We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, local, and lovely”
Review of Lanjia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lanjia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Secluded, local, and lovely”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Lovely, upscale feeling in a "hut" - all bamboo and wood - with a huge balcony overlooking the green valley, Thai/Laos border, and Mekong river. The lodge is run by Asian Oasis whose mission is to create experiences focused on community development, environmental balance, culture and nature. The lodge is made up of four, huge, traditionally thatched cottages built to blend with the local architecture and surroundings. They are unique, secluded, quiet, beautiful, clean, and steeped in local art and culture. In the evening, two staff members came in and unfurled an ingenious mosquito net apparatus which was the cleverest I have ever seen. Dinner was served on our balcony and was cooked by a chef from the local Hmong village which my traveling companions and I strolled through earlier in the day, watching women carry sacks of rice weighing more than two times their body weight as they made local deliveries, youngsters playing soccer, and roosters strutting and claiming their territories. We arrived via bicycles up final hills so steep only the heartiest could continue to pedal, but the lodge and little village were worth the effort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontgomeryKearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and very peaceful and relaxing time.

HOW TO GET THERE:

From reading the reviews I noted that most people stay at the Lodge one night as part of a tour and I couldn't find much info on how to get to the Lodge from Chiang Rai by bus. If you are feeling adventurous you can take the green bus from Chiang Rai bus station to Chiang Kong and then haggle with a driver at the Chiang Kong bus station who will arrange a pickup truck to the Lodge for 700 baht. Personally I would recommend letting the Lodge arrange transportation from Chiang Kong as it's is tricky to find and you may end up with a driver who gets lost. The bus ride from Chiang Rai to Chiang Kong is really an experience as you can chat with all the travelers from different countries.

We took a private car from the Lodge to Chiang Rai as we were pressed for time. You can arrange this when you make your accommodation reservation.

BACK TO THE LODGE:

The views are incredible. Try to stay in the villa at the bottom on the left with a room facing the Mekong River which has a great view and is a little quieter as some of the villages rooster squawk all night long. Some rooms at the back don't have this wonderful view.

Know that when you stay there, you are helping an entire community.

We were the only guests so we had the place to ourselves. Ton our guide was fantastic and bent over backwards to accommodate us. He even organized a sunset bike ride along the Mekong River for us which was perfect.

The rooms at the lodge are very comfortable and the food is excellent. The staff are really nice and anytime we experienced a language barrier problem, Ton was there to help. The staff who are from the tribal villages are trying to learn English which isn't easy to do.

For us, staying 3 nights is a good amount of time. Also don't be afraid to wander into the village and play with the kids.

If you want to stay somewhere memorable and really off the beaten path, then the Lanjia Lodge is the place.

Room Tip: Stay at the villa at the very bottom on the left with a room facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night and really enjoyed it.

The rooms have a "hill tribe" feel and we regret we didn't book a longer stay.

The staff was great and the food enjoyable. We would stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pwiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

After cycling 71 km part of it up a very steep hill ( 6km) we were ready for a relaxing stopover.
This Eco friendly tribal village project was surprising in the attention to detail, cleanliness of the rooms and lounge area. Each 'bungalow' had 4 double rooms with fantastic views over the mountains to the banks of the Mekong and across to Laos.
Food was served to us in the lounge - all locally produced and well cooked and presented.
All money goes back to the village and seemed a well thought out and worthwhile project.
We had the bonus of a late night party at the entrance with the Chiang Rai 'hairy bikers' chapter, who invited us for drinks and bar be que and a sing along around the camp fire - priceless.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunshineRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hadlock, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The whole Lanjia Lodge exerience was very special. Even though we were paying tourists, we believe we really were able to get an insight into the village life. We met with 2 Shamans, walked around the entire village (among the puppies and giggling children), did batik with the ladies and planted trees. It's amazing how those simple activities can make you feel connected with the culture.

The Lodge is beautiful and the views of the Mekong with Laos behind it are gorgeous, especially when the sea of fog rolls in. Listening to the sounds from the village below while lounging around the deck/communal space is something we'll never forget. The rooms are clean and there is plenty of hot water in the shower. Meals were great, served traditional style while seated on cushions.

What makes traveling so special for us is mingling with the locals and learning about the culture. Asian Oasis has really hit on something here. The model of "hotels within villages", with profits benefitting the people of the villages is a great concept. We wish this was available everywhere we travel!

We HIGHLY RECOMMEND Lanjia Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJS247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We got an extraordinary experience at Lanjia Lodge.

Lanjia Lodge is located between two hill tribe villages (Mhong & Lahu). We had an opportunity learn about their cultures, religions, and meet a Shaman.

There’re many activities to choose but we stay there only 1 day but I had an opportunity to talked with other guests (a couple from Holland). They did many things…a village visit, half day trekking & made Mhong batik and they said it was great experience.

The Lodge is very peaceful & quiet. Their rooms are the same with four bedrooms with a common balcony but you will get a difference view, some rooms are faces Mekong River, some faces a valley & village. We got rooms with Mekong View.

Anyone who wants a difference & unique experience, I would like to recommend “Lanjia Lodge”

Room Tip: Their rooms are the same with four bedrooms with a common balcony but you will get a difference view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nungning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed here for 1 night but wanted to extend for a few days. It was a lovely place and the room was perfect fitting the location. Ours faced the sunrise and veranda and had amazing views.

The whole package included room food and entertainment which was traditional dancing and music by tribes people both young and old.

For me it was the highlight of a months travelling and well worth a visit again.

Room Tip: there are 2 rooms that face East and overlook the veranda. These are the best of the 4 available in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibi39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
41.2 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
34.6 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
42.0 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.7 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
702 reviews
42.9 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
42.6 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanjia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanjia Lodge

Property: Lanjia Lodge
Address: 347 Kiewkan village , Moo 6 | Tambol Rimkhong, Amphur Chiang Khong, Chiang Rai 57140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanjia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lanjia, or 'peaceful' in Hmong language, is an eco-friendly community-based lodge nestled high on a hill in Chiang Rai Province, northern Thailand. Offering dramatic vistas of the Mekong Valley and Laos, it is in complete harmony with the lush green environment as well as the Hmong and Lahu villages in which it is located. Your hosts at the Lanjia Lodge are the proud Hmong and Lahu villagers who take care of all visitors and all activities at the lodge during your stay. All visitors are taken on personal tours of the villages where they can freely intermingle and even meet the local shamans. Contributions from your stay will be used on community projects that will improve the local hill tribe people's living conditions. A variety of packages is available, all of which have been created to give you an insight into the culture of the Hmong and Lahu people. Choose from trekking tours, a boat ride on the mighty Mekong River or a visit to the nearby Golden Triangle. The lodge is only 30 minute drive to the Thailand-Laos border and immigration check-point where many tourists board an overnight boat to the world heritage site of Luang Prabang, Laos. There is no public transportation between Lanjia Lodge and the border. We can arrange a car or a van for guests who stay at the lodge and continue their trip to Luang Prabang. Our prices include accommodation in comfortable king-size or twin bedded rooms with en-suite bathrooms (where applicable), electric fans (non air-conditioned), meals and drinks as specified in the programs, as well as English speaking tour/activity guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lanjia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanjia Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing