We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse”
Review of Lek House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lek House
Ranked #48 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found the staff very helpful and friendly. The guesthouse is in good location and the restaurant was nice and good value.

The rooms are of good size however having a bedroom and bathroom in one room (toilet behind an alcove) was not ideal and the drains smelt a little.

Maybe slightly overpriced for what is was (650 baht per night)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

I was going to try to give this place the benefit of the doubt right up until the bath tried to electrocute me...

We stayed in one of the downstairs air-con rooms (room 4 I think) which was dark and damp-smelling and had lots of mosquitoes. They'd tried to make it look clean and fresh but it didn't quite work.

The bathroom (separated from the bedroom only by flimsy half-height swing doors: not much privacy) looked smart enough but a pipe next to the loo leaked so the floor was flooded by the morning, a pipe under the sink also leaked brown water and the completely incongruous massive jacuzzi, which was all LCD-screens, padded headrests and under-water lighting was installed so badly that the water was electrified as I found when I dipped a finger in to test the water temperature. Dangerous.

On top of which the hotel is noisy both from the road and from other rooms as the walls and doors are thin.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 - the one with the jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littletoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Happy with this family run and friendly guesthouse, relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, walking distance to anywhere in Chiang Rai.

At 500 baht for an ensuite, this was a better deal than another guest house I stayed at in Chiang Rai

English-speaking host

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwbabyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Great place in Chang Rai. Tin who runs the place it extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend staying there. The rooms are lovely and clean. There is also beautiful atmosphere and overall it's great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tal_MLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights at 500 baht a night. The rooms are ok, I think they are renevating them which is good as they are a little shabby. The main thing I would have changed is to have Mosquito nets on to cover the shutter gaps in the window - they can come in quite easily.
Also the wc is part of the room, so no privacy if you need it.

The restaurant has some quality food and at good value. There is a small pool which looks good for relaxing in the heat.

Overall lek house is value for money and has a good location. Fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night, but found it to be a nice, clean place with a funny pool and Ting, who is nice as anything. We stayed in the NON-ac room which was fine. The bed's are not the softest, but that seems common in Thailand. Ting was great, calling us a taxi, getting us motorbikes, letting us use her cell phone to call chiang mai at no charge and telling us everything we needed to know. we looked at a few other places as well and this seemed like a good deal at 350baht.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
11  Thank addict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the air con rooms and really liked it. Big bed and nice bathroom. Bathroom is very open so only suitable for couples - their smaller backpacker rooms had the bathroom as a private separate room so ok for friends. Used the pool and pool bar, a cool addition to this guesthouse. Spotlessly clean and quiet at night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cinnamon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.0 mi away
The North Hotel
The North Hotel
#39 of 108 in Chiang Rai
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#17 of 108 in Chiang Rai
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden land hotel
Golden land hotel
#62 of 108 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#34 of 108 in Chiang Rai
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meesuk Residence
Meesuk Residence
#24 of 108 in Chiang Rai
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rimchan Resort Hotel
Rimchan Resort Hotel
#42 of 108 in Chiang Rai
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lek House

Address: 95 Banphaprakan Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £8 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lek House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lek House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek House Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing