well, one cockroach was squished haha but when the hotel owner opened my door, one cockroach scuttled off and he promptly stamped on the other one, nice!

The door may as well have been made out of cardboard too so if you want to break into someones room you could easily hah!

Oh and the sheets smelt musky too.

Only perk: It's literally 2 mins walk from the train station so it gets one tick for convenience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is one of those places that is good for a night. I wouldn't stay here for more than that. But for a lay over between trains or transport its fine. Room was big, clean and dirt cheap at about $8. We didn't see any bugs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJ_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
1.5 mi away
My Place @Surat Hotel
My Place @Surat Hotel
#1 of 86 in Surat Thani
284 reviews
57.5 mi away
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
#21 of 52 in Surat Thani
235 reviews
57.1 mi away
Khaosok Island Resort
Khaosok Island Resort
#2 of 52 in Surat Thani
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The One Hotel
The One Hotel
#15 of 52 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Thara Hotel
Grand Thara Hotel
#24 of 52 in Surat Thani
29 reviews
2.5 mi away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#1 of 52 in Surat Thani
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Hotel

Address: 12 Srisawat Road, Surat Thani, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Surat Thani
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Hotel Thailand/Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing