We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel perfect staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Netherland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel perfect staff”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Staying here was great, we did a tour of north thailand and after the we stayed here for 11 days just to relax.Nice and super clean rooms and an excellent and friendly staff , the surrounding is not that special but there is a nice beach across the street and nice restaurants in the area. But you can also eat in the hotel and that's also very good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannekeAmahorseya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    61
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
52
45
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We visited the Restaurant at the front of the building thats overlooks the sea.
We noticed that the trees in front of the restaurant were half the size of the other trees on the beach.
Smart move as this enables the restaurant the the hotel buildings to get a good view of the sea.
We waited over half an hour from when we placed our order till it's arrival and the order was simple enough
1 Curry Chicken & Rice
1 Honey Chicken Chicken & Rice
2 Soda Water Total 506Baht.
The food was not what what we expected from a hotel like this-rather ordinary and more like food from a stall.
Not worth waiting half an hour forthis sort of food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Super hotel both with our without kids. Perfect location, nice staff and lovely breakfast! Nice, big and clean rooms at very nice price! Nice pool and children s pool. The beach is only 2 minutes away. Lots of cheers and super service from the beach staff. You always get a smile from them and if you come back they always recognizance you every time you come. They remember what you like and what you want. So you always feel welcome. I really love this hotel and place!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main wing are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lena_hardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aasiaat, Greenland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The two pools leave the hotel seem uncrowded - which is a good thing - and are well maintained, something which isn't ingrained in the Thai hotel industry psyche.

Staff are generally pleasant and check-out are pleasant unless there is a problem - then they get a black face and stuff up even more as we experienced ourselves and several other customers - in the end it gets solved, but it shouldn't be that way in the first place.

Rooms are spartan yet comfortable and the pillows are easily twice the normal width so ask for thin pillows.

Breakfast is a mixture of east and west with many offerings seemingly left-overs from the night before . . . which may not be a bad thing is you can stomach dinner at breakfast.

All in all, quite a nice place to be

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Methavalai is a solid choice for a holiday in Cha-am. We stayed in a deluxe room with direct access to one of the swimming pools and found it to be spacious with comfortable bedding and efficient air conditioning. Daily house keeping was very thorough with toiletries, etc replenished as needed. Would've been nice to have some English TV channels other than just news channels but perhaps not warranted due to the limited number of English speaking guests. The hotel has some classy touches like an excellent buffet breakfast served in a stylish restaurant opposite the beach and live music in the evenings in the foyer. Both pools are lovely. Good gym. The staff are friendly and competent and the hotel is in a good location with the beach across the road and a money changer, convenience stores and restaurants nearby. Highly recommended for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiggyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at the Methavalai for a second time. It is one of our favourite hotels in Thailand. The main pool is excellent for our 6 year old son, he loves the in pool jacuzzi. Although conferences use the hotel the pool area is lovely & quiet & on both of our stays here the guests have mainly been Thai. Views of the pool & beach from the main wing rooms are lovely. Rooms are well maintained & very clean. Buffet breakfast is excellent with a huge choice of different foods. We dislike the other pool by the Beach wing which narrow & constantly in shade.Staff could be more friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweyneBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Went there with my family a few years ago for the first time and have not stopped all these years
They have a ramp for wheelchair and ask for the building behind...Agreed the views may not be the same as the Main building but the rooms and bathrooms are very friends for the physically disabled
The beach is not a private beach but its just 2 steps away from the entrance of the hotel and the hotel staff are on hand to make sure the touts do not bother you
The buffet breakfast is excellent and u don't need a lunch
If you don't fancy the beach then go for the room where u can jump straight into the pool
The kids just love that
What we did was in the day we were at the beach and in the evening at the pool

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangenlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
0.1 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#22 of 63 in Cha-am
91 reviews
6.0 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Cha-am Hotel
Long Beach Cha-am Hotel
#23 of 63 in Cha-am
85 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#11 of 63 in Cha-am
197 reviews
5.0 mi away
Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel

Property: Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Address: 220 Ruamchitr Rd, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Sawasdee, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha Am Methavalai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing