We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort with Poor Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Awesome Resort with Poor Breakfast”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spent 2 nights in the seaview room and my review as follows:

1) Location: Very remote out of no where. There is nothing nearby within walking distance - at least 1km walk is needed to get to the nearest convenience store. We saw a seafood restaurant nearby but didnt try it. The location of this hotel wasn't a problem to us as we hired a private driver to drive us around during our stay at this resort. On the positive side, the resort is very quiet, peaceful and exclusive.

2) Check in & Lobby Area: First impression of this resort when we first arrive - stylish and spacious but not enough sofa provided at the lobby. We had to stand at one corner while waiting for our turn to check in. Suggest the resort to add at least another one of two sets of sofa at the reception area as there's so much space there. Check in was ok, reception staff not overly friendly but still ok. Welcome drink was too sweet in my opinion and not refreshing at all. Something minty and refreshing should have been offered instead.

3) Seaview Deluxe Room: Overall, the rooms that were given to us were spectacular. Our rooms were located on the 3rd floor with unobstructed views of the pool and the ocean. The bed were very comfy, nice balcony with large sofabed. The bathroom - huge bathtub, nice rainshower. Overall, very satisfied.

4) Pool & Beach: very trendy and modern. What i like the most was that both the pool and beach will never be crowded even during peak evening period.

5) Wifi: Signals were reasonably ok.

6) Buffet Breakfast: This is a complete letdown in my opinion. Lack of choices in every aspect. Also the display of pastries, yogurt, juices, cheese, salads and fruits looks unhygienic. Suggest to expand the breakfast table and make it look more presentable. After all, the resort charges a very high rate for their buffet breakfast. It is shameful that the breakfast spread at the nearby Novotel Hua Hin/Cha-Am is so much more delicious and better.

Overall, this is a very relaxing and trendy resort. Could have been a perfect hideaway resort if the buffet breakfast is something to look forward to every morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchRemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panit81, Manager at Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Veranda Resort and we will take steps to improve our breakfast buffet lay out and choice of items available. We are sourcing suppliers for new dairy products, cold cuts and more local fruit. We change our welcome drink recipe every month and will make sure it will not be too sweet in the future. Thank you again for your very constructive comments, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    294
    101
    18
    18
See reviews for
219
255
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

this is the 2nd time we came to hua hin, this time we brought along our 2 lovely kids.
the room we stayed is behind the main resort, there's a road separated 2 areas. The room is big enough & have 2 big queen beds which our kids were amazed, we're at 5th floor with a jaccuzi at balcony. As previous comment mentioned, there's not enough privacy but 5th floor is a bit high ehough to see the seaview.
the pool is fantastic & next to the private beach with just few walks, definitely the view from pool to the beach is so awesome as well. the pool is quite big & there's a slide on the pool, so that our kids loved playing there very much everyday.
the service is so so, staff has limited Eng level. and breakfast is just at OK level with limited choice as buffet style. the most ridiculus & make me upset is the staff asking me for paying breakfast on my 2 kids who are just 4 & 7 years old. Luckily I requested complimentary breakfast for my kids during booking confirmation with hotel. However, from my travel experience & staying many resorts in the past, this was the only one time I was being asked to pay for kids.

as a conclusion, with this promotional price from group buy, the package is value for money, just be aware of kids' breakfast you have to ask for free in advance. however, if you order via most common hotel website, liked agoda/hotels.com, the listed price at HKD1500 for this room, it's somehow overpriced & you may have many better choices in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo_Mak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed at this hotel in early July 2013. The hotel was quite new, with a lovely pool facing the beach. Since it was the holidays, there were quite alot of people at the pool (families and couples alike), however, the pool was not too crowded. There's a bar right next to the pool so you can enjoy a fresh coconut whilst being in the pool.

We stayed at the Jacuzzi suite which was located across from the main hotel and pool, with views of the beach and ocean.The room was huge, there were two 5 feet beds put together, and a nice open bathroom and sunny balcony where the jacuzzi is located. Only negative in the room was the smell from the drains coming from the bathroom. We loved the Thann products the hotel used in the bathroom.

Breakfast was great, a good mix of local foods and continental breakfast (although a bit crowded after 9am). They served different local foods each morning. The staff are also very helpful and friendly.

The hotel is a good 30 minutes away from the main city, and the taxi's (more like private mini vans for up to 10 people) were 300Baht each way. If you can drive, I would suggest that you rent a car during your stay in Huahin (since there's free parking on the premises too), which is cheaper and offers greater flexibility when planning your activities (we decided to rent on our 2nd day). There's basically only 1 main road in Huahin, so getting around was quite easy. We rented at Avis, and they offered drop-off and pick-up services (the car) for 321 Baht each. Book ahead and there's probably even greater savings!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suites are not located pool side, it's on a different building opposite the main com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jns999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panit81, Manager at Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Veranda Resort and Spa, we appreciate you taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay. We hope that you will have the opportunity in the near future to stay with us again.
Veranda Resort also offers a mini bus shuttle service to Hua Hin city center at 100 Baht per person per trip, which is less then the local taxi service. We also offer a special rates for groups of 4 persons, pay 3 only. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The best thing I loved this hotel is only a step to the beach. Hotel provided the deckchair for sunbathing as well as the umbrella. U can relaxing with the beach's sound with the beverage all day long.
The room is very nice and practical, seem likes they just renovated.
Last, the services of staff is great, they always smilling and greeting to me.
This is the hideaway hotel and resort in mu mind.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZepZeppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panit81, Manager at Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Veranda Resort, we appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I hope that you had the opportunity to try out our new wireless waiter buttons placed on every pool side and beach side table for you to call the service staff for assistance. A new service feature we added recently to speed up service response to your guest. We look forward welcoming back to Veranda Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Veranda has been kept up well over the years and the grounds & beach are nice. However be aware that a trip into the city takes you 25 minutes and 400Bht return for a couple. The taxi's are way more expensive then in Bangkok.

We enjoyed the well spread breakfast and the pool when it was less crowded. In the weekend there are many children and also outside guest are allowed in for a daily charge which add to the crowd.

Make sure you have a room with a view and not facing the street fence. Unfortunately all the rooms have only black-out curtains which is great at night but during the day everyone can look straight in your room.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice but take a higher floor to have more privacy and ask for a clear view since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terbangbelanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here in march in between a few days in Chang rai and two days in Bangkok, so we just wanted to relax, and this we did. The room was lovely, modern and clean, we have a fabulous view from the balcony overseeing the pool and sea. I loved sitting out on the balcony reading as the sun was rising. Breakfast was good with lots of choice, staff very helpful. The spa was expensive. There was a bus to take you into hua hin which cost a few baht, but this was a good service. My only disappointment was that when the sun went down everyone in the hotel disappeared and the bars were empty. Went to hua hin a few nights which was great, noisy and fun, lovely restaurants. Our highlight was a trip to the hutsadin elephant foundation, go by taxi and well worth a visit. Small but wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed her from 27th June for 6 nights, in a oceanview/pool room. Nice balcony with large daybed.
Overall nice quiet relaxing experience. The overall breakfast experience was disappointing as mentioned in other reviews the breakfast area is swarming with flies, never ate anything apart from yogurts n boiled/poached eggs sorely disappointed as there was plenty of choice lots of pastries, breads an fresh fruit, this really needs to be addressed.
The room was nice not large and very limited storage space, the bed was very comfy overall I would say room looking a bit tired and could do with a renovation.
Resort is very remote 1km to nearest seven eleven and 20 mins taxi to Hua Hin. Don't get stung with expensive hotel taxi go outside hotel to right and taxi service is offered 300 baht half the price of hotel. I sea food was pricey we ate here twice and food was excellent as was the service

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
1.3 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
6.9 mi away
SO Sofitel Hua Hin
SO Sofitel Hua Hin
#4 of 63 in Cha-am
269 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#21 of 63 in Cha-am
91 reviews
4.6 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
5.8 mi away
Dusit Thani Hua Hin
Dusit Thani Hua Hin
#2 of 63 in Cha-am
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection

Property: Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection
Address: 737/12 Mung Talay Road, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#4 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cha-am
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cha-am
#8 Family Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda Resort and spa is located on the finest beachfront between the traditional Thai resort towns of Cha Am and Hua Hin, a favourite royal and aristocratic retreat for over a century. The resort architectural style is Modern Asian, designed for comfort as well as being pleasing to the eye and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Resort And Spa Hua Hin Cha Am Hotel Cha-Am
Veranda Hotel Cha Am

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing