We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Good value a very helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchids Guest House
Ranked #6 of 161 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location. Good value a very helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

I had a big problem when I got to Chiang Rai - I had lost my wallet on the bus!! The staff at Orchids, especially the receptionist was great. They even offered to lend me money!!! I don't care how bad the beds might be - which they weren't - I don't care how noisy the rooms might be - which they weren't - I don't care how many negative comments might be posted about this place - I don't have ANY - you cannot get better than this!! In value, in staff cooperation and friendliness, in location. For 400 baht a night you will not do better. Trust me.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank GraemeJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    69
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
66
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Good place to stay but it hasn't been up with our best hence the average rating. On the plus -- great location (walking distance from bus station and clock tower) and very helpful staff. On the negative side -- instead of mattresses we slept on box springs (not so comfy) and three of the four of us woke up with bed bugs. The staff said that we got them on our trek and perhaps we did -- we had just returned. However, we've had bed bugs once years ago and I know we got them immediately, not days later. I'm not whining -- just sharing the pros and cons.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I booked with Orchids after seeing it mentioned in Lonely Planet, but my friend and I were really surprised with how poor our experience was. The woman at the desk was horribly unfriendly and very unhelpful; simple questions about the Internet and air-con were met with disdain. Her English wasn't very good so I guess that could have been it, but I somehow doubt it.

The place isn't very clean - our bathroom had dirty footprints on the floor and the bedroom hasn't been swept in quite some time. There's a balcony to sit on, which is nice. I didn't feel like the place was particularly safe, either - the doors didn't lock securely.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I returned to Orchids Guesthouse in late June this year for a short stay in Chiang Rai - the location is great, easy walk from the bus terminal - easy access to the night market and Saturday Walking Street. My room this time was downstairs and towards the end of the block - ask to see the room first if you wish. It had the best bathroom in it I had encountered during my 4 weeks holiday- sensible layout, big and clean. The bed was comfortable and I heard no outside noise during the night. Its not the Ritz but its clean, comfortable and inexpensive - oh and its near Jed Yod Street where you get the best ever Khao Soy in Thailand ( near the computer games centre)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rusthomco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Loved this hotel stayed 4 nights , clean rooms lovely staff , free tea coffee, and water and bananas , rooms cleaned every if you want ,otherwise put the sign out when you do , washing was returned in good shape nothing missing a great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songkhla, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Spent 4 nights there in May 2013. A/C with hot water, TV, drinking water in room, free coffee/tea. Asked for and got one of the end rooms. Very quiet. Spotlessly clean. Fresh starched linen on the bed. Cold a/c. The staff was friendly and efficient and booked a motorbike for me. It arrived and was picked up within 5 minutes of the call. The location is perfect--right in the middle of Chiang Rai, near the bus station, but in a small deadend alley. Quiet and convenient.

Room Tip: An end room will be quieter than others since the guests will have to walk past when they are going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JStaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chang Rai, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

This guest house is near many tourist friendly facilities, easy to get tours, motorbikes massage and foreign or thai food. Guesthouse is clean and the manager is very helpful and friendly. It is close to the old bus station so you can walk to get a bus anywhere in Thailand.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same. Second floor maybe less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.2 mi away
Wiang Inn Hotel
Wiang Inn Hotel
#13 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#21 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#15 of 161 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchids Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchids Guest House

Property: Orchids Guest House
Address: 1012/3 Jedyod Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculately clean, quiet, family-run guesthouse, central location near clock tower, day & night markets, walking street and No. 1 bus station. 15 rooms, all aircon, fan, own bathroom with hot shower, cable TV. Free internet and wi-fi,personal security locker, free tea/coffee, bottled water. Sightseeing, trekking and touring service and info, bike, motorbike and car rental. Friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Orchids Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchids Guest House Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing