We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Golden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Guest House
Ranked #11 of 69 Cha-am B&B and Inns
Bath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Having seen reviews on Tripadvisor my husband and I booked 4 nights at the Golden Guest House and had a really enjoyable stay. Our room was large, and the balcony overlooking bars/restaurants and the sea was very nice. It's very reasonable and Patrick and his wife were great hosts - we went to visit the bat cave which was excellent! Nothing was too much trouble for Patrick. Cha-am is a nice resort - when we were there earlier this month, there was a festival on, and so the beach was packed with Thai families - it's nice to go somewhere where tourists are in the minority for a change in Thailand. The only thing I'd say from reading the previous reviews is that they led us to believe that the guest house was right on the beach and so I'd imagined a beach bungalow-style accommodation on the beach as you get sometimes on the islands in Thailand, but this isn't the case, however, you can see the beach/sea from the balcony and there is a road between the beachfront and hotels so this was probably just my mis-interpretation, but we weren't disappointed with our stay and would definitely recommend Golden Guest House over and above the more expensive resort-style accommodations along the road as this has the right mix of personality, personal service and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    16
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
25
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huissen
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed for 4 GREAT nights with Patrick and Nipha and had the best stay of our trip to Thailand.
They are perfect and friendly hosts in a very authetic Thailand. You miss out on the hurdes of tourist which are seen in Hua Hin just a few kilometers away.
Patrick showed us the area on a motorbike and we saw things we will allways remember. The unique tempel and millions of bats. Again, all without the hurdes of tourist. Great, that's what we like. It makes you feel a little more special.
Patrick is a very friendly guide with a very honest and positive look at the world, which gave our stay just that little extra.
The rooms are VERY spacious en VERY clean too. We never met this price/quality in the weeks to follow. Every bath is worth it.
Just 10 meters from their front door you will find a great foodstall where they serve exellent food for very little money. And the taste is really GOOD! No tourist tastes here! Thank god, it's the original Thai cuisine!!!
As a final word i would like to say that i can't imagine anybody leaving Golden Guest House without a very good feeling and a smile on their face.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

This was our first trip to Cha-am and booked in to The Golden Guest House based on the great reviews we saw from Trip Advisor. Patrick and Nipha run a vry nice guest house. The Breakfast is yummy and you are less than a minute from the beach. Great value and the rooms are a nice size.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Rai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

My Wife and I spent three wounderfull days here in early June. The owners, Nipha & Patrick really looked after us, the room we had was clean, spacious and bright, it was like a 4/5 star hotel. After reading previous reviews we had decided to stay here but no mention was made of car parking, it is available although limited and Patrick confirmed this by return email. When we arrived we asked for the best place to go for seafood, if there were any markets to visit and general directions to other places of interest. Great seafood was to be had in the Fisherman's villiage, the big market was held on Wednesday and a map was provided to other places of interest. In the end we did not go far as we were near to the beach and such a pleasant place to stay.
As for the title of the review "when do we come back" this was my Wife's question every day, we have travelled extensivly in Asia and this the first time she has wanted to return to a place we have visited, it's so laid back.
Thanks to the Nipha & Patrick.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter124ChiangRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Central location almost on the beach; large well-appointed rooms with cable, fridge; beautiful bathrooms; spotlessly clean; friendly, knowledgeable management; Internet, but not wireless, hence 4 stars not 5 stars.

Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank eoo104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2009

We planned to stay in Cha-am for only 1 night but stayed finally for 4. The room was perfectly clean, very spacious, quiet and bright. The bathroom was a little bit small but looked like a 5-star designer piece. The bed was big (king size) and the blankets were whiter than wite.

The French manager Patrique is very friendly and helpful.
Some examples:
- he organized for us an automatic scooter and charged us only 200 baht, all other hotels we stayed at all around Thailand charged us between 250 and 300 Baht.
- he showed us a cave with millions of bats within which we would have never found without his guidance to this place.
- and most important of all he was always ready to give us good advice

If we go back to Cha-am, we will certainly stay again in the Golden Guesthouse.

PS. In the same street there is a very nice Swiss restaurant called "Roestigraben". Excellent food and Pina Coladas!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and the helpful owner
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourasia2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
4.0 mi away
Nirundorn Resort
Nirundorn Resort
#39 of 63 in Cha-am
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
1.0 mi away
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
#20 of 63 in Cha-am
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Srisawat Resort
Srisawat Resort
#9 of 69 in Cha-am
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
NANA North Beach
NANA North Beach
#31 of 63 in Cha-am
12 reviews
4.1 mi away
Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Guest House

Property: Golden Guest House
Address: 234/9/11 Ruamjit road | Bus station Cha-Am Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Golden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Guest House Hotel Cha-Am

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing