We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible hotel”
Review of Beach Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Garden Hotel
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Zurich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Was greeted on arrival by unfriendly receptionist. Every day was told no more beach towels and no vacant beach chairs. Rude staff that walked away if I complained. I'm a person that doesn't complain often. Coffee and sugar or mini bar not restocked. Room staff sweet when I asked then for something though. Thin walls, can hear the person in the next room snoring. Rooms generally noisy.Would never stay here again. Not much good to say about this hotel, rooms are OK but water from shower leaks all over bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigw555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    38
    44
    15
    13
See reviews for
17
39
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the course of 10 yrs here. The hotel is trying to upgrade its facilities. The pool is fine although the chairs next to the pool get snatched up really quick or have tags placed on them the night before which makes it hard to get a pool chair. The best part is the beach. It is clean, only one jet ski around, and few venders. The beach is clean as compared with some beaches in Hua Hin that have many glass fragments. The beach is also wide with plenty of area to find whatever privacy you want. Another plus is the restaurant along the beach off -site that serves Thai and western food. Price very affordable with great views at night. The hotel rooms themselves are very average. If you are looking for a place to spend a lot of time in your room this is not the place. The breakfast was pretty much the same each morning but sufficient. Overall, we would come back for the value for the price here. Can get pricey if you have to use the shuttle to Hua Hin each day.

Room Tip: High floors may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchmanBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This hotel is somewhat confusingly sold as Beach Garden Cha-am Resort & Spa, since the name "Beach Garden Hotel Cha-am" is used in the hotel and the road signs.

The hotel pool and beach fully met the expectations created by the web site photos. Nice soft sand and not crowded since the neighboring plots are not occupied by large hotels. I saw only a single jellyfish, but that encouraged me to move the kids to the pool. The number of vendors on the beach was not large, but you could get a massage, buy some clothes or ride a horse, if you wanted.

The number of sun beds is fairly limited. You are supposed to able to tag two beds for your own use, but the system did not work too well. One morning when we arrived late to the pool somebody had just removed our tag... The pool attendant sells ice cream in addition to managing the towels. There are also some balls that you can borrow for playing in the pool or for volleyball on the beach. The pool area starts being in the shadow of the hotel in the afternoon, so if you are keen on sunbathing, it is better to get a chair on the side of the pool away from the hotel.

The room was clearly old but reasonably well maintained. Our balcony faced to a garden and had no furniture so it was somewhat useless. Although the photos do not make it very clear, the two beds in the room are truly singles and you barely can fit one adult and one young child into one. If you have bigger children, you really need to get an extra bed. One extra bed fit reasonably well but two extra beds would be a real challenge.

The room had a minibar. It stocked snacks, soft drinks and beer. The price for drinks were quite close to normal restaurant prices. When we arrived it turned out that some items were missing, so it is good to verify the contents upon arrival to avoid hassles when checking out. The room also provided an electric kettle and free tea and instant coffee. Each guest got one bottle of free drinking water each day.

The television was and old model and the signal quality not was great. There were alltogether
about ten channels, most in Thai but MGM channel was in English. Deutsche Well was also available, but the French channel had horrible image quality. No kids channels, so need to provide other entertainment for them. The hotel Wi-Fi does not reach to the rooms and even AIS mobile network signal strength was really poor, so you probably are stuck with using Internet in the public areas.

The bathroom had a shower in a separate booth. The only provided amenities were shower caps as well as soap and shampoo from a dispenser on the wall. The room had also a hair dryer. Annoyingly there were no hooks for hanging your towels.

The air conditioning was not too noisy but quite strong. At least during the cool season setting the selector to 30 degrees made the room already really chilly. The room had no other ventilation, so you pretty much have to run the aircon to avoid the room becoming too stuffy overnight.

A pleasant surprise was that the room had three wall sockets available for your own electrical equipment. You had to unplug the floor lamp to make use of the third one, but the lighting was good enough even without it.

Unfortunately the room did not have a safety deposit box. You had to use the ones at the reception. Fortunately they had also boxes large enough for keeping laptops.

The lobby, pool area and beach restaurant have Wi-Fi coverage. You can buy vouchers at the reception. The rate was 100 baht for 24 hours, and we could use it over three days. However, the connection seemed to be permanently assigned to the first device used. The speed was fairly good but not really fast.

The breakfast was served at the beach restaurant Rim Thalee. It was a buffet with Western and Thai dishes. We found it quite good, and they even changed half of the dishes every day. On the other hand, if you are willing to eat Thai food, the choice is quite limited (sausage, ham, fried eggs, omelets from the egg station). Corn flakes and milk were not available every day. Three different kinds of fruit were available (one changed each day). In addition to toast a couple of different kinds of bread were available. The salad bar was very limited. Coffee and tea was available, as well as water, orange juice and one daily changing juice (e.g. pineapple). You were given breakfast vouchers when checking in. Our child without extra bed was charged 125 baht for breakfast on the first day as expected, but later they just waived the charge.

Room service was available and the prices were reasonable.

We never actually had lunch or dined at the hotel, since there were other restaurants close by. On the beach next to the hotel there is the "Cha-am Little Shop" restaurant which was fairly cheap and food was quite good. In front of the hotel there is a small strip mall with a Dutch/Thai restaurant, an Indian/Thai restaurant and a minimart quite normal prices for beverages and snacks. A laundry shop and motorbike rental are also available. One or two taxis seemed to hang around at minimart. A bit further away from the hotel in the opposite direction there are two ATMs and a larger minimart which seemed to have cheaper prices.

The hotel provides a paid-for shuttle bus service to Hua Hin and back, but the schedule is quite sparse. If you do not do a return trip, a normal taxi at the rate of 300 baht one way is the same price for a family. A taxi back from Hua Hin cost also the same 300 baht. The taxis willing to drive the distance to the hotel (about 30 minutes) do not actually have a taxi sign on the room - you hire them from people waiving "taxi" cardboard signs on the street. This worked quite well in the end.

The hotel offered transfer service to Bangkok and Suvarnabhumi airport. The price was quite high at 4500 baht. A local taxi company was able to provide a taxi to Bangkok for 2000 baht.

Hotel seems to be used by several German tour operators. The lobby had also tour operator guide books in Polish, Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, etc. We also spotted some French guests. During Christmas Thai guests were a clear minority but they were definitely there, including large groups from some company and an English language study camp.

Many off the staff did not seem to have great English skills. When I called the reception to get the housekeeping to come and spray the room to clear it from mosquitos, the first person had to hand the phone over to someone else.

Room Tip: Getting a room facing away from the pool area may reduce the noise from functions organized at the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank the_goodsoil_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Located directly on the beach with lovely and very large swimming pool, not much else in the area and a drive into town is about 15 mins by taxi for 200 baht.
Room was ok although a little dated, double bed was comfortable even taking into consideration it was two singles pushed together. Bathroom and shower ok.
Kettle provided in room along with complimentary water, tea and coffee.
Breakfast served in beach restaurant but nothing took my fancy, so just cornflakes and coffee.
Had an evening meal in same place, overpriced, just about edible and stray cats and dogs weaving between your feet !
Asked about fitness center......broken, asked about snooker room.......broken, asked about Internet........available in lobby area providing you pay 180 baht for 2 days usage, not very good connection, server........broken !!!
Popular spot for corporate gatherings, nice to see Thai people enjoying themselves in there own way, noisy but always polite.
Overall, great pool and beach if you just want relaxing break, everything else too far away, so moved after 3 nights.

Room Tip: Choose pool facing room, these also have good view of beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David Rigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were in a group of 28 for a company retreat. After landing in Bangkok, it took us 3 hours to reach our hotel. By then, it was past 11pm. Exhausted, everyone would want to have a shower and sleep as soon as possible. Thanks to the hotel staff. Our keys are all ready the moment we stepped out of the coach and we are served with hot welcome fragrance tea.
The first impression of the room is a bit run down and there are ants crawling in the bathrooms. So we avoid leaving any food items around or it will be infested.
The breakfast selection is very limited and you can expect the same food everyday. Something they really need to work on.
We had our team building event in the plainly setup room. But there are always 2 staffs on standby ready to serve. You'll be surprised that there were a few events held within the 3 days stay. Obviously they provide good service to their all their guests.
All of us enjoyed the Thai massage that is set up in an open area. The masseuses are reallly very polite and friendly. This is what you can expect in Thailand. Good massage and good service.
The specially catered dinner spread was quite a disappointment and the 3 kgs cake we order for 3 of our staff birthdays which falls in August were pathetically small. It's almost like 1 kg only and was not enough for everyone.
One of the lunch we walked to a nearby "Little shop" restaurant at the beach. The food was really delicious.
The checkout was a breeze. I must say, I won't hesitate to stay in this hotel again because I really enjoy the serenity and the thoughful service.
Btw, the beach is just infront of the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is far from the main town. It is really great for relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MdmCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed with a group of friends, all of us with young children. We were there just to spend time (2 nights) as a group of families relaxing and letting our kids have fun at the pool and beach. Pool was good, very large and lots of space with a children's wading pool attached. Beach also very nice and right behind the hotel.

That aside, the hotel is old. They are constantly hosting large Thai groups, mostly large company groups and incentive groups. They are large, young crowds who will party all night, drink all night and be up at the beach at 6am still finishing their partying. While I found the walls to be quite thick and not a lot of noise got through to us, it depends where your room is. If your room is a garden view one, ground floor one or close to the ends of the buildings, you will probably hear the noise. Our room was in the middle of the building so we got lucky although the noise in the corridors (like doors banging and phones ringing) comes through the doors.

Staff don't speak much English, so don't expect a lot of assistance. They are also more interested in catering to the Thai crowds, not foreign or expat visitors.

They have a restaurant on the beach which has a nice view, but the food is very basic. We ordered dinner one night, with many of us ordering same dishes at lunch the next day and the food was vastly different. The night before a club sandwich was toasted and had bacon, the next day at lunch it was on cold bread with cold ham (probably breakfast leftovers). The food was also very, very slow coming out, with adults having finished eating before the children got their food. It made for some very hungry and upset children. Very strange that 2 pizzas were ordered, exactly the same, but they came out over 30 minutes apart. Breakfast is basic with limited western choices, but enough to get you through the day.

Rooms were clean, but old. Some fixtures were barely hanging in, we had one lamp about to fall off the wall. The day we checked in we had no soap and no tea bags (cups and kettle were there), and then it was there the next. Mainly inconsistencies like this, plus peeling paint and run down furniture that were a bit off-putting. TV was also only Thai channels. One day we got 4 towels (4 of us in the room), the next day only 2 towels and the bath mats were still the old ones.

If you are wanting to get into Hua Hin via their shuttle it is 100 THB one way or THB 150 return per person (including children), but they only depart and arrive at limited set times.

There is a reasonable "spa" attached, and I can vouch for the pedicure. Rose and her staff are very nice. It is a basic facility but the prices are reasonable and it is clean. The offer various massages, mani/pedicures and facial treatments. Massages can be in the sala or in an a/c room.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are only sea view from the balcony, not the bed. Higher floors are also less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpbackjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Many nights a week the hotel has party's in the garden outside very loud and impossible to sleep. I spoke to locals and they are all unhappy with the hotel and owners that dont care, it is a general nuisance, be aware don't stay in any other hotels near to this hotel as it is impossible to sleep.

Room Tip: Stay away, if you like the area keep your distance the hotel is a nuisance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank MThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cha-am hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
5.1 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
5.2 mi away
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
#19 of 63 in Cha-am
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#12 of 63 in Cha-am
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Season Palace Hua Hin Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Papaya Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Garden Hotel

Property: Beach Garden Hotel
Address: 949/21 Tambol Cha-am, Amphur Cha-am | Petchaburi, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Garden Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Beach Garden Cha-Am Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing