We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice Christmas in Cha Am - perfect hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Certificate of Excellence
norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice Christmas in Cha Am - perfect hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We spent Christmas at Methavalai hotel and had a very good time. The rooms with pool acess were large and clean, with wonderful beds. Perfect. The galla dinner at Christmas Eve was very good. All types of food. Fantastic. Very nice breakfast as well. The only drawback at the hotel is the servants at the restaurant. They were friendly but not at all professional. We sometimes felt we were disturbing them for lunch and they had no system for cleaning tables and serving coffee for breakfast. Strange place that restaurant.

Room Tip: Order a room with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esilregni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    61
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
51
45
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We had the misfortune of staying here for seven nights this month. The Beds and pillows are hard and to make it worse the air conditioning is much to be desired. Buffet breakfast was included in the cost, but this was far from the best with small birds hoping around on the bread and the hot item were always cold and when you ask for fresh eggs to be cooked well I can only say that this proved to be a difficult process. As for the staff they would try to understand and just did not comprehending. On a good note the location is close and only a short walk to local restaurants.

Room Tip: If you must stay here then request a balcony room for the veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Very important to know that this hotel has two buildings......One old and one new.
Nothing works in the main building. New building works well. No good Wi-Fi.
The hotel itself has great food and is situated a stone throw from the beach.

Room Tip: First floor in new building has direct access to swimming pool from your terrace .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank tanteaase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We were there for a conference and paid for two nights, but ended up staying only one night because;
- Air-con in the room is not cooling up at all, not so sure if it needs cleaning, even with highest fan speed, very little air was coming out of it.
- The lunch and dinner buffet tasted good but with a lot of flies flying over the food stations and on the table, enjoying food on your plates!. The staff didn't seem to care to take care of the problem. When asked they just said "It's this time of the year, fruits season". They could have taken some efforts to manage this.
- Really hard pillows, just can't sleep.
- Front desk not friendly. May be they are friendly to foreigners, but not Thais.
- Teenagers and kids wearing T-shirts in the pool. There are signs requiring for swimming suites, but no one, even the hotel seemed to care.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Jitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Level Contributor
282 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is very outdated and has definitely seen better days. The rooms are sparsely outfitted - that is, a bed, TV unit and refrigerator, but then a large area with nothing - no other furniture. Looks like the rooms used to be fitted with more furniture but not now (no lounge chairs or table or anything)
The pool is good and the food buffet is extensive. However, the beach is rather dirty and unattractive - too close to Bangkok. The hotel attracts a lot of tour groups from Russia and Eastern Europe, so not much good if you want to get away from crowds.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, make sure you get a room with a balcony with sea view (see photos)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scobie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breiddalsvik
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have been in Methavalai hotel number of times. And it is it, welcoming and excellent standard, reasonably priced and well maintanend and the staff do their outmost in serving and helping us to enjoy the stay. We like Cha Am, quite and nice, fine beach and good resturants, everything close to the hotel. It has became our tradition to start our travels arround in Thailand in Methavalai hotel.
NB. Interesting go to the harbour in the morning and feel the touch with local people working there with the fish.
Grat thanks
G.Stefansson
Iceland

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srgs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

This hotel looks better than the others in its vicinity. Location wise is perfect with beach being right across the road (no hotels on the beach itself here). Glad i brought along my running shoes and got some exercise running on the wet sand. There is a decent foot massage place just outside, turn right as you exit the hotel. As we didnt have anything planned after dinner, a bunch of us took a short trip down the road to Hua Hin to xplore the night market there.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OKY-JACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
5.9 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Long Beach Cha-am Hotel
Long Beach Cha-am Hotel
#21 of 63 in Cha-am
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#20 of 63 in Cha-am
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
FuramaXclusive Sandara Hua Hin
2.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel

Property: Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Address: 220 Ruamchitr Rd, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Sawasdee, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha Am Methavalai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing