We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good & bad bits on a budget” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cha-am Villa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cha-am Villa Beach Hotel
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Kololi, Gambia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good & bad bits on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here twice, the first visit was entirely fine, prompting our 2nd stay. I hadn't reckoned on Songkran bringing hoards of playful kids to the hotel and more importantly to the little swimming pool which was directly outside our room. What caused us to move early was a combination of excited shrieks from the pool (happy but mostly unsupervised kids) 7am until late, prices hiked from 900 to 1,500bht for Songkran and that the bed was truly awful. Not only was the bed saggy in the middle and lumpy but the sheets were far too small for a double bed. Whilst being wrapped up in the sheets like an Egyptian Mummy every morning caused my partner some amusement it rather began to irritate me. The a/c works fine and the cramped bathroom / toilet combo is functional. Breakfast (a local version) is included but frankly was irrelevant because Dee Lek restaurant is close by, where a 'proper' breakfast is available (at a reasonable price). The location of the hotel is great, just 50m from the magnificent beach. Free wifi is available. Reception staff are charming and helpful and offered us a choice of rooms. It is a pleasant hotel complex but rather tired in parts, needs some investment in maintenance and repair and certainly at least one bed needs replacing.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms adjoining the pool at Songkran unless you have your own kids, or enjoy the sounds of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rightfirsttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    21
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in one of the Villa Beach rooms for one night and then downgraded to one of the Villa Sun rooms - big mistake! Our first room was nice enough, good toilet & shower with all amenities, modern ac, fridge and balcony overlooking the grounds, the carpets were a little worn but the bed comfy. Since we arrived in Cha-am on a Saturday we were charged the inflated weekend price of 1200B, next day we moved nextdoor and opted for the 400B room which had a very noisy (although still efficient) ac and a fuzzy tv. We had only cold water in the shower which we didn't realise until we went to wash, normally a cold shower is a relief in Asia, however it'd been raining during the day so a bit of warm water would have been nice! The worse thing about this room however was the beds, it felt like we were sleeping on a wooden floor. They were definately matresses but they were so hard I won't be surprised if I have bruises on my hips! The room was tired in general and poor value considering what you can get elsewhere for that price. You can use the main pool no matter what part of the complex you stay in, it was clean enough with plenty of beds, however there were alot of small stones on the bottom which weren't very pleasant to stand on. Staff were pleasant, with enough English to communicate and the free tuk tuk to the train station was a bonus. Having just arrived in Hua Hin (30mins train journey from Cha-am) I'd poss recommend skipping Cha-am altogether and coming straight here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

This hotel has a lot of options; from very cheap old rooms to newer, more expensive rooms. I decided to go for the cheapest room and regretted that a bit because the newer rooms were only 200 bath more expensive. The room was old, had a very noisy AC, some blood stains on the wall and dusty lights and closet.... Not the best experience but hotel is right at the beach and even if you stay in the old rooms you can use the pool in the newer part next door. The hotel is in a poor shape and really needs some refurbishment other than that it was quite ok. They offer free tuktuk service and although the staff hardly speaks English they were quite friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blommja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

This place is right across from the beach in a great location. The villas have two single beds, good size nicely outfitted bathrooms, cable TV and your personal verandah. Breakfast is included, more tradionally Thai than most but Cha am is frequented more by Thais than Farangs. There is free internet access but only one computer and it is very slow. There is an internet cafe 400ms up the street. Laundry is affordable. Reception staff have adequate English and are helpful but are not our usual happy, smiley Thais.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firstfleeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Enjoyed six days at the Cha am Villa hotel. We had a room right at the entrance giving us a view of both the pool; and the sea. The room was in excellent condition and had all you could want, balcony, cable tv etc. The breakfast is included and was very Thai in style, fried rice, noodles with eggs and toast also available.
The pool was ok but nothing special, could do with some new poolside furniture.
Staff were polite and cleaners very capable. There is a free taxi bike with side car affair that can drop you off to catch the bus or train or just take you into town. Also has free wifi in all rooms.
I will happily stay there again when I next visit Cha am.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seancar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and took one of the budget double rooms in E building for 500baht per night. It turned out to be great value and we had a good time.

The pros:
* Opposite the beach so quick stroll gets you in the sea
* Friendly and helpful staff
* Free internet 24hrs
* Clean, tidy and spacious rooms
* Nice swimming pool with loungers
* Rooms are cleaned daily if required
* Free breakfast though it is rather poor
* Rooms have AC (essential)

The main con is the noise. We found the locals and the staff to have rather loud voices late at night and early in the morning. There seemed to be a lack of empathy for other guests. The breakfast was also rubbish - unless you like cooked Thai food (veg and noodles) in the morning, the only thing passable is the toast. Tea and coffee tastes very strange!

Overall we thought it was great value for money and would happily stay here again if we visit.

thanks
james & muneeza

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamerguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stay here for a day on weekday. Good facility , clean rooms, Kids loved swimming pool,We stay on three bedrooms C buliding, down stair room suit my mum who on the wheel chairs, staff friendly. reanable breakfast.Highly recomended for Cha-am
Dickinson family

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChangnoiPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
4.0 mi away
Nirundorn Resort
Nirundorn Resort
#40 of 63 in Cha-am
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
1.3 mi away
Long Beach Cha-am Hotel
Long Beach Cha-am Hotel
#22 of 63 in Cha-am
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
#17 of 63 in Cha-am
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cha-am Villa Sun
The Cha-am Villa Sun
#23 of 66 in Cha-am
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nana House
Nana House
#29 of 63 in Cha-am
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha-am Villa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha-am Villa Beach Hotel

Property: Cha-am Villa Beach Hotel
Address: 241/2 Ruamjit Road, Cha-am Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Hotel Class:3 star — Cha-am Villa Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cha-am Villa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing