We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. This review is a little late as we stayed that back in 2010, but it was an amazing hotel. The entire layout and setup of the hotel seemed to be designed to make you feel relaxed and at ease.

Swimming in the pool made you feel like you were right up at the edge of the river and was extremely relaxing. The rooms had a very cool layout with an open bathroom idea. The service was great and the food at the restaurants were also great and priced well.

If I go back to Chang Rai i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwins85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear jwins85

How kind of you to take the time to write this review. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your warm words - very much appreciated.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you again to Le Meridien Chiang Rai.

With kind regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    482
    115
    37
    16
See reviews for
391
1,013
95
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
305 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in the grand suite which is very well designed to our liking. Modern and minimalistic (but not over) the room is more than spacious. One the nicer suites we stayed at for sure and we and above our expectations, must have been like 160 sqm including the balcony. The pool is nice. The views to the river are enchanting. The buffet breakfast is a very good spread. I ordered breakfast in the room as well the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon was a true delight! The eggs benedict was good, but we've had better. Service was kind and caring. The concierge knowledgable and helpful. Really, no complaints except I wished we cuold have stayed longer!
We've stayed on a previous trip in the normal rooms (deluxe?) and remember that they were also large and well appointed. Location is convenient, sort of just out of town. Will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Definitely higher floors and closer to river for better views. However closer to the river means fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kovit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Kovit S

Thank for your great comments about service and your experience at our resort. It was a pleasure to welcome you at the hotel. I shared your feedback with the team and they positively beamed when they heard your warm words!

Thank you for highlighting the Grand Suite as well as the breakfast in room. I am delighted that we made your stay special and memorable.

Thank you for writing this wonderfully detailed and positive review. And I am happy to know that you were comfortable and taken care of during your stay with us.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Lanna kingdom again.
Thank you again for your kind comments.

Sincere regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Le Meridian is a very luxury hotel and as a such, it does not disappoint. It includes everything expectable for this group of hotels, but the price of the hotel in Chiang Rai is more affordable than other hotels of this group. The buffet breakfast was enormous, the rooms very comfortable and well decorated and spacious. The infinity pool one of the most beautiful and the views to the river are amazing.

The staff in the hotel was in all moment really friendly, helpful and respectful, There are few restaurants near the hotel where chinese or thai food can be tasted. Otherwise, the hotel provides shuttle service to the night bazaar in Chiang Rai, very advisable and very beautiful.

The hotel also provided us with a half-day tour to gold triangle, the tour was nice and some visits not initially included were added, so, in general we liked it. However, the tour was a bit focused on souvernir markets, particularly in the short visit to Laos, that was, in our opinion, a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: Probably all room are equally good, may be the rooms facing the pool could be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maite120570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Maite120570

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort. I'm delighted to read you were extremely comfortable during your visit, and enjoyed the resort grounds, room & pool.

Whenever we received guest comments, we take time to review the feedback as a team. If there is something we need to do better, we make actions plans, raise awareness and monitor improvements. Our team was delighted with your feedback – thank you!

Thank you again for your review and for staying wit us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you and regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Le Meridien

We stayed for 3 days / 2 nights and used the hotel as a base for daytrips in the Chiang Rai / Golden Triangle.

What we liked:
- Beautiful surroundings. The hotel is located on the bank of the river and looks fantastic. The pool area is also very nice. Just remember, it's a big place, which means lots of walking.
- The atmosphere is relaxed and even sleepy. It's a 5 minutes drive from the hotel to Chiang Rai (hotel offers paid transport).
- Great value. We paid approx. 3000 THB / night (prepaid, without breakfast) for a room which could fit us and our 2 kids. It was by far the best offer, in comparison to vaule provided, in the Chiang Rai region.
- Huge and very tasty buffet breakfast for only 400 THB.

What we didn't like:
- Lack of personal touch. Professional but not friendly service. In a way it's unavoidable in such a big place, and yet this makes a difference between a nice stay and and unforgettable one.
- The pool was closed for one day due to an accident (someone broke a glass while in the pool and they had to empty all the water).
- Lack of free wifi in the room. Access to free wifi in lobby area was cut off the second we had checked out (even though we were still waiting for our transport). Probably this is due to some automatic password management system, but it was rude and unnecessary.

Overall, a great starting point when visiting the region - we would stay there again...

Room Tip: Ask for room closer to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PawelWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear PawelWu,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We very much appreciate it as it allows us an opportunity to continually improve our products and services.

Thank you for your wonderful review of our beautiful property. We agree, that you would be hard pressed to find better value for money in a five star property than the Le Meridien Chiang Rai.

It is disappointing to learn that we have not entirely met your expectations on this occasion, and for that I am very sorry. We normally only receive very positive comments about the friendliness of our associates. I will discuss with the team again the importance of ensuring we are as friendly as we are professional. I also apologise that you experienced the internet cutting out. You are correct that access is on a timed basis. I respect that it is frustrating, however, it has been designed in this way to ensure security of the service and our internal systems from external viruses and or access.

I thank you again for your positive comments, and opportunities for us to improve. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Le Meridien Chiang Rai in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We only had one night at Le Meridien but what a night.

Check in was professional, smooth and easy.

Room was absolutely lovely, big, clean and comfortable. The balcony looking out over river and pool area was fantastic and the day bed was so comfortable.

We chose to have room service for breakfast and this was really good, to the point that our cappuccinos were a little flat, we didn't notice the waiter did and he apologised, took them away and returned with new ones, great service.

There is a little shop just a short walk from hotel too.

Checkout was fast and easy.

If we get back to Chiang Rai we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LenandCathieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear LenandCathieTasmania

How kind of you to write this detailed review – and thank you for your wonderfully positive comments. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed the location and views. There is no doubt that the river views receive the best comments from our guests – and the balcony is a delightful place to sit especially early morning with a cup of coffee.
Your comments regarding service are a joy to read. Whenever we receive a Trip Advisor review, we always share it with our hotel team at the daily morning meeting. The team beamed when they heard your warm words.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Lanna kingdom again.
Thank you again for your kind comments.

Sincere regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Couldn't believe our luck when we turned up at this hotel. The building is striking with lovely landscaping,views of the river and distant mountains and a wonderful pool area on the edge of the river. A famous DJ curated a 24 hour playlist which plays unobtrusively in the background in public areas and I have to say it's the best hotel lobby music I've heard, it's neither too intrusive nor bland. Wish all hotels would catch on to this. The buffet breakfast is huge and varied. The restaurant area itself is vaulted and a lovely space to be in. Public areas such as reception and the library are beautiful and make you wish you had a house like this. Bedrooms and bathrooms are huge, chic and comfortable. Shuttle in to town is quick and I'm pleased we didn't stay in a hotel in town. Service was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear vivienne n

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I thank you for your positive comments about our wonderful and beautiful hotel. It is very pleasing to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, you made my day when I saw the title of your review. I'm extremely pleased you loved the quiet space of the resort along with our Favola Italian restaurant and our breakfast selection, we do get regular great comments about them and I'll be thrilled to share your comments with our teams.

Wow, what a compliment! Our associates work tirelessly to ensure we offer a best in town experience for our guests and it's just wonderful you've felt and experienced it. Thank you for making my day, and all of our associate's day for that matter!

Thank you again for this review.
Warm regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visited this hotel in our honeymoon this year . Amazing view from the river, fantastic breakfast, comfortable rooms, so what is missing? the staff in the restaurants was confused, regular service, we didn't feel welcome there. This is a expensive hotel, and we had a lot of expectation! It was our honeymoon. So, nothing special, just a regular place!

Room Tip: River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KalleneSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Kallenesummer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback after your recent stay with us at the Le Meridien Chiang Rai. Your review will provide us with valuable information that will assist us in improving our products, service and brand.

I was disappointed to learn that we have not met your expectations, and for that I am very sorry.

I am shocked that you have found the Le Meridien Chiang Rai expensive. Whilst we are slightly more expensive than the local Thai hotels, and street side food and beverage vendors, I would be surprised if you could find another international five star resort that provides the same level of quality of products and services for the same price.

Regardless, we will take your feedback onboard and review our pricing structures across the resort to ensure we are good value for money.

We pride ourselves on offering a fabulous, friendly and professional product and service, for which we appear to have fallen well short of on this occasion. I would hope that you provide us with another opportunity in the future to restore your faith in our brand, product and service.

Thank you and regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.9 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing