We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fine hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Methavalai is a solid choice for a holiday in Cha-am. We stayed in a deluxe room with direct access to one of the swimming pools and found it to be spacious with comfortable bedding and efficient air conditioning. Daily house keeping was very thorough with toiletries, etc replenished as needed. Would've been nice to have some English TV channels other than just news channels but perhaps not warranted due to the limited number of English speaking guests. The hotel has some classy touches like an excellent buffet breakfast served in a stylish restaurant opposite the beach and live music in the evenings in the foyer. Both pools are lovely. Good gym. The staff are friendly and competent and the hotel is in a good location with the beach across the road and a money changer, convenience stores and restaurants nearby. Highly recommended for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiggyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    61
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
52
45
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at the Methavalai for a second time. It is one of our favourite hotels in Thailand. The main pool is excellent for our 6 year old son, he loves the in pool jacuzzi. Although conferences use the hotel the pool area is lovely & quiet & on both of our stays here the guests have mainly been Thai. Views of the pool & beach from the main wing rooms are lovely. Rooms are well maintained & very clean. Buffet breakfast is excellent with a huge choice of different foods. We dislike the other pool by the Beach wing which narrow & constantly in shade.Staff could be more friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweyneBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Went there with my family a few years ago for the first time and have not stopped all these years
They have a ramp for wheelchair and ask for the building behind...Agreed the views may not be the same as the Main building but the rooms and bathrooms are very friends for the physically disabled
The beach is not a private beach but its just 2 steps away from the entrance of the hotel and the hotel staff are on hand to make sure the touts do not bother you
The buffet breakfast is excellent and u don't need a lunch
If you don't fancy the beach then go for the room where u can jump straight into the pool
The kids just love that
What we did was in the day we were at the beach and in the evening at the pool

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangenlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
กรุงเทพมหานคร (กทม.), ไทย
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very good hotel, has lots of private space and variety of activities to do and to go. Good service overall provided with a delicious breakfast. I love it here and want to come back more in nearly future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momotaro_moboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchaburi, Phetchaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Because it has everything Scandinavian wants! In the middle of Thailands biggest tourist destination (for thai), very close to the beach, big pool area for all ages. Every facility you expect - very good restaurant (Lilawadee terrace) and and and. Nobody have complained! WiFi all around - nearly to the beach. I recommend this as the best (situated) hotel in ChaAm!

Room Tip: On the southeast side of the old building! You are overlooking the Beach, Pool and the pulsating St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We spent Christmas at Methavalai hotel and had a very good time. The rooms with pool acess were large and clean, with wonderful beds. Perfect. The galla dinner at Christmas Eve was very good. All types of food. Fantastic. Very nice breakfast as well. The only drawback at the hotel is the servants at the restaurant. They were friendly but not at all professional. We sometimes felt we were disturbing them for lunch and they had no system for cleaning tables and serving coffee for breakfast. Strange place that restaurant.

Room Tip: Order a room with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esilregni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We had the misfortune of staying here for seven nights this month. The Beds and pillows are hard and to make it worse the air conditioning is much to be desired. Buffet breakfast was included in the cost, but this was far from the best with small birds hoping around on the bread and the hot item were always cold and when you ask for fresh eggs to be cooked well I can only say that this proved to be a difficult process. As for the staff they would try to understand and just did not comprehending. On a good note the location is close and only a short walk to local restaurants.

Room Tip: If you must stay here then request a balcony room for the veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
0.1 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#22 of 63 in Cha-am
91 reviews
6.0 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Cha-am Hotel
Long Beach Cha-am Hotel
#23 of 63 in Cha-am
85 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#11 of 63 in Cha-am
197 reviews
5.0 mi away
Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel

Property: Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Address: 220 Ruamchitr Rd, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Sawasdee, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha Am Methavalai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing