We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value accommodation in the heart of town”
Review of The North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The North Hotel
Ranked #42 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed 30 October 2011

What we English call 'shabby chic'. Clean & comfortable, and if you get a room at the back it's also quiet despite being so close to the wonderful night bazaar. Charming terrace for just my room & one other. A few minutes walk away from the bus station and even closer to the flower market and the meat/fish market.
Free use of the computers & internet access and an acceptable breakfast.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyFifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2011

The Hotel is situated in perfect location just walking distance from Night bazaar. The rooms are quite good but abit small with reasonable price and good staff. BUT DONT FORGET TO GET EARPLUGS ALONG SINCE YOU WILL HEAR cock-a-doodle-do WHOLE NIGHT.
It seems that the hotel has a room filled with cocks and hens.
If you are looking for a relaxation then this hotel is NOT RECOMMEND since you wouldn't be able to sleep well

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_jjjjjjjjjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Only one lovely member of staff was helpful re travel arrangements, tours etc .Others totally disinterested and more concerned with their hair mobile phones and visiting friends . Breakfast very poor also . Rooms adequate but tired and shabby. Perhaps charming a few years ago but charmless now !
however good quiet location near night market and bus station

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miloman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I stayed at the North Hotel for a few nights at the start of my recent Thailand holiday. The hotel is in a great spot near to the night market, flower market and central shopping/eating areas, nearly everything you need is on the doorstep or a short walk away. The well known temples are about a 10 minute walk away. The bus station is around the corner, although it's worth noting that a lot of the long distance buses now depart from the southern bus station, a ten minute tuk tuk ride away.
The hotel is clean, with a small lobby and cafe area, which also has a few tables outside overlooking the street. There are some PCs for use at the rear and wi fi throughout.
The rooms are simple, smallish and the bathrooms compact, but the beds are comfortable, the aircon good (if you need it) and there are large fridges in the room. tv etc.
Best of all the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant and can arrange things at short notice. Take a look at the nice handmade, hand-dyed woven scarfs, table mats, napkins etc made by the delightful Issan lady who works at the hotel, they are for sale by reception and good quality.
I'd happily stay in this good value place again

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulosussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The hotel met our needs to be inside our budget, clean, quiet and comfortable with A/C. Even though we only stayed 1 night, we found the staff helpful and friendly. We booked by email (add Email Address: ---) www.thenorth.co.th. It’s located behind the old bus station from where local buses depart, including the bus to Chiang Khong on the Laos border. We were a bit apprehensive at first because the area was behind the markets and looked a bit run down and “seedy” but it was fine. The bare concrete floor on the whole of the 1st floor was unusual – one wondered if it was part of a plan to install new floor coverings throughout!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

very very nice hotel. clear and modern, with european mood (like the piano bar) and oriental style. so beautiful the hall with dark wood everywhere, nice rooms not very big but comfortable. bath amenities were so aprecieted. a lovely terrace with pillows, candle and fresh fruit where enjoy the night breeze. the owner is a kind man from boston that loves music and marmelade. the owner's cat is so sweet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silviaclodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Modern hotel with small rooms, close to every thing you need (markets, night bazaar, bus stop)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fila_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden land hotel
Golden land hotel
#49 of 108 in Chiang Rai
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 108 in Chiang Rai
216 reviews
16.3 mi away
Rimchan Resort Hotel
Rimchan Resort Hotel
#40 of 108 in Chiang Rai
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#30 of 108 in Chiang Rai
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tourist Inn
Tourist Inn
#21 of 108 in Chiang Rai
52 reviews
0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#70 of 108 in Chiang Rai
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Hotel

Address: 612/100-101 Sirikorn Market, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £8 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Hotel is a small, family-and-friends-run hotel in the city centre of Chiang Rai. We aim at giving our guests good quality and personal service for a reasonable price. We are centrally located in a quiet street with the bus station and The Night Bazaar in one end, and Sirikorn [silikon] Market, the fruit and flower market on the other. We are also within walking distance from everywhere in downtown Chiang Rai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing