We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel and a fantastic price”
Review of Wang Tai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wang Tai Hotel
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Surat Thani
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The rooms in this hotel have always been priced really well, much cheaper than all the other tourist hot spots. We've stayed here on many occasions, but not just for the price. The staff are really friendly, the rooms are nice, restaurant has great food and the pool is also great. It's a good location in Surat Thani, right on the river front, with cheap Songtails to take you anywhere in town for just a few baht (just 30-50baht from memory).

It's a great stop for families transferring over to Ko Samui, we had interconnecting rooms with a nice view of the lake. All the rooms have a good bathroom and comfortable beds and are clean.

There's actually a lot to do from here, ask reception to take a long-tail ride around the river or a night firefly trip to see all the trees lit up - it's quite amazing. In the town there's a really fantastic Thai night market with a wonderful selection of food - really not to be missed. You can easily spend a good few nights here.

Also ask reception for a Surat Thani attractions map. It's a good stop if your travelling to Khao Sok (half way to Phuket) or right all the way to Phuket.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor overlooking the river or the pool side, which is more pleasant . The deluxe sui...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Amanda_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Wang Tai Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights en route to a wedding and it proved to be a comfortable and affordable rest after a tiring flight. The hotel has seen better days but despite being quite basic the rooms themselves are quite generous, and the restaurant serves a surprisingly good Thai meal and will even cook western food if you insist on it. You can also jump in the pool, or get a great massage in the hotel's spa for next to nothing, either of which is perfect for relaxing after a long journey. As the hotel is situated on the riverside a short walk or tuk-tuk ride from the centre of Surat Thani, it's a bit quieter than more centrally located hotels, and while the views aren't exactly picturesque they're pleasant enough. Apart from the front desk the staff's English was somewhat limited, but never enough to pose a problem, and they would always endeavour to help despite the occasional failure of communication. The only real issue we encountered was that the hotel was quite full at the time we stayed there, so some in our group didn't initially get the rooms they were expecting - twin rooms instead of doubles - and this required a bit of sustained encouragement to sort out. The hotel was definitely worth the money in the end though, and it's a pleasant stay if you're planning a short visit to Surat Thani.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose your preferred room type in advance as the hotel can get quite full at times.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

For a stop over in this lovely town, this hotel is fine. Many people flying in and out Surat Thani province for the islands with Air Asia may need to over night here. I was surprised by the town - it is very calm, clean, quiet, pretty - I really enjoyed the night market and the river side. This hotel is a few kms out of down town but there are plenty of tuk tuks. I only stayed here for the swimming pool - it is very big and clean. If I was not interested in a pool, there are hotels in the heart of down town right near the night market.

Room Tip: Floor 6 over the pool was fine.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovebarbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

My dad and i spent two nights at here. The Thai massage at 1st floor is very nice, 400 baht for 2 hours. I tried Thai massage at many different places, but here is the one I love most. The room is clean but very basic. Hot water, air-con is fuctioning well. The bellboy of the hotel recommend us to Lucky Restaurant for lunch by tuk-tuk, 20 baht per person for the tuk-tuk that waits outside the hotel. The food of Lucky Restaurant is very delicious and cheap. Although the hotel is old but still okay for staying. The breakfast of the hotel is very delicious too. 15 mins walk to the riverside, can get the map at reception.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tee_Malacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Everything was fine with the large room, but the staff at the counter made us feel very unwelcome. Sure, we had been on the train the night before, but we had showered and put on clean clothes. They also were very unhelpful with information. Hint: do a deal with the taxi that takes you there, rather than organise a transfer when you leave the hotel, as their transfers are over-priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elzie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at the Wang Tai hotel for one night before flying back to KL. The hotel itself was within easy reach of the night markets which had great food available at cheap prices. There were tuk tuks available right outside the hotel for transport. The hotel itself is dated but still ok. The pool area was good for the kids. The staff were friendly enough. We are a family of 5 and the staff gave us a Suite room with two extra beds. The bed itself was comfy and the room was clean but abit dated. Breakfast was particularly traditional and ok to get you going for the day. I would recommend for a stop over.

Room Tip: Suite Rooms are good for families and have two t.v's, a shower and a bath. Our room was a corner...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happydayz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My advice, if you can avoid a stopover in Surat Thani then do. It's not a great place to spend a night. From what I can tell from talking with other travelers the Wang Tai is probably at the better end of a bad bunch.

The hotel has a gym, pool, spa, bar, restaurant...as I said, all the right ingredients, it's just all really dated. The staff keep the hotel clean and tidy and they are well trained, friendly and attentive.

The breakfast was interesting and dinner seemed more catered towards a Chinese palate - like a Chinese interpretation of Thai food which was a bit bizarre.

The girls in the spa are friendly and the 2 hour massage is great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkAnnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
1.4 mi away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#2 of 50 in Surat Thani
82 reviews
1.8 mi away
Diamond Plaza
Diamond Plaza
#7 of 50 in Surat Thani
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Thara Hotel
Grand Thara Hotel
#25 of 50 in Surat Thani
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Orchid Residence Suratthani
Orchid Residence Suratthani
#8 of 50 in Surat Thani
10 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tapee Hotel
Tapee Hotel
#23 of 50 in Surat Thani
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#3 of 50 in Surat Thani
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wang Tai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wang Tai Hotel

Address: 1 Talad Mai Road, Surat Thani, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Surat Thani
Price Range: £24 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wang Tai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wang Tai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wang Tai Hotel Thailand/Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing