We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never seen anything like it”

Railway Station Market
Ranked #12 of 36 things to do in Cha-am
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: every morning near the railway station
Teutopolis, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Never seen anything like it”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Walked down the train tracks with market on both sides. All food stuff. When the train whistle started blowing we were at the end of the market and watched them pull back their awnings and move their wares back from the tracks. As soon as the train passed, they brought back their awnings and items and set up shop again. Very interesting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 92Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cha-am, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Huge Openair Thai market - worth a visit”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Every wednesday evenings from about 4pm, just in front of railway station there is a huge market.

It gets packed but it has everything....and not just for tourists.

It's great for food and you can sit outside and have a beer and watch the world go by.

Definitely a must see for any visitors to Cha-am

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank RentMyThaiVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“THE BIGGEST SHOPPING DAY OF MY ENTIRE YEAR!”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This place is amazing. You MUST visit. They have everything! Food, clothes, decorations, etc. You can bargain anything down to almost nothing. We bought shoes, purses, clothes, jewelry, decorations for the house...SO MUCH TO BUY! If you are going with a guy, I recommend leaving him somewhere else for a couple of hours because girls love this place WAY more than guys do, lol. If you want a one stop shop to get your gifts for you and other people, this is definitely the place to go. Check out our pictures!!!!!!!!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank AnchoredAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,621 reviews
516 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,289 helpful votes
“Watch the market move for the train!”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This is a great experience to combine with the Damnuensaduek Floating Market which is close by. The market is spread out on the train tracks. When the train arrives which is several times a day that part of the market moves. Well worth a look. You can check it out on UTube.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Flea market”
Reviewed 6 December 2005

Just got back from chaam and befor i went i decided to surf the net to see what were the attractions of chaam. I found sites suggesting a visit to the flea market at the railway station. So i went. The market opens at 6am and is over by 10am. It was about 2km away from the hotle that i was staying so idecided to drive. For someone from the west, it may be interesting, but for an asian it is just another wet market. I went to the market with my partner. The weather was cool and we were hungry so we had some hot thai breakfast dessert and bought some back for the balance of our group at the hotel. We also bought some thai sugar paste(nam tan pip) which was light in color(the one in bangkok is brown but the one in chaam is whitish)
As for prices, i personally did not find it cheap.
The thai desserts (known is khanom) was very fresh.....it was made in front of u.......you have to wait for it to be done.
When i go to chaam next i will go to the market again not because it s cheap but because i can but fruits at a reasonable price compared to the hotel.

Helpful?
13 Thank princesssharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Railway Station Market also viewed

Cha-am, Phetchaburi Province
Cha-am, Phetchaburi Province
 
Cha-am, Phetchaburi Province
Cha-am, Phetchaburi Province
 

Been to Railway Station Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing