We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Family Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Getaway”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Le Meridien Chiang Rai is a must-do destination because of the incredible warmth of Justin, the GM, and Renaud, the Restaurant Manager. Both were constantly flitting about to ensure that their guests were happy and the hotel was running smoothly. Justin and Renaud are the kinds of hosts who not only want their guests to have a good hotel stay, but sincerely want their guests to have a perfect vacation in the region. They were caring, approachable, helpful and truly made our stay memorable, providing for our every need and also taking time to give us recommendations for day trips. Yes, the breakfast buffet is fresh and varied, but the little touches like toasted (instead of raw) cashews, perfectly-flaky croissants (so rare to find outside of France!), fruit smoothies made to order, and unique offerings like vegetable maki, grilled panini, and rice spring rolls made for a uniquely creative and satisfying daily start. Coffee quality WAY above average for a hotel chain. In general, a lot of thought is put into the hotel offerings: there is a lovely, quiet, airy library with an abundance of interesting books about the region as well as enough kids ' books to keep my three (ages 2, 7, and 10) occupied for hours. The kids' club is tiny but welcoming and well-appointed. For New Year's Eve, the staff set up a delightful outdoor carnival with local games and snacks - our children were so excited to win several prizes and we were all heartened to know that the carnival would benefit a children's charity in the region - very, very nice touch on the part of the management. Following this there was an extensive buffet dinner and then a festive celebration at the bar near the river, complete with fireworks and lantern launching, Thai-style. My only tiny negative is that I wish there was a full-on Thai restaurant on the hotel grounds, or at least more selections for strict vegetarians on the dinner menu of the two existing restaurants. We also yearned for a tennis court, as the climate is absolutely perfect for this sport. But I would not hesitate to recommend this excellent hotel - it's a wonderful and peaceful resting point from thailand's cities, and a great base for exploring northern thailand's fascinating culture. Thanks to Justin and Renaud for an outstanding stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear MrandMrsOJ

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your visit over the new year period. I was so pleased to have you & the family with us to celebrate & welcome in 2012, and even more pleased to see how much fun you all had at the carnival. I, along with the management team went last week to make the donation to the Chidren's charity and the kids there were absolutely thrilled to receive the benefits of everyone's generosity. On behalf of them, thank you.

I do agree we could do with more vegetarian options on our menus and that's exctly what we're now doing. Both our Italian menu and Latest Recipe menu are currently being re-written by our Executive Chef and we will be including more options on both, so thank you for the feedback.

Wishing you all a great 2012 and hope to welcome you back to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort sometime again in the future.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,335
    494
    118
    38
    16
See reviews for
401
1,044
101
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south-east-uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We arrived late from the UK and had room service from the main menu, should have gone to the bar instead.
Breakfast had a great choice of styles of food all freshly prepared. Tapas in the bar during the early evening is a good appetiser for dinner.The house wine was excellent and worth the money. There is a complimentary shuttle bus into town
The rooms are excellent with large spacious bathrooms and a spacious fridge, the complimentary water is very welcome. There is free internet access in the library 1 hour per day
All staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: remember your starwood preferred guest card for a room upgrade if available, go for a pool view on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workhousekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear workhousekids

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on our property. I am very happy to hear that you had a very good time at our hotel – I will pass this good news on to my associates!

Furthermore, our resort recognizes the fact that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and thus, takes great care in preparing it – our food is prepared with the use of fresh produce, juices are freshly made and our coffee bean is illy only.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel whenever your travels take you to Chiang Rai again.

Best regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We visited Le Meridien Chiang Rai to start off our Christmas vacation, and it was just what we needed to get away from it all. It is a bit isolated from the rest of the town, but it suited our needs. When you exit the hotel turn right and you have a few local restaurants to choose from. As Platinum, we got complimentary breakfast, with a very decent spread. You can also get a ride to town on their free shuttle bus to the town and the park, just make sure that you get the correct schedule as they had given us an old schedule and we ended up waiting for the bus for abt. 30 minutes wondering if they would show up, also you need to tell them when you do intend to return as they might not run the bus if there are no passengers. We wanted to use the pool which was just outside our room, but alas it was too cold. They also have a penguin club for the little ones to hang around or watch DVD. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear hkfornow

It is fantastic news to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Chiang Rai. I will be sure to let our team know of your positive feedback about your stay!

You would be pleased to know that we actually provide daily shuttle services to other places also, such as the Rai Mae Fah Luang Art and Cultural Park. Maybe on your next visit you would be able to visit this superb destination. As part of Le Méridien’s value, our UNLOCK ART Key card, will allow you to access this park for free.

Please do let me know when you will be visiting Chiang Rai again and I look forward to welcoming you personally on your next visit!
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This hotel is excellent in many ways, but it fell short of my expectations.

The building is excellent – great rooms, balconies, washrooms, and lobby area. Pool hours were disappointing – closing at 7 PM is far too early. Laundry was disgustingly overpriced. There was apparently an option to send out the laundry for a lower fee, but it did not seem sufficiently organized.

At a international brand hotel like Le Meridien, English-speaking staff should be available, or if they struggle with English, they should know to find someone who can speak English well. While they meant well, I had numerous minor issues:

-I was told on check-in that wifi would work in my room, and I could not get it to work. Asked another staff member, who also confirmed it should work in my room. Then finally, talked to a more senior staff member who said it was only in the lobby area. I wasted about half an hour trying to get internet to work in my room due to this confusion.

-Very difficult to get information about the town from the staff aside from the main sites. Hotel taxis and tours were extremely overpriced, and didn’t even appear to use better providers. A tip is to walk down the street to the restaurants near the hotel, where there appear to be a couple of travel agents, or find a travel agent downtown. A shuttle bus is provided to the town on a scheduled basis, which was very useful, but the hotel should also be able to provide free airport shuttles given the hotel's close proximity to the airport.

-One of the days I was there, there was a scheduled power outage in the morning from 9 AM – 10 AM. Advance notice was provided in a letter, which was sufficient. The letter also indicated that guests could get complimentary juice from one of the hotel restaurants during the outage. Upon trying this, the staff tried to charge me around 700 baht for the breakfast buffet, and didn’t seem to be aware of the letter at all. It took significant explanation to get the juice (including involving another guest who decided to intervene to help explain to the staff member to stop trying to charge me) wasting my time and making me feel unwelcome at the restaurant.

Given the high ratings others have given this hotel and my past experience with Starwood and Meridien, I expected better.

I definitely recommend a meal at the on-site restaurant, Tavola, where I had one of the best pasta dishes I have ever had, and the service was excellent.

Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PolarBear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We have very mixed feedback for this resort as a Platinum SPG member - we did receive a complimentary upgraded room based on our status which is appreciated and beautiful. The access to the river is a plus for a tour. The service is inconsistent - the Thai staff is unquestionable. The availability of what one expects, especially if listed on the menu, is extremely poor. Twice we ordered something and each time it was suddenly not available with the closest option being 1000 baht more expensive with no offer to reduce unless asked by the guest. This is not the service level expected, but then another night you might receive a complimentary cheese tray. Overall - inconsistent.

Room Tip: Room upgrade was very nice, however toilet area has a sewage smell so it appears there is not a sewe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKLKworldheritage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear MKLKworldheritage

Thank you for your review regarding your stay in December. I've since had our Engineering team rectify the unpleasant smell in the bathroom you mentioned, I appreciate you letting me know.

Although we were unaffected physically, it has been challenging to source food & beverage since the floods in Thailand, with a number of normal items not available. Some of our orders we placed with suppliers turned up without all stock purchased and this has been a wide problem throughout Thailand during this unfortunate time. I realise this impacted on your visit and came across as inconsistency (which it was) however this was out of our control as you can imagine. I have briefed the team though to ensure we communicate this with our guests so you're aware and understand the situation better, allowing you to enjoy your visit more.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased you enjoyed your room upgrade.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at the Méridien with my wife and 2 kids before the Christmas holiday. The location is convenient - 5-10 minutes from the airport. The hotel car is a Nissan Teana and clean. The open air lobby is beautifully appointed with contemporary furniture and we were greeted with friendly and engaging staff.

The room was upgraded since there were not many guests - and it was big and offered 2 queen beds and a chaise that my 8 year old could use as a bed.

The main restaurant and breakfast buffet was excellent. A fresh juice bar, a sushi station were highlights, but for me a warm croissant and Nutella were enough to accompany my capuchino. Renauld the Food and Beverage Manager engaged us each morning and gave us helpful hints about the surrounding area.

In all, a good hotel and excellent service from the staff.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomchamb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne AU
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

If only resorts in Australia were this good.

Even the standard rooms are huge, overlooking the pool or garden. Breakfast will distract you from the day ahead and the pool - yummy!!!

It's easy to mention that it's a bit out of town but the setting is beautiful and you couldn't build a hotel of this size anywhere closer in.

Treat yourself - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear freddocat

We gladly appreciate the time that you took to write positive feedback in TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure to hear that our services made your stay a memorable one if we have passed your test and high expectations, we feel much relieved.

Thank you again for taking the time to share this feedback – much valued and appreciated.

Kind regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
9.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing