We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am
Ranked #12 of 62 Hotels in Cha-am
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Given the positive reviews on TA, my experience here seems to have been a surprising letdown. The facilities of the hotel itself are average, with most buildings, furniture, the pool, etc. being fairly old but in okay condition. It looks as though the bathroom in our chalet was recently redone, but everything else has been around a few decades.

Chalet itself had a low beam right at the entry, so hit my head a few times and that was not too enjoyable!

Re: location and the beach -- it's not the resort's fault, but the beach while we were here was covered in jelly fish. We are talking double-digit numbers of them. A sign at the resort warns you, so there wasn't a soul in the water or on the beach. Instead there were scores of older European tourists at the pool all day. We did not find much outside of the resort that was walkable, either via the beach or road. On the beach, you're walking past mostly deserted buildings. We took a shuttle into Hua Hin and went to the night market there for some entertainment. This was pretty easy to do if you find yourself stranded here with nothing to do.

On the plus side, the restaurant is fairly good, offering a Thai menu, a Western menu (not sampled) as well as an extensive breakfast buffet. I don't think I would want to eat there every meal, though.

The Wifi is limited to a single three-hour chunk of time per day, which is annoying. For the price, it's not a bad place to stay, but expected a bit better.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank daniellescm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regent L, Quality & Development Manager at Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Daniellescm,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our property during your vacation last year.

Admittedly we are older than most of the competitors in the Cha-Am area; almost 30 years old now, however I am pleased to learn that you appreciated some of our facilities. I just thought I should advise that we are currently updating our property gradually and hopefully you will see a somewhat refreshed property when you next visit us. One of our aims is to become one of the most "romantic" resorts in Cha-Am and perhaps the next time you're here you could see a little twinkle of romance here and there.

We do hope you will visit us again soon. The sun and beaches beckons!

Warm regards,
Kritsana Boungam
Quality & Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Pork in Sweet & Sour was very tough they had fried it too much but the vegetables in the Sweet & Sour sauce were very good.
Deserts were excellent and if you order one extra scoop of ice-cream to go with the custard sauce that comes with the deserts they become really yummy.
The Chom Talay restaurant is a pleasant place they have replaced the floor decking have new chairs and tables and you have an excellent view out to sea.
We have had the Sweet & Sour Chicken here before and It was so much nicer than the pork.
Bread Pudding 120baht
Sweet & Sour Pork 120baht
Banana Fried 120baht
Extra scoop of Ice-cream is 45baht

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regent L, Quality & Development Manager at Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear RosieVictoria,

Thanks for your very detailed comments on our cuisine. Its good to hear of guests that appreciate our culinary in addition to our natural ambiance.

Your comments concerning our Sweet & Sour Pork is duly noted and this will be passed on to our Chef for further improvement to quality control. So very glad you enjoyed our desserts as well. Do drop us another line when you feel inspired to review our other dishes.

We do hope to welcome you back to our resort again soon. There's more to experience and taste for sure !

Warmest regards,
Kritsana Boungam (Ms.)
Quality & Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Although Chaem is famous less than Huahin but I believe

the landscape of Chaum is beautiful as good as Huahin!

This hotel is one of good landscape in Chaum. There have a private beach.

There's beach is so restfully for me♥.

I like the design of this swimming pool, it is very particular form.

And bed room of this hotel is very comfortable. There has a perfect furniture

and has a very good view for me.
There has a good location because the sea over there is so good!.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nichapat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Called in to The Regent Chalet Cha-am for lunch.
What a shock to see the pool empty and fenced off with high plastic hoarding.
Tiles seemed to be smashed in parts it looked a real mess.
Reception area has gone and they are running reception from the Mini-Mart in the grounds.
Seemed to be guests there I am sorry for them the place looks like a construction site.
It's really a bit dismal there at the best of times but now with the weather and rain it looks awful.
sO if you do not know that there is no swimming pool and the place looks like anything but a hotel-consider not coming.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just spent eight days at Regent Chalet where we were treated really well by the wonderful staff. They really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Our chalet was set in a beautiful tropical garden just off the beach. At this time of year the place was empty all week with large numbers of friendly Thais arriving for the weekend. As the swimming pool was being refurbished we were taken on a short golf buggy ride to the neighbouring Regent Hotel which had a large pool a third of which was child deep and brilliant for our four year old. Both places are in the same group so the tab covered both and could be settled at the end. There were several places to eat if you didn't want to venture further afield, all of which offered good mostly Thai food at reasonable prices. The only drawback was the wi-fi which was restricted to a three hour per day ticket which required logging in each time. This said, in the end we negotiated an unlimited number of tickets! If you are in Bangkok and don't want an epic journey to a beach this is a great spot especially with little children. We also liked the fact that apart from a few Saga holiday makers we were the only westerners.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Chas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The regent chalets are in the Cha Am area but not in Cha Am centre. They are located about 15 mins drive from Cha Am centre and 25 mins from Hua Hin. The Regent Chalets are next to a small and friendly village called Ban Kwoy (Buffalo Village) (more about that later).
The Chalets are set on the beach front in beautiful gardens which are immaculately kept. Mostly they are not packed too tightly together so you get a good garden view from each of the chalet verandas (watch out for 203/204 which has a close view of the back of the next chalet). There are single, semis, three and four chalet blocks and some family villas with 2 stories. There are also sea view chalets but these are next to the restaurant and not as private and some of the garden chalets. The rooms are pretty basic but they do have everything you need - the beds are large divans and very comfortable, there is a fridge, TV hairdryer and coffee making facilities. The room has air con but it is noisy. The bathroom is a good size with an open shower area (not a cubible). The bedding is changed very often and towels daily. They do scrimp on the tea and coffee (one cup per person each day). You need to take insect repellent for both day and night if you are sitting out because of the lush vegetation in the gardens, also a plug in coal for the room is essential if you don't want to get bitten to death. While we were there (most of June) the pool was being renovated. It is right next to the beach so gets sea breezes. It should be excellent when it opens again probably end of July. There's a library area, several restaurants and a couple of bars. We didn't use any of these so can't say what the food was like - drinks are twice as much as the beach bars and village restaurants and bars.
If you go out on to the beach there are a couple of beach bars along the beach to the right and left.
Village - go to the main entrance to the hotel and turn left, the village is about a 10 mins walk, just past the sister hotel the Regent Beach Resort. If you don't want to walk all the way there is a golf buggy which will take you from the chalets to the Regent Beach then the village is literally 2 mins away. The village has 2 supermarkets (the 7 - 11 at the far end of the village is best), a small stall that sells fruit, several massage parlours and a few shops. There are plenty of restaurants and bars, however, in low season they don't all open. We tried all the ones open and they were all very good - Happy's, Lucky's Sawasadee, Tom Yung Gung, Bow Thai and Mermaid. There's also one called J & K which specializes European Food. There's also a restaurant on the beach called Platoo which is very traditional and very good to get there go passed the 7-11 and take the next road on the left.
Prices - you can get a main course for as little as 60 bhat, prawns and fish about 300 bhat, a large beer from 60-100 bhat and cocktails about 120 bhat.
Try Village Bar for their cocktails and also for taxi and trips Cosai the owner is very trustworthy and speaks good english, he also changes money at good rates. There are ATM in the village but no bank or money exchange and the chalet reception does not have an exchange. They do have safety deposit boxes however. You can hire bicycles in the village for 50 bhat a day and motorcycles from 200 bhat a day. If you walk up to the main road which goes between Hua Hin and Cha Am you can get a local bus to either resort for 20 bhat each (up to 6 pm). Taxis after that are 300 Cha Am and 400 Hua Hin. The hotel offers a "courtesy bus" to Hua Hin, which costs 100 bhat per person each way.
Prices for massage in the hotel while we were there were very good at 220 for leg massage and 240 thai massage (55 mins) and were excellent.
I'd be happy to answer any questions you have about the chalets or the village.

Room Tip: Ask not to be near the road and ask for detached or semi (not 203 or 204). Higher numbers are more s...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jongleurgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Hua Hin has become a tourist destination, with shops, a mall and restaurants in the downtown area. To the north is a small area Cha-Am, with some resorts. The Regent Chalet is an intimate locale that appeals to Thais and Chinese visitors, plus occasional Europeans.
While you can stay in a high rise, we resided in quaint duplexes near the beach. Each unit has a downstairs king bed and bath and an upstairs queen, with a railing overlooking the first floor.
The air conditioning works, and the amenities were fine.
The beach is great for sunrises, and the pool was warm and not busy.
Best of all, hour massages went for about $7-10 U.S.
The dining for breakfast and dinner takes place on a patio overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZonieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#13 of 62 in Cha-am
202 reviews
4.9 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#17 of 62 in Cha-am
96 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
#20 of 62 in Cha-am
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am

Address: 849 / 21 Petchkasem Road | Regent Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cha-am
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cha-am
#6 Family Hotel in Cha-am
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#11 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range: £32 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amongst the tropical garden facing the sunrise side of the Gulf of Thailand, a restful and eco-friendly Regent Chalet built to harmonize with nature in contemporary Thai setting. Here, you will find a total retreat, relaxation and togetherness in a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Holiday Inn Cha Am

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing