We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchids Guest House
Ranked #6 of 165 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and Clean”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Orchids is more expensive than many guesthouses in Chiang Rai, but you can see why when you get there. Very clean rooms, nice bathroom with hot shower, AC with remote, cable TV with remote, fan, and complimentary water bottles, toilet paper and soap. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They will set up all kinds of excursions for you, they rent motorbikes, and have free coffee, tea, cocoa and fruit in reception. There is also a big fridge in reception where you can store food and purchase cold drinks. And they have a masseuse that will come to your room. 300B for a 2-hour Thai massage.

The location is close to the main strip, the night market and the 24-hour market, but away from the noise. The street that it's on has many cafes and bars that are a fraction of the price of the ones on the main road.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    69
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
67
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

For the 400 Baht/night price it is hard to find a better place with AC and a private bathroom.
But there are ants in the rooms and mosquitoes are able to enter through the bathrooms.

If it would have cost more I would have given it a lower rating.

Pick a room on the second floor because the first floor is a parking lot!

Room Tip: Go for the second floor. Avoid staying here if the only rooms are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 502Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

we spent in Chiang Rai three days. We stayed in Orchids Guesthouse and for the value (400B per night) and the clean, spotless room is a very good place.
The receptionists were very nice and smart and you can book from the guesthouse every kind of excurtions and rent a motorbike for less than 200B.
The room come with hot shower, air con, Cable-Tv and free coffee or tea!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeoTuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Apsalutley loved staying in Orchids guest house. Felt very welcome. All staff were very friendly and happy to help with anything. Very comfortable clean rooms! Wifi worked great. Free tea, coffee and fruit was an amazing bonus! Would deffenetly highly recommend for a budget stay :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Guesthouses in CR are not particularly good but this one stands out. Convenient location, cheap, pleasant and helpful staff. The only downs are boring, motel-style rooms and not much choice on the TV, but neither of these are a big problem,

Book ahead because it's always full!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Read all the reviews listed here, focus on the positive things in them, and you have Orchids Guest House. Out of all the guest houses I've seen in Chiang Rai, and there are many, it rates in the top five.

During my stay there my only gripe was how some of the younger guests would sometimes stand near to or outside my room and talk loudly or yell at their friends. This is not a reflection on Orchids, rather on unthinking or uncaring guests. There is another review here that mentions this also.

The wifi works great and there is free internet in the office for those without a laptop.

Room Tip: The rooms that are upstairs are quieter because they aren't next to the parking area or road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Conveniently located down from clock tower, near bus station and night market. Rooms are clean with A/C and free wifi in the room. The staff is very friendly, offering free tea/coffee and water. They even let me store things in the fridge. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Two story building in motel style. May opt for one upstairs. Mine was right in front of the communal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHY1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.2 mi away
Wiang Inn Hotel
Wiang Inn Hotel
#13 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#14 of 165 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchids Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchids Guest House

Property: Orchids Guest House
Address: 1012/3 Jedyod Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculately clean, quiet, family-run guesthouse, central location near clock tower, day & night markets, walking street and No. 1 bus station. 15 rooms, all aircon, fan, own bathroom with hot shower, cable TV. Free internet and wi-fi,personal security locker, free tea/coffee, bottled water. Sightseeing, trekking and touring service and info, bike, motorbike and car rental. Friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Orchids Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchids Guest House Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing