We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat this hotel at this price!”
Review of Lek House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lek House
Ranked #49 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed 15 January 2010

The Lek Hotel, at only 550 Baht per night is a real steal of a deal. It is located with a water canal between it and the main street, so we found it quiet and pleasant. It is only a few minutes walk to the clock tower, markets and restaurants, so it is in a great location in Chiang Rai. The rooms are small, but adequate. The bed is comfortable. The TV has two English movie channels, and you can rent DVDs to watch if you need more entertainment. There is free WIFI available in the room as well as at the restaurant / bar.
The bathroom is a bit open to the room, but the shower can be used without getting the bathroom floor wet. The shower has on-demand hot water. The sink has only cold water, but the shower hose can be used if you just want to wash your face.
There is a tiny pool if you want to cool off, but no place to laze around the pool for a suntan. There is a bar and restaurant area.
Breakfast is included and consists of juice, coffee, eggs and toast.
The manager, Ting, speaks excellent English and was very helpful. She suggested a driver for us to do a day-tour north to see some sites – it was a fabulous trip and very reasonable (1500 Baht plus gas).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in the week before Christmas. Slightly out of town but walkable and there are plenty of tuk tuks. Family of two adults and two teenage children - rooms so well priced we took a double room and two singles. Option of TV, AC and fridge or just fan. Mattress was one of the best I slept on while away. Good quality bedding. Pool a bit of a talking point. Nice lounge areas to read and sit about. There is a restaurant downstairs or a Thai style one at back run by same family, seemed to be a hit with local teenagers. Food was good.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mar0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I booked into a hotel to realize for the price, it did not offer a TV or modern furnishings. When touring the town, I asked a couple, if they knew a nice reasonable hotel to stay. The woman put me in her car and drove me to the Lek House. I was very impressed by the new modern clean addition look of the units, and restaurant. They had just open and gave me a month for summer price, which encluded air con, daily room cleaning, drinking water, an English speaking TV, a shower stall, free wi-fi, and a pool side bar. I had a very good stay. A famly business and the staff were very helpful in making tour plans as well as taking me to the bus station. The town had many Temples old and new to visit. Good food and people to share time with. A huge gold clock took up the whole turnabout in town. At night it played music and changed colors. Same designer of Wat Rong Khun (White Castle). Out side of town, natural hot spring water is piped in to private spa tubs. The Burmese and Laos borders are a short drive away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank telltails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

After the bus ride from Chiang Sean and a stroll around the city centre looking for something to eat we tumbled upon a cute Thai restaurant. The food was great (seriously spicy!) and asked the waitress for good and affordable place to stay. Surprisingly she told us that if we would follow the path through the back entrance we could check out the rooms of the adjoining guesthouse. We never noticed the guesthouse when we passed it looking for some food as it was somewhat tucked away behind some trees. Basically the place was brand new and after checking out the room it was easily decided that we would stay here for a few days before heading out to Chiang Mai. Most important to us was that the room was clean and that the bed was comfortable which it certainly was. What we loved most were the pillows and the soft towels. To our surprise they also had a swimming pool which we were told could use any time of the day. Although not very large it was great to dip in late at night after coming back from the night bazaar. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but good and when we asked directions to the White temple we ended up with them driving us around without charge. Initially we planned to stay for 2 days but the friendly receptionist convinced us to make a trip to the Hill tribes and coz the service was good we ended up staying an extra night. Overall the stay was very pleasant and the comfortable bed was something we couldn't find on our last days in Chiang Mai. All in all we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Lek House is newly opened with new owners. The room have all been remodeled and are spacious and very clean. The best thing for me is the comfortable beds. Clean soft linens and feather pillows. I haven't seen this comfort in any other hotel in Thailand. There's bedside lighting , enough to read with, which is a plus even in the pricey places. The best part is the friendliness of the three sisters and one farang boyfriend who run the place. Mom does the cooking, which has to be tasted to be believed. Large portions with just the right touch of Thai spices. The sisters go out of their way to make you feel at home and part of the family. Free Thai lessons when they are not busy. The location is quiet but walking distance to everything in town. Has a pool with a poolside bar and restaurant, another cozy bamboo restaurant and a coffee shop with excellent fresh coffee. One last thing is the free wi-fi with a great signal everywhere on the property.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nowimeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Germán V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0 mi away
The North Hotel
The North Hotel
#42 of 108 in Chiang Rai
132 reviews
0 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 108 in Chiang Rai
215 reviews
0 mi away
Tourist Inn
Tourist Inn
#17 of 108 in Chiang Rai
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Golden land hotel
Golden land hotel
#61 of 108 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
0 mi away
Rimchan Resort Hotel
Rimchan Resort Hotel
#38 of 108 in Chiang Rai
7 reviews
0 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#32 of 108 in Chiang Rai
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lek House

Address: 95 Banphaprakan Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £7 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lek House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lek House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek House Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing