We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy to visit, room with stunning view”
Review of Lanjia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lanjia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Worthy to visit, room with stunning view”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We got an extraordinary experience at Lanjia Lodge.

Lanjia Lodge is located between two hill tribe villages (Mhong & Lahu). We had an opportunity learn about their cultures, religions, and meet a Shaman.

There’re many activities to choose but we stay there only 1 day but I had an opportunity to talked with other guests (a couple from Holland). They did many things…a village visit, half day trekking & made Mhong batik and they said it was great experience.

The Lodge is very peaceful & quiet. Their rooms are the same with four bedrooms with a common balcony but you will get a difference view, some rooms are faces Mekong River, some faces a valley & village. We got rooms with Mekong View.

Anyone who wants a difference & unique experience, I would like to recommend “Lanjia Lodge”

Room Tip: Their rooms are the same with four bedrooms with a common balcony but you will get a difference view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nungning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed here for 1 night but wanted to extend for a few days. It was a lovely place and the room was perfect fitting the location. Ours faced the sunrise and veranda and had amazing views.

The whole package included room food and entertainment which was traditional dancing and music by tribes people both young and old.

For me it was the highlight of a months travelling and well worth a visit again.

Room Tip: there are 2 rooms that face East and overlook the veranda. These are the best of the 4 available in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibi39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novy Jicin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

If you would like to step off the beaten path and have a unique experience, then this is the place for you. This is a remote location, and an opportunity to learn about about the hill tribes in Northern Thailand. Bonus here is that you can experience this area, AND have a toilet and hot shower! (we also did a 32 km trek and stayed in even more remote locations later in our trip, so this is not always true!). So you get the best of both worlds with this stop!

We met the local Shaman, took a stab at Batik, and a nice long boat ride on the Mekong while we were there.

Room is spacious, with modern facilities, even if the walls are from bamboo! The view is absolutely incredible. Both breakfast and dinner was outstanding. The staff was friendly, and made us feel at home.

To top it off, you give something back to the local community. This is not just a hotel, but a truly unique experience!

Don't miss the Tea'cher organic tea farm just down the road!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
witley
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our tour of Asia. The village experience was delightful; we were made to feel genuinely welcomed and the inhabitants of the village were only too pleased to share and explain their culture and customs with us. Our accommodation within the Lanjia Lodge Complex was excellent with amazing views. The service was unique and the cuisine commendable. An experience not easily forgotten, highly recommended. A must do!

Room Tip: All the lodges have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WitleyCarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of the Asian Oasis package south along the Mekong to Luang Prabang. We were collected from our Chiang Rai hotel and driven the 90 min to this stunning location. The hotel is located up an extremely steep hill between Lahu and Hmong tribes. The lodge is constructed of bamboo and wicker but has western facilities including toilet, washbasin and shower and the most stunning view down the valley from your large balcony to the Mekong and Lao. Meals are served on the balcony and are of excellent standard. Local beers can be purchased with meals. We were shown by our extremely knowledgeable guide around both villages and were given the opportunity to make batik handkerchiefs with local ladies (which were brought to us finished the next morning) and speak with a local sharman and ask him questions about both himself and his village. We were taken to the local Herbal Plant Nursery project and invited to make our own sign and plant a tree in the nursery. During dinner we were treated to a Hmong performance. The locals were just so incredibly friendly and helpful. It was a joy watching them play and interact with our 11 year old. I can highly recommend a stay at the Lanjia Lodge.

Room Tip: All room are the same with four bedrooms and a common balcony overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedrovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

If you are tired of homogenized travel and have a taste for adventure (even a mild one) you should try Lanjia Lodge. The Lodge is located approximately 60 km north of Chaing Rai between two hill tribe villages. One is comprised of members of the Lahu tribe; the other is Hmong. Guests have the opportunity learn about the tribes’ cultures, religions, and daily lives. We loved the experience.

There is a fairly wide variety of activities available. We chose a guided tour of the villages, which included visits to their respective shamans and chances to ask questions of them. Our personable guide was well informed about the day-to-day activities, customs and religions of the tribes and, because he spoke excellent English, was able to impart that knowledge to us. We also visited a local tea plantation and, along the way, stopped to plant a tree at a reforesting camp. Another activity we enjoyed was visiting a Hmong batik artist who gave us (with other guests) an introduction to the batik process.

The Lodge is very quiet and peaceful. I found it utterly enjoyable simply to sit and watch the surrounding hills and valley below as the sun set. An unexpected plus was the chance to meet and converse at length with other guests (who, during our period of stay, were from England and France). There really is nothing else to do at night (which, to my mind is a blessing).

The facility and amenities are fairly simple (constructed mostly of bamboo, wicker, and thatch), but comfortable nonetheless. There are six buildings housing guests, each with four rooms. Rooms are essentially identical and impeccably clean. Bathrooms have hot water (shower only) and modern fixtures. Guests eat on a covered veranda overlooking the valley below and distant Mekong River. Breakfast lunch and dinner are prepared in a central kitchen and served on the verandas. The food (the chef is himself a member of the Hmong tribe) generally is excellent. It is prepared on the milder (i.e., less spicy) side to accommodate western palates; but you can ask for more heat if desired. At night, Lahu and Hmong tribes people provide entertainment: dancing and the playing native instruments.

Full day and half-day treks are available for those wishing a more physically challenging experience. Time constraints didn’t allow us to avail ourselves of these. However, I expect that the hikes cover terrain that is quite steep. Even the relatively short walks to the villages near the Lodge were steep. Comfortable walking shoes are essential.

My wife and I found the opportunity to learn about the hill tribes of Thailand to be educational and highly enjoyable. Indeed, we enjoyed our visit so much that we intend to visit other community based lodges in Northern Thailand on future trips. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TJHESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stopped here as an overnight with a group of 20 and were sad that we could not stay longer. The views are stunning, the food, the accommodations, the service, the activities were all excellent as was our charming guide, Tun. I called to say that I left my jacket here and it was delivered to me in Chiang Rai two days later!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greekweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
41.2 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
42.0 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
967 reviews
34.6 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.7 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
675 reviews
50.9 mi away
Pa Sak Tong
Pa Sak Tong
#17 of 109 in Chiang Rai
29 reviews
42.6 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanjia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanjia Lodge

Property: Lanjia Lodge
Address: 347 Kiewkan village , Moo 6 | Tambol Rimkhong, Amphur Chiang Khong, Chiang Rai 57140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanjia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lanjia, or 'peaceful' in Hmong language, is an eco-friendly community-based lodge nestled high on a hill in Chiang Rai Province, northern Thailand. Offering dramatic vistas of the Mekong Valley and Laos, it is in complete harmony with the lush green environment as well as the Hmong and Lahu villages in which it is located. Your hosts at the Lanjia Lodge are the proud Hmong and Lahu villagers who take care of all visitors and all activities at the lodge during your stay. All visitors are taken on personal tours of the villages where they can freely intermingle and even meet the local shamans. Contributions from your stay will be used on community projects that will improve the local hill tribe people's living conditions. A variety of packages is available, all of which have been created to give you an insight into the culture of the Hmong and Lahu people. Choose from trekking tours, a boat ride on the mighty Mekong River or a visit to the nearby Golden Triangle. The lodge is only 30 minute drive to the Thailand-Laos border and immigration check-point where many tourists board an overnight boat to the world heritage site of Luang Prabang, Laos. There is no public transportation between Lanjia Lodge and the border. We can arrange a car or a van for guests who stay at the lodge and continue their trip to Luang Prabang. Our prices include accommodation in comfortable king-size or twin bedded rooms with en-suite bathrooms (where applicable), electric fans (non air-conditioned), meals and drinks as specified in the programs, as well as English speaking tour/activity guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lanjia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanjia Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing