We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No toothbrush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“No toothbrush”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Sea view was better as we stayed on the 12th floor and can see beautiful sunrise in the mornings. Do not book the mountain view as you would only see constructions. The place is also far from any restaurant outside so u either have to walk or bike if u want to eat the sumptuous sea food they offer at the sea side. The sea side is around 6 km so better be ready for a quick jog or run. There is also no night life at all here in Cha-am beach. We found 2 make shift vans that served some drinks but no alcohol at all.

I noticed there is no tooth brush nor tooth paste given in this hotel so its a big no no for me.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JJ I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    157
    42
    20
    10
See reviews for
70
66
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Our room,facing the beach,was very pleasant,definitely 5 star. Balcony only had one seat,but it was mostly too hot to sit there. The beach area maintained by hotel was grassy and shady, beach just a shallow strip of sand, but sea was safe to swim in.It was very complicated to access the beach, through lobby, down a lane, or a corridor.Compared to lesser starred hotels we stayed in the staff were not particularly friendly, and the hotel is too far from the town to walk in the heat. Massive construction projects behind hotel and elsewhere in the are.Pools were beautiful, but if I went again I would stay elsewhere. Breakfast very good, great coffee.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked through Agoda a "Mountain view" rooms (number ending in 18), so we got a decent deal (about $100/night - breakfast included). Unfortunately, the only view we got was on a huge construction site that prevented us to open the window.

In our room there was a big window between the bathroom and the bedroom, and the access to the bathroom was given through a very loose sliding door, so no privacy at all (!!) especially when you have kids with you! Plus, because of this atypical bathroom/room feature, if we were to turn on the bathroom light, in the middle of the night, we would also lighten up the bedroom!

The sofa in the bedroom had disgusting whitish stains, so we had to turn upside-down the big cushion in order to be able to sit on it, and the second and last day I also noticed yellow stains in the inside of the duvet cover.

The bathroom (with bedroom view...) had a shower and a bathtub. No toothbrush or toothpaste, the only amenities were a small bar of soap and two mini bottles of shampoo and shower gel. The hairdryer wasn't working, but was precisely packed in one of the closets.

Most of the clients were retired northern European, and at 9 am they had already put towels on almost all of the chairs surrounding the pool and gone to have breakfast, so it was impossible to find a place for us and our little son even though there was almost nobody at the pool.

They only provided one key card to access to the floor and open the room, even though we were a family with a small child, and when they gave it to us, inside the card holder there was a price list for most of the stuff in the bedroom... so I had the very bad feeling that they were really hoping somebody was going to break something, so they could round up the final bill, considering it was the first time in my whole life I saw such a list handled to a just checked-in client.
In fact, we broke a small glass soap saucer that was placed near the bathtub, and we were charged $25, which is fair even though honestly I doubt that the original cost was so high, especially in Thailand.

The breakfast was good, and there were plenty of choices, but the international restaurant was overpriced and food so-so.

Staff was professional.

The beach was nice, but not very clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargheritaWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is very overpriced accommodation, in an isolated part of the beach. Do not book a "mountain-view" room as this overlooks a massive and extremely noisy construction site. The most annoying aspect is that despite the isolated location, the management have directed staff not to call taxis, the only other option being to walk (to restaurants etc) or to take the hotel transport which is 3-4 times more expensive than local taxi or tuk tuk prices. There are lovely views from the breakfast area and the hotel does maintain the only grassed area of the Cha/am beach

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MColeman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wachtberg, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed there for 9 days. Good we had a room to the beach side as there is construction going on on the other side. Very good was the very spacy and clean room with perfect bed and the good water pressure and the excellent bathroom. Apart from all the celebrations due to the King's birthday when there was a lot of partying going on in the street behind the hotel, it was fairly quiet. Most of the residents were older people who preferred to rest at the pools.
The breakfast buffet was quite good - but don't try the horribly sweet juices!!! - but every day mostly the same food. One evening we had a dinner buffet which was very nice but the whole dining area at the pool was lit by spotlights - so there was no chance to enjoy a pleasant atmosphere or kind of candlelight dinner we were looking for.
A great deficit is that for the whole hotel there are only two elevators with no stairs available only in case of fire. During the day no problem but especially during breakfast time very problematic. Besides, if you reside on a higher floor than the dining floors you have to use you key card to be able to use the elevator.
The personnel was partly attentive, partly quite unfriendly. The price for the beverages is very high. And for a 4 star hotel it's ridiculous that you have to buy a drink in the lobby to have free internet for 1 hour!!!!
Good is the offer for a shuttle to Cha-am and Hua Hin.
To get to a good restaurant you have to walk about 20 min or take a bike or a taxi. About 1 hour walk into town. i. e. to the night market which really is to be recommended as it is genuine and not just for tourists.

Room Tip: Definitely a room to the beach side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Room and facilities good although balcony small. Beach not attractive but hotel has grassy area which they keep well and overlooks the sea. A 20 min walk to nearest good restaurant and walk not pleasant because of stray dogs. Hotel runs bus to Hua Hin which has far more to offer regarding restaurants and shops as Cha am doesn't have much at all. Personally think you could get equivalent hotel in much prettier location with a better beach.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nadales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and frankly that was enough. We booked through Agoda so got a good mid week deal, Mountain view room has a wonderful view when you look beyond the construction site. The noise and dirt from the sight is constant and no apologies were made by our hotel for this. The hotel layout is so complicated and all the guests seem to be retired westerners who just lie in the pool all day. We tried the italian restaurant but the food but the food was very poor. We had room service another night the food we got here was very good at a reasonable price. The beach is lovely but getting there from the hotel is a chore.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marty175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
3.5 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
2.5 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#21 of 63 in Cha-am
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection
3.4 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#12 of 63 in Cha-am
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
#20 of 63 in Cha-am
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa
Address: 334/1 Ruamjitt Road, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort And Spa
Grand Pacific Sovereign Hotel Cha-Am

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing